We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm and Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm and Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Melba House was a great surprise set in a quiet Katoomba street the house has a lovely charm and elegance about it. Our room the Dame Nellie was decorated stylishly in black and white and being able to leisurely eat the great breakfast in the room was a bonus.
Sue (our host) did a terrific job of welcoming us and assisting in any way she could. All in all it made our first visit to the famed Blue Mountains a treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
243
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We arrived Sunday around Lunchtime and the Host Sue directed us to a lovely warm cafe in Katoomba called The Common Ground for lunch. It was within walking distance of Melba House. It served great European style food and moderately priced. On a cold winter day it had us feeling we were on a holiday.

My room was called Dame Joan, Edwardian in style, very comfortable with a lounge area TV and DVD player with a refrigerator to store a bottle of wine for a pre dinner drink.. The Queen size bed gave me an excellent sleep. The furnishing were very rich and I felt I was having a a real treat.

There was choice for breakfast which was hot and delivered on time.

Sue gave us good ideas to explore Katoomba and the Blue Mountains. There are two tourist buses that have the hop on hop off system which was an easy way to get around as we did not have a car. Sue collected us from Katoomba Station and delivered us back when we departed. I would recommend Melba House for a Romantic short break or a place to stay with friends

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattIP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

I have stayed in quite a few bed and breakfast houses but melba house would be the best!Sue the host is very welcoming with her assistant issy(the dog)is an added bonus,she is a superb cook and nothing is a trouble to her,this is our second visit and we hope to have many more,well done Sue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_audet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at Melba House for the week-end and have to say that we had a wonderful time. Our room The Dame Nellie was spacious with a king size bed with wonderful crisp white sheets, a lounge seating area and a fireplace. The complimentary chocolates, fruit and port were a welcome surprise and equally enjoyed. Our host Sue organised a massage in the room followed by a relaxing spa bath. We ate dinner at the Rooster Restaurant around the corner and would higly recommend this place as the food and service were fantastic. Melba House is an easy 20 minute walk to the Blue Mountains and once you arrive the scenery is breathtaking. We loved shopping in Leura on the Saturday followed by more shopping on the Sunday at Blackheath, the crisp mountain air and the serenity of Melba House made this a memorable week-end one that we are keen to revisit next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Melba House is a charming Blue Mountains cottage bed & breakfast located within easy walking distance of Katoomba shops and restaurants and a healthy stroll to the famous Echo Point and Three Sisters. We loved the warmth of the open fire in our room and the luxury of our own spa bath. Our hostess was welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts were truly delicious, offering great variety to cater for all tastes and dietary requirements. It was difficult to choose! There is much to see and do in the local area and Melba House was a peaceful retreat to return 'home' to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuelleSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Melba House is a great B&B. A very cosy place, well appointed and in good order all within walking distance of the 3 Sisters. Sue, our host, was very helpful and her morning breakfasts served in our room were a delight. And her homemade jams were an absolute treat too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrizio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 20 in Katoomba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing