We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes wow!!!!! what a beautifully well kept restored Edwardian home. For me it was like a step back into time, and a wonderful experience and a privelege to stay here.
I felt very spoilt indeed. Loved the home cooked fare and the warm friendly helpful hospitality.
I found it very, very, clean. I have a severe allergy to dust mite and I had no problems here.
The gardens are nice, and I enjoyed the friendly well behaved little dog, she too made it feel like home. So yeah a great place to stay, the owner did her level best to make our stay a comfortable one, every need met. I have no hesitation in recomending this fabulous place to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
248
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in December because of the photos of lovely decorated bedrooms but we were a bit disappointed overall. The house is on the corner of two streets and you park your car on the street (no off-street parking). The garden is small and when we visited it was in need of attention. The tree by the gate whacked us with wet leaves each time we went through the gate and we had to be careful not to slip on the rotting plums(?) on the ground. There is no lawn or any garden seating to enable guests to be able to sit anywhwere other than on the verandah. The planter at the bottom of the stairs leading to the front door had a large dead lavender in it which you had to negotiate around to leave by the side gate, and the verandah and stairs (with rot) were in need of a good sweep. We approached the front door and saw that on one of the verandah dining chairs was a huge bag of dirty linen (presumably waiting to be collected by commercial cleaners). Not very nice to find by the front door.

We had the Dame Nellie room which is exquisitely decorated and a good size. Just as well, because there is no guest lounge. You have to be in either your bedroom or out on the verandah. The host explained that the passage light sines through the glass doors into the bedroom and she said we could turn the passage light off if it bothered us. Being light sleepers we did this but other guests kept turning it back on. The bed linen was very nice but the mattress is in need of replacing. No full length mirror. One mirror above mantelpiece and one in a corner where you can't see yourself and one small high mirror in bathroom. A bit tricky for a short person!

Bathroom was cute but a few hairs left on the floor under the little table from previous guests which remained there for the three days we stayed. The hot water in the shower kept going cold, presumably if someone else in the house turned on hot water? Very nice toiletries and soft thick towels.

As there is no guest lounge or even a dining room we were told we could have breakfast served on the table in our bedroom or on the verandah. We chose the verandah but were told in the morning that because all 3 guest rooms were full there was not enough space for us to eat on the verandah. (ie there are not enough tables on the verandah for all the guests). By this time we were feeling like we had been shut in one room for far too long. BTW the very cute dog which we loved, will also climb up on your chair and poke her nose in your food if you leave the table for a moment and turn your back - funny the first time but not every time after that. Our table did not get wiped down until the third day. By the third morning we managed to get breakfast on the verandah only to get my clothing caught on a nail sticking out on the rickety old cane chair. The parrots in the trees at the bird feeders during breakfast were a joy and this seems to be done at many Australian B&B's.

In summary, a beautifully decorated bedroom which looks great for the photos on the website but service and lack of guest rooms lets it down, especially for the price. BTW even though we ticked the box on the breakfast form to include toast each morning we never got any.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonAbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

a beautiful house. stayed there for my birthday last year, a classy place with beautiful decor. breakfast on the veranda is a must!!! sue and isabella are great hosts.surrounding sights such as echo point, the steepist railway are worth a visit. the bedrooms are wonderful complete with large bath in which to soak.

Room Tip: dame edna everidge is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked two rooms at Melba House for the Australia Day weekend and loved every moment of it.

Sue was a genuinely friendly host and her dog Isabella was absolutely precious.

We were were enchanted by the feel of the house. The rooms were really spacious and tastefully decorated. We spent every night back at the house, either out on the outside porch or in our rooms, it was such a splendid place to spend time in.

Sue's home cooked breakfasts were are definite highlight of our trip, we couldn't wait to get our meals in the morning! Sue even baked lamingtons, cookies and cake for us each morning and we couldn't get enough of them.

All in all, a perfect place to start and finish our day in Katoomba. We will definitely recommend it our family and friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful, period house, on one of the quiet, side streets of Katoomba, but still within comfortable walking distance to the town center. We stayed one night only, as a spur of the moment break from the busy city life. And it was just splendid. Our host and the properitor, Sue, was wonderful, attention to detail and pride in the house was visible in everything. Commencing on the business card, ending with top notch, quality furnishings and superb presentation. Very nice extras to make the stay special, a carafe of port, chocolates, selection of teas, little lemingtons to lift the afternoon up. There was a great breakfast served for us on the verandah, all in soft, dappled sun and nestled in the lush and shady garden, which surrounds the house.
Do yourself a favour and try Melba House.
Thank you Sue, experience and memories of sterling quality.

Room Tip: Dame Edna is the most compact of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAgnieszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent four lovely nights in the Dame Edna room at Melba House with our hosts, Sue and Izzy. We enjoyed quite a range of weather from very hot to quite cool on our final night and the room with it's lovely cross breezes was great in all conditions. It's a beautiful older style house, perfect for the Blue Mountains and tastefully furnished with some very thoughtful touches. It was a great base from which to explore and to return to each evening. Sue is obviously the main organiser and helps out with some good suggestions for places to see and to eat. Izzy just keeps a "manager's eye" on things - particularly bacon (she's a lovely old spaniel). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked the mid-week refresher package which included 2 nights accommodation and breakfasts, a one hour massage/facial and a three course dinner at the Rooster restauarant for two.

Location of the B&B is very close to the amenities and eateries in Katoomba (most within walkable distances), yet the property itself is situated in a quiet residential area - a bit of a retreat but with all the modern convenience.

Three rooms to choose from, paid a bit extra for Dame Nellie room as judging from the photos on the website it is the nicest room of all, it was well worth the extra spending! The room is very spacious and filled with natural light, decor is charming and thoughtful, it's very inviting and instantly relaxes you.

Owner Sue is very friendly but not overly so, she sees to that you are as comforatble as you can be (within reasons of course) yet she does not intrude.

Co-owner, Issy, a spaniel with lovely golden fur, cooperates with Sue very well. Issy greets you with enthusiasm on your arrival but leaves you alone at the right time, comes and says good morning and lingers just long enough to let you know how grateful she is with your presence.

Breakfast on offer has a good variety, choices for everyone, portion is generous and the food is better than your average B&B breakfast.

The spa we went to for massage (Name: Sublime Spa) is, well, sublime. After having had the massage included in the package, we instantly booked ourselves for another massage before driving back home.

Rooster restaurant - good service, good honest food, not the cheapest but it wasn't hugely overpriced either.

Had an hour to kill between checking out and the pre-return jounrey massage, Sue suggested heading to the Culture centre in Katoomba to learn about all things Blue Mountains. We were glad that we took the suggestion and what a suggestion it was, $5 admission fee and it was very interesting and educational.

This will be my choice of accommodation if I am heading to Katoomba again.

Room Tip: Dame Nellie is the room to go for if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diudiudiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing