We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A period B&B that rocks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A period B&B that rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked the mid-week refresher package which included 2 nights accommodation and breakfasts, a one hour massage/facial and a three course dinner at the Rooster restauarant for two.

Location of the B&B is very close to the amenities and eateries in Katoomba (most within walkable distances), yet the property itself is situated in a quiet residential area - a bit of a retreat but with all the modern convenience.

Three rooms to choose from, paid a bit extra for Dame Nellie room as judging from the photos on the website it is the nicest room of all, it was well worth the extra spending! The room is very spacious and filled with natural light, decor is charming and thoughtful, it's very inviting and instantly relaxes you.

Owner Sue is very friendly but not overly so, she sees to that you are as comforatble as you can be (within reasons of course) yet she does not intrude.

Co-owner, Issy, a spaniel with lovely golden fur, cooperates with Sue very well. Issy greets you with enthusiasm on your arrival but leaves you alone at the right time, comes and says good morning and lingers just long enough to let you know how grateful she is with your presence.

Breakfast on offer has a good variety, choices for everyone, portion is generous and the food is better than your average B&B breakfast.

The spa we went to for massage (Name: Sublime Spa) is, well, sublime. After having had the massage included in the package, we instantly booked ourselves for another massage before driving back home.

Rooster restaurant - good service, good honest food, not the cheapest but it wasn't hugely overpriced either.

Had an hour to kill between checking out and the pre-return jounrey massage, Sue suggested heading to the Culture centre in Katoomba to learn about all things Blue Mountains. We were glad that we took the suggestion and what a suggestion it was, $5 admission fee and it was very interesting and educational.

This will be my choice of accommodation if I am heading to Katoomba again.

Room Tip: Dame Nellie is the room to go for if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diudiudiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
243
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 4 relaxing nights at Melba House with our 7 year old daughter. We couldn't have chosen better. The federation house has been beautifully restored, the rooms are huge, the location is perfect for restaurants and the cliff top walks are less than 10 minutes away. But what makes the difference between good and first class is the welcome and attention to detail that Sue brings. We were picked up at the railway station, made welcome in the beautiful Dame Edna suite and spoilt with afternoon cake every day and delicious breakfasts on the deck. We even got to take Izzy the dog on walks which was a highlight for our daughter. We will certainly return - both to the beautiful Blue Mountains and Melba House.

Room Tip: Dame Edna suite is at the front of the house and has more privacy than the other 2 suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjulieflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently stayed at Melba House and found it brilliant. Sue the owner makes the difference with her high attention to detail and thoughtfulness. The rooms are elegantly decorated and very comfortable (in terms of space and all the things you might need). The breakfast both days was huge and delicious and well worth the money. We will definitely stay there again and have recommended it onto others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dame Joan suite as we booked very last minute. Even though this is the smallest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Melba House for four nights recently with good friends.We stayed in the Dame Edna suite which was just beautiful. There were many thoughtful extras included such as chocolates, biscuits and a decanter of port amongst other things.
Another lovely touch was that Sue puts a freshly baked cake in the hallway each day to help yourself to. We enjoyed coming back to Melba House each afternoon and having a piece of cake with tea or coffee.
Each morning we had breakfast on the verandah which was just lovely. Sue is indeed a very good cook. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and it was very hard to work out what to have each day as I didn't want to miss out trying anything!
Sue made some wonderful suggestions for dinner at night and we enjoyed trying those places.
Sue is a lovely person and very interesting to chat to and her dog Izzy is just gorgeous and a delight to have around even if you are a little nervous of dogs which I can be.
We stayed at Melba House at a time when we all needed a very relaxing time and our stay provided just what we needed.
Thanks Sue and Izzy!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gm7hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

To stay in the Melba House for two nights was a birthday present and a surprise for my lovely husband. For me it was already the second time to stay there. My husband was suprised when he saw the elegant decorated Miss Nellie room. Sue is a quite lovingly and thougthful owner, and makes the stay different to a hotel. The Melba house is very well positioned with a walking distance to the centre of Katoomba. From there it is easy to discover the attraction and bush tracks of the Blue Mountains. It is a place worth visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranziskaThiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had 2 nights here as part of a tour of Australia. Sue's personal attention made a welcome friendly change from anonymous hotels. Although Katoomba could do with a smartening up, this lovely B&B was in a perfect spot for exploring the Blue Mountains. It has so many lovely touches which made it memorable for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Melba House the weekend of my birthday on August this year. The room was lovely, super clean and decorated beautifully with black and white colors. The room had a jacuzzi and a fire place that made us enjoy the room even more. The owner Sue was the best, always with a smile on her face and with the cutest little dog that made us not want to leave the house. Also the breakfast she prepares is one of the best breakfast we have ever eaten. Overall we had an amazing experience there and we would go back in a heart beat if we ever have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PazCollarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 20 in Katoomba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing