We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will definitely return.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a three night getaway in June. I generally don't bother taking the trouble to write a review but this place is the exception. We stayed in the Dame Edna suite and all I can say is WOW! The room was warm and cosy and when we had the fireplace going, it added an extra level of romance to our getaway. The room was spacious and very clean and Sue together with her dog Isabelle (who thinks she's human) went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. The candles in the bathroom was a nice touch and so too were the chocolates and port and cake. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. It felt like I was visiting family rather than staying in a B & B. By the time we left, I felt like I was leaving a relative rather than a business arrangement. The only thing I could say that needs improvement is that Izzy has not yet learned to make coffee for the guests, but then again that's a bit difficult if you're furry and have four legs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosierrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
257
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Many thanks to a friend who recommended Melba House for a wonderful weekend getaway. Sue was the perfect hostess providing us with a breakfast that lasted us till dinner...speaking of which, we followed Sue's dinner recommendations and both choices were excellent. Our room was beautifully furnished with the biggest king size bed we had ever seen...perfect for my 6 foot 4 inch husband. Melba House provides a number of wonderful little extra's e.g. port, chocolates and home made biscuits in our room, yummy cake to have with our tea in the hall and bowls of crisp red local apples one can help oneself too before going sightseeing. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway from the stress's of city life we highly recommend an escape to Melba House...Sue will arrange and quietly look after your every needs.

Room Tip: Dame Nellie suite was beautiful. Black and White are my favourite colours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_kvisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Melba House in July. Very central but very quiet location. Rooms were beautifully appointed, very warm, and best bed we have slept in away from home! Sue and her furry little helper, 'Izzy', were very attentive and Sue is a fabulous cook! Sue is also a wealth of information regarding places to visit, restaurants etc My husband and I had the Dame Edna suite- we really enjoyed the indulgence of the room and spa suite. It was our teenage daughters' first B&B experience sharing the Dame Joan- thoroughly spoiled!! Great place to relax and unwind. Melba House would also make the perfect romantic getaway for couples. We hope to visit again soon. Many thanks to Sue and Izzy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel91310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My partner and I recently enjoyed 3 nights in the Dame Nellie suite at Melba House. As it was July we fully enjoyed the log fire and spa bath amongst the most beautiful environment. Our hostess Sue keeps the place well cleaned and cooks the most delicious cakes and breakfasts. We highly recommend this experience to be a most memorable and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were looking for a weekend away to relax from a very busy lifestyle & were very fortunate in choosing Melba House. The room & service were comfortable, quiet & homely & breakfast was delicious. Sue was the perfect host & even arranged bookings & reservations for dinner & massages.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mleandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sue and her dog Issy are great hosts and made our overnight stay with so comfortable. The room was clean, warm (very important for July in Katoomba!) and offered all necessary amenities - and more! The bed was comfortable, the cooked breakfast brought to our room was a lovely indulgence and the freely available home-cooked banana cake was a nice extra touch. Sue has gone to a lot of trouble to make her guests feel welcome - from the lovely decor to the excellent advise on local attractions and restaurants. Thanks Sue!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Melba House, the place is warm, cosy and we loved the spa bath and fireplace in our room. The homemade cake and port decanter was a lovely touch. The bottle of champagne, chocolates and strawberries was a special treat! We absolutely loved our stay here, the place is warm and Sue and her dog, Isabella are so friendly and warm. Great location as a short walk to the 3 Sisters, Scenic World and great restaurants. I would highly recommend for couples wanting a cosy and romantic weekend escape. We loved the place so much we stayed an extra night. Sue's breakfasts are absolutely out of this world!

- Ariane & Hugo, Sydney

Room Tip: Dame Edna room is light and cosy and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariane753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing