We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Jindabyne
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable beds”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our beds were very uncomfortable and we woke up with sore backs. We went as a group of three couples and were very disappointed with our rooms. The only good thing about it was the restaurant and bar staff. The reception staff lacked knowledge and not very courteous at all. The free Wifi only worked in the lobby n reception area. The Bistro ceiling was Full of dust and cobwebs. It was like the Bates motel out of the movie Psycho!

Room Tip: The place needs a REFURB soon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozlem90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    146
    93
    23
    15
See reviews for
143
147
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This property has just been taken over by Rydges and it is great. The rooms are not new, but very comfy and well appointed. Views of Lake Jindabyne are great, its on the door step. It is close enough to Thredbo and Perisher to enjoy the cheaper advantages of Jindabyne. I loved it. The indoor pool was a real winner with the kids and the buffet breakfast it good before heading off to the snow for the day. There is a games room for the kids that loves to chew dollar coins, but its a great diversion so the parents can go to the bar for a bit of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute decision to change from staying at Cooma to Jindabyne and there was no disappointment at all.

This hotel has recently been acquired by Rydges group and there is a min 2 night stay limit. We payed $300/ night for Deluxe studio room overlooking lake Jindabyne and it also included buffet breakfast.

Front staff are very friendly and welcoming. As a priority rewards member, I was welcomed and valued as a member on check in.

Rooms are clean and comfortable with LCD TV and the king bed is comfortable. There are kitchen facilities and a washing machine wih a dryer which was very handy after coming from snow.

Location wise, if you don't want to stay right in the snow, this a good place to stay as it is about 30mins away from Thredbo village and Perisher Valley. It is also close by to shops and restaurants in Jindabyne.

Breakfast had lots of variety but average. Nothing extra ordinary but eatable.

Overall, I would highly recommend Rydges if you're visiting for snow.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Please see my review under Rydges Horizon Snowy Mountains. It used to be Quality horizons resort but recently it has been purchased by Rydges. In summary the stay was comfortable and relaxing and it's in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is exactly what I said as soon as I walked into our Studio Apartment. This place has everything that you could possibly want in a home away from home. Undercover parking at your doorstep, huge apartments with a balcony and views of the lake, loungeroom with TV & DVD player, huge mirrored wardrobes, fully equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom with laundry and all fully air conditioned. The decor was modern-ish and some of the appliances are old but in good working order. The service at the front desk and in the restaurant was excellent and the buffet breakfast was to die for! The location is perfect...and walking (or stumbling) distance from a great selection of restaurants and bars in the shopping centres. I have stayed in 2 star to 5 star properties in the Snowies and none have impressed me more than this place. I will never stay anywhere else again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently stayed for the third time at this property while in Jindabyne for business. This resort is outstanding value for money and is wonderfully comfortable and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The room is large, roomy and well appointed. This is a great choice in the Jindabyne area. Fabulous breakfast and especially good front of hotel staff = very friendly :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

i'm not sure why this place is a called a resort. The rooms are pretty basic, but do have a nice view of the lake. I booked a studio room but was given a two bedroom unit. One of the bedroom doors was locked, so I had to sleep in the room with two single beds. It's the first time in about 20 years I've slept in a single bed!
It was quite cold and there was no electric blanket, so I had to use the doona off the other bed plus two blankets from the cupboard to keep warm. No electric blankets in May in Jindabyne is not acceptable, given it was below freezing overnight. There was no air-con in the bedroom, just a little column heater that didn't do anything given the high ceilings.
Breakfast was quite good, but they seem to have a shortage or plates and cups - very odd!
It was a little frustrating that there was no restaurant or bar open, so we had to walk in the cold up the road to get some dinner. If you're going to call yourself a resort you should at least have some basic facilities available.
It's also worth noting that they don't service the room during your stay.
Given all of this I think this place is overpriced, and not suitable for business travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela_Wollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jindabyne
0.4 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains

Property: Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Address: 10 Kosciuszko Rd, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing