We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, amazing place”
Review of Moonbah Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jindabyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonbah Hut
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in both the lake and river huts late November 2012. Loved the whole experience and Brett is a great, welcoming host, as is Buster. A beautiful, peaceful part of the world and easy drive from Canberra airport. Loved all the wildlife, serenity, and besides complete relaxation there is lots to see and do in the nearby Snowy Mountains region. Can't wait to get back there soon.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend staying in both huts if you can, the lake hut is rustic and charming, the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powderfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit this review guys - much appreciated. Take care, Brett.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the river hut which lies about 50 metres from the Monnbah River. The hut was extremely comfortable however if you are expecting to have an extended stay you need to be mindful that the fridge is the size of a bar fridge and fills quickly. Also the oven is wood fired - a potential challenge if you're used to electric or gas stoves. The bedding was luxurious although the chairs on the front porch would become uncomfortable if you sat in them for too long. We would recommend taking a couple of directors chairs as we did. This meant we could spend hours of comfortable sitting just watching the world go by. Interestingly if you stay in the river hut you are guaranteed your privacy by the river. As with the lake hut guests are not encouraged to intrude on other guests so lake or river you keep your solitude. We loved Buster. He would spend most of the day with us and so long as there was a bowl of cold water he made himself part of our family quite willingly. We were disappointed that no fish were caught from the river. We learned a little too late that polarised glasses are an advantage and not standing in the river to cast. Hence no fish for our dinners this time. You need to bring some music with you as the radio does not pick up too well. Our thanks to whoever left the Michael Buble CD in the stereo. He ended up being our only source of musical entertainment every night (lol). All in all we would recommend this lovely spot and wish Brett all the best. Big hugs to Buster.

Room Tip: We rated the river as the swimming pool. It was a joy to sit in the clean crisp water and just let n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thankyou for your review and for your suggestions. I was lucky to discover some 4 great antique (comfortable) chairs at an auction I attended last weekend, so that issue has been sorted. The Bose sound system has the ability to plug-in to your phone or Ipod and most people utilise that function, but I should have realised some people have neither and need CD's - sorry about that. I have since purchased a range of CD's that hopefully cater to most tastes.
Kind regards, Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wow where do i start.. Truly is a beautiful place to visit like stepping back in time. We spent our 14th wedding Anniversary there would of been the most romantic anniversary in 14 years. Our host Brett has created-built the most charming place to visit At first i was lost with no Internet and mobile phone coverage but this just added more to our experience. If your looking for relaxation this is the place for you even if your trip includes taking the kids it will be an experience you will not forget in a hurry and will return just like we will this year and many more. As they say this is a must add to your bucket list.. Thank you Brett for a truly remediable anniversary and see you soon :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thankyou kindly guys! I'll try and organise clear starry night skies for next visits photo session...

Hope the ankle is getting better.

Take care, Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Brett Smith is the most charming of hosts and a finer gentleman we have never met!
What he has built here, in this magic part of Australia, with his own amazingly skilful hands, is authentic, recreated, Australian history. An experience we will always treasure.
Only regret is being unable to hook up to one of those brown trout in that delightful Moonbah River running through your property.
Thank you so much, Brett.
Chris and Evelyn Cole

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Wow - people are going to think I paid for that review! Where do I send the cheque?

I'm very grateful to you both and very flattered! It's also, personally, very rewarding to know that you took the time to express such kind comments.

Take care, Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A unique experience to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. Comfy rustic accommodation with all the everyday essentials (except mobile phone and internet access - which was a welcome relief!). Relaxation is guaranteed. Fly fishing enthusiasts will love all that the area offers; partners will be happily able to amuse themselves whilst the other half is preoccupied! You will leave begrudgingly but determined to visit again .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

More than a quarter of a century together! Congratulations to you both. Thankyou very much for taking the time to share your kind comments. I also appreciate your suggestion regarding the seating.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jindabyne
9.7 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.2 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
145 reviews
9.6 mi away
Troldhaugen Lodge
Troldhaugen Lodge
#2 of 27 in Jindabyne
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 27 in Jindabyne
158 reviews
9.2 mi away
Alpine Resort Motel
Alpine Resort Motel
#7 of 10 in Jindabyne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonbah Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonbah Hut

Address: Big Yard Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range: $148 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a breath of fresh air and step back in time. These unique stone/slab huts, located in the picturesque Moonbah Valley region of the New South Wales Snowy Mountains (15 minutes drive from the ski resort town of Jindabyne), enjoy private frontage to the Blue Ribbon declared Moonbah River - the regions most pristine trout stream - (complete with resident platypus). The Lake Hut also fronts a small dam containing brown, brook and rainbow trout.The huts are very cosy, (even in -15c), with underfloor heating. The Moonbah Lake Hut sleeps a maximum 4 people, ideally 2 adults and 2 young children. The Moonbah River Hut sleeps a maximum 5 persons. The bedding is high quality and all beds have electric blankets.All linen is supplied.Both of the huts feature huge, stone open fireplaces and with snow on either Christmas or Boxing Day, on 5 of the past 9 years, the fireplaces can be enjoyed on most nights of the year. Both huts also feature wood-fired cooking stoves, (and twin electric hotplates), for cooking and a small fridge/freezer to store your catch in. All cutlery, crockery, cookware, etc is supplied ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing