We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza but overall underwhelming...”
Review of Alpine Larder

Alpine Larder
Ranked #23 of 57 Restaurants in Jindabyne
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'An organic approach to hospitality in the Mountains.' The Alpine Larder provides honest country style service in a relaxed environment, whilst delivering wholesome, affordable comfort food that you simply can’t resist. Traditional wood fired pizzas, delicious pasta, mouthwatering tapas, hand tossed gourmet salads and mouth watering desserts are on offer. Visit us for your morning coffee before enjoying a day of activities, a casual lunch, afternoon tapas or our delicious selection of wood fired pizzas.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice pizza but overall underwhelming...”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The pizza's were great, good selection of toppings and tasty bases, but the tapas were very small for the price and average in quality. Nice casual atmosphere but the wait staff were not attentive and forgot requests. Desserts were not memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tansambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    57
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“LOVELY FOOD & GREAT SERVICE”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have to say that the service we received here was SPECTACULAR! We were looked after by a wonderfully hospitable, friendly and gorgeous waiter called Mitch! He was so amazing with the kids and made us feel so welcome and that no request could ever be too difficult.He was genuine and thoughtful. SO RARE in Sydney so we were blown away! The food was generous, delicious and presented beautifully. We stayed at the resort and we were so glad we had dinner here on one of the nights. The fire was on and it was snowing outside. Bliss.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's not special, but it has a great casual feel and the food is good.

The menu ranges from pizza (including take-away) to antipasto to salads and some more substantial mains (on the night we were there the mains were lamb and suckling pig).

There were a number of families dining, with quite young kids, so obviously the pizza is a drawcard. If you want a peaceful adult experience, plan for 7:30pm or later.

Wine list had a broad selection, and was not cheap. But then nothing is cheap in the Australian Alps!

Located at Lake Crackenback resort, just off the Alpine Way about 20 minutes drive from Jindabyne.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrostyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in the middle of an excellent resort”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Staff were ''happy little chappies'' who obviously liked their work and were happy to chat and give you their comments on the resort and surrounds. Lovely fire and great meals - comfort food a-plenty!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Better Than Cooking Ourselves”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It’s fine, but I think it’s where you go if you can’t get into Cuisine on Lake Crackenback. While the service is friendly, the food and value aren’t impressive.

We gave breakfast a go on a Saturday morning, and the place was deserted, except for one very friendly waitress and what I assume was a kitchen hand. Sure, we were off season in April, but the level of patronage should have been a clue. My wife had the raison toast and I tried a bacon and egg roll. Although nothing was wrong with my wife’s toast, my bacon was past crispy, making the whole roll taste like burnt. Along with a coffee, small bottle of orange juice and a single serve packet of mountain muesli to take away, we were over $40, which was a bit rich for what it was.

That night we tried to get into Cuisine for dinner, but couldn’t, so ended up back at the Larder. It was more lively in the evening with an admittedly more appealing menu. The ambiance at night with a bit of a crowd was actually quite inviting, and the staff efficiently buzzed around the tables with a smile. I opted for a pizza, and was pleasantly surprised, although the bacon went the other way and was a bit fatty and chewy. My wife too was pleased with her meal after the morning’s offering.

All in all, we didn’t have to cook.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captain_beetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Larder also viewed

Crackenback, New South Wales
Jindabyne, New South Wales
 
Jindabyne, New South Wales
Jindabyne, New South Wales
 

Been to Alpine Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing