We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snowy Wilderness
Nearby Hotels
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains(Jindabyne)(Great Value!)
$123
$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snowview Units(Jindabyne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
31
5
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridebedroom lodgebeautiful horsescomfortable experiencedvd playerking beddeliabrumbieshomestaydeerbushridersechidnapropertycampfirecampingfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 41 of 41 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Probably best not to take this option if you're planning on driving in and out from the snow fields - it's just a bit too far. But, if you are looking for excellent accommodation, seclusion in the mountains, brumbies and roos roving around, dazzling sunsets and great horse trails, then this is IT!

Highly recommended for a romantic getaway. Not cheap but then the quality of the accommodation is evident the moment you step inside the lodge!

Thanks to Justin, Delia and AJ.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

As the other two reviewers before me have mentioned, Snowy Wilderness Resort IS isolated, but......Once you get there you won't want to leave!

Although it was an arduous journey getting there from Melbourne, the cabins at Snowy Wilderness are second to none. We didn't have high expectations - maybe a 1970's shack awaited us, we thought? What greeted us way more like a luxury chalet than a cabin - it was seriously top-notch.

Think full gourmet kitchen with Baccarat pots and pans and Maxwell and William crockery. Think an open, double sided fire-place in the middle of the living area and a chandelier (!!) in the beautiful bathroom. It was such a nice place to come back to after our journey there - totally worth it. The windows are double glazed, so it doesn't get cold either.

Also, as a nice little touch Justiin and Delia had left eggs, bread and juice for us to enjoy in the mornings. It wouldn't have cost them a lot, but that little bit of effort that you rarely see nowdays definitely made a difference.

Due to isolation factor I'd recommend that you stock up on other tucker and drinks in Jindabyne while you're passing through, as getting back there will be about a 40 minute drive. But once you get there relax and enjoy - you'll want to stick around forever.

Room Tip: At this stage Snowy Wilderness has only two of the modern cabins - a one bedder and a two bedder. However, apparently they have received approval to build another 15 in the future. In addition, they have a homestead that sleeps up to 10 people and another smaller, more rustic cabin that accommodates 2. We didn't see the latter cabin and homestead, but enjoyed the newer cabins so much that we'd recommend you stay in one of those.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Snowy wilderness is great value for money compared to what you would pay for something much less nice in jindabyne in peak snow season.

The accommodation is not the owners main focus (their horses are) and there are only two cabins, but they are BEAUTIFUL! The double-glazed windows keep it warm and don't hamper the view of surrounding bushland. Fully equipped modern kitchen, comfy king beds, heated floors in the bathrooms, great fireplace, digital tv etc. Only improvement to the cabin I could suggest would be blinds in the living room, as even though there's not much about you feel very exposed with lights on at night!

The downside is it is a fair way out of town, a 25min drive to jindabyne, or 40 to the snow tube. You end up spending a long time in the car every day. However, if peaceful isolation is what you're after then it's perfect!

Owners seemed friendly when we checked in, but we didnt see anyone again until we checked out. Rooms aren't serviced daily but this was fine by us. Everything we needed was in the cabin already.

I would definitely recommend Snowy Wilderness to someone wanting some peace and quiet out of their trip to the Snowy Mountains!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C87i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The cabin is everything you want for a romantic cabin get away. Well equipped, great kitchen, lovely large double glazed windows to see all the trees, fireplace.

You wont be disturbed, very secuded, almost hard to find.

Only gripe is a lack of information about the resort and surrounds, no info booklet or map of where we could look or see. The Snowy Wilderness resort is still very much mainly a horse trecking business and the cabin is a bit on the side.

Price is about as much as I'd want to pay, especially with a two night minimum. Still a very good cabin and we'll go back some day

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian-Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews