We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay, just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Jindabyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short stay, just average”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed in Oct 2013. Cabin was clean but average. The park was very quiet for this time of year which was nice. The layout of the cabin wasn't the best. While the second room had built in bunk beds we couldn't fit our portable cot in the room & close the door. Even though the photos made it look big (but then isn't that always the case with room photos). Due to the time of year and the weather there wasn't much to do (but the lake did look nice). No real tourist attractions other than the National Park and what it offers.
For the price it was ok, but I'm not 100% I would stay here again unless the price was cheap and it was only a short stay of a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSharonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, thanks for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
78
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our stay was marred by the kapoch trees shedding large amounts of what I can only describe as fluff. This fluff was everywhere and at times when it was windy was airborne and caused alergies.

There was no maintenance in regards to removing the fluff which would have helped immensely .

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not located near these trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hermistonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi hermistonAustralia, thanks for your review and providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your experience was marred on this occasion and we are looking into ways we can better manage the tree mess at this time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jindabyne hotels

Temora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed onsite in our own caravan and the park covered in floating bits of fluff (from trees) it went inside caravan, in the car, in your face when you walked around the park. There were not enough rubbish bins provided. Children's jumping pillow deflated at 5pm. Wifi was not usable due to their computer kiosk issues but still were charged usage.water is undrinkable unless boiled. The games facilities were good and the toilets were clean, paid $120 for 2 nights but only stayed 1 due to poor quality. We would not consider staying again unless park standards improved.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mozzy5686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Mozzy5686, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value all comments both positive and negative and use them to continue to develop the products and services we deliver. We are sorry to hear on this occasion your expectations were not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the best caravan park I've ever stayed at, we stayed her in Christmas new year 2012 and it was the best family holiday we have ever had. There's heaps to do and fun for the whole family.
It was perfect size living room for Christmas Day and the Christmas tree. The rooms were top notch and everything was always clean and tidy. There was space for everything!. The bedrooms were awesome with great wardrobe space for everything. There was space for the car. We had the deluxe lake view villa and we loved every millisecond. We loved its close proximity to everything, especially Thredbo and Mt Kosisoco, the best walk you will ever do!. I recommend this discovery holiday park for the whole family and I Promise that you will enjoy your self.

Room Tip: The delux lake view villas are flawless. Perfect for the family Christmas getaway Choose the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your review Jack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in a "seasonal" cabin, clean, and everything worked but expected a little more in creature comforts. The whole appearance was a bit "tired". The amenities block is substantial. If we were to stay again would request an upgrade, other cabins appeared to be of a higher standard.

Room Tip: The lower priced cabins are sufficient but if wanting a little more comfort, e.g. seating, go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Hazel A, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a 5 berth Cabin for our ski trip. The cabin was very clean, everything in a working good condition. Cabin was warm, had reverse cycle air conditioner and electric blanket on the double bed. For us the space was comfortable, there were only 3 of us. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This is our second time in this holiday park. Last year we were happy as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi veey, thank for your review, we're happy to hear you continue to enjoy your visits to Discovery Holiday Parks - Jindabyne, hopefully we'll see you again next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Standard Cabin 5 berth for our ski trip. Cabin was very clean, everything in a working good condition. Cabin was warm, had reverse cycle air conditioner and electric blanket on the double bed. To us the space was comfortable only for 2 people. (especially with skis and boots). But I could see that 5 young boys in the next door cabin were quite happy. We booked with wotif.com - they had some sort of special. This is our second time in this caravan park. Last year we were quite happy as well. If you don't need to be in a walking distance from the shopping center of Jindabyne, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Just check room description and photos - they are pretty accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi SydneyNaturelover, Thank you for your post and taking the time to provide your feedback, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the park again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jindabyne hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
1.3 mi away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banjo Paterson Inn
Banjo Paterson Inn
#2 of 9 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Jindabyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Jindabyne

Property: Discovery Parks - Jindabyne
Address: 6532 Kosciuszko Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Jindabyne 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Parks - Jindabyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing