We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski ski!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Jindabyne
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ski ski!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked a deluxe cabin (as a group of 5) and couldn't have been happier. Close to the ski fields, great value, helpful and unobtrusive service, good heating in the cabin, electric blanket on the main bed.

The negatives would have been that there weren't as many spare blankets as there were beds (but we had brought some of our own, so no problem), and that the chemical toilet had a distinctive odour, but that's not really something they could do anything about. You don't notice it after a little while anyway.

I would absolutely stay here again. Very happy. Thanks Discovery Holiday Parks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Cabin and it was ace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aami80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
78
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel has a great location and excellent facilities. The price is good comparing with the prices at that city. HOWEVER, the bed was not queen. It may be double and it was the worst bed I slept on. I could not sleep well for the two nights I was there. The room was clean but not that much and the kitchen tools (knifes, forks and spoons) were not clean.

Room Tip: There are a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HussainAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koo8882, Head Office at Discovery Parks - Jindabyne, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Discovery Holiday Parks values all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative and we are disappointed to hear that your stay at Discovery Holiday Parks – Jindabyne did not fully meet your expectations. We aim to provide an accurate description of our cabins and units and apologise that the bed was not the size as advertised. We have recently relaunched our website and all accommodation features and facilities have been updated to prevent any future misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed for one night in autumn - a quick getaway. We had a deluxe cabin, it was clean and well equipped, bed comfy enough, the beautiful outlook over the lake and autumnal leaves was the best bit. A good value stay (NB we didn't stay in the winter peak season!) in a lovely park.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
782 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in a 5 bed/2bedroom Kalkite cabin. The living area was tiny with only a small sofa and a table for 4 with small kitchen. The main bedroom had a queen bed and the second bedroom had a triple bunk bed. Everything was clean just very cramped together. There was a big jumping pillow just outside the cabin and a huge chess play set. The park is by a lake and you can hire boats, paddle boats, canoes.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed in one of the 4.5 star cabins during the summer period. We had a wonderful and relaxing experience at this holiday park. The surrounding area was just beautiful, with the lake in view and boats for hire it was a great and natural place. Close by just 3 km's away is the town Jindabyne, where there is a local woolworths and all other shopping needs and bistros. Thredbo is a very close and scenic drive up. Climbing Mt. Kosciusko was a highlight and even seeing the snow capped mountains and playing in the snow in Australian summer was something amazing. Snow isn't just saved for winter in these parts, that's for sure!

The cabin design was fantastic, there was a decent sized kitchen, dining area, lounge room with a medium sized TV (poor reception but why would you watch tv when you've got such beauty surrounding you?) 2 bedrooms, main room had a queen sized bed with heated blankets while bedroom 2 had 3 bunk beds. The bunk beds though adequate, were slightly uncomfortable. Cleanliness in the cabins was very good apart from (again) the bunk beds, which had a bit of recent staining on the curtains and bark or something of the sort on the beds when we arrived. Not sure, but it put me off a bit. Had to clean the room out myself which wasn't that nice to have to do. Also the shared washing machine area stole our money and didn't wash our clothing, it was Christmas day so we couldn't complain to reception because they were closed. The change converter machine also wasn't working. But seeing as the accommodation was so cheap ($85 per night) I looked over the minor negatives and still had a truly relaxing and great time.

If you've got children there are plenty of great places for them to have fun around the park, with a giant trampoline, play ground, tennis court (for all), giant chess board and much more. If you want a family friendly holiday park with beautiful surrounds, friendly people, and a close drive by to all the leading "to do" things in the Snowy Mountains then I recommend this accommodation at any time of the year. Cheers and happy travelling!

Room Tip: Cabin 45 (which we stayed at) was one of the most private in my opinion it was right at the end and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnlyTheBestInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed in a Deluxe 5 Berth Cabin. We were surprisingly warm and cosey in this cabin and wished we were able to access a lot more of the facilities that were available but the weather was not kind to us until the morning we left. Unfortunately for us there was a lot of running water around the cabin which pooled in spots and somehow encouraged the local wildlife to croak at our window all night. It was worse than a dripping tap. The rest of the accommodation was clean and comfortable for our family of Two adults and two children.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My partner and i stayed here for 5 nights in a budget cabin (with ensuite) for $145 a night. We thought the cost was reasonable to other accomodation options close to the snow fields. We wanted a kitchen to cook our own meals and the facilities were great - oven, microwave, utensils etc. The cabin was a bit hard to warm at night as the heater was not all that efficient, luckily we brought along our own sleeping bags just in case. the location is great, just at the turn off to Thredbo and the Ski tube on shores of the lake - lovely! There is a spa and sauna too. We would stay again but would ask for cabin with proper heating if staying there in winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jindabyne hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.0 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
1.3 mi away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banjo Paterson Inn
Banjo Paterson Inn
#2 of 9 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Jindabyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Jindabyne

Property: Discovery Parks - Jindabyne
Address: 6532 Kosciuszko Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Jindabyne 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Parks - Jindabyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing