We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Forster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Forster
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed in room 3.

Air-con was not working so initially left the large front window and tiny rear window window. Then had the enjoyment of listening to the night check ins and people walking around, so closed the large window. Could not sleep as the room as the room was stuffy (which defeated the purpose of paying $110 for a room to sleep in). (the chap came up and played with the dial for a while trying to get it going, couldn't. I asked where that left me and his reply was to open the window- there was no suggestion of changing rooms though the motel was mostly vacant that night.

Not surprisingly the rooms have a fan which has a control similar to a Russian cold war breaker switch. In any event the fan was too noisy, so I turned it off, but then discovered the noisy fridge....

Room was very clean and appointed with cheap IKEA style austere furniture (the beach veneer type).

TV screen was slightly larger than my small (13 inch laptop) so opted for the laptop on the bed which was then larger (come on guys given the low cost of monitors these days why not pay the extra $50-$100 for the larger screen)

It had reasonable cable programs.

Bathroom was as the rest of the room very clean with bad taste floor tiles. The shower, is OK and the usual silicon rubber in hotel rooms which have seen a refurb minus the bathroom in the lower shower recess joints is holding up well.

Breakfast of bacon and eggs and a pot of coffee - the eggs were cold though the bacon was warm. The toast was hot, buttered and very nice. I do alot of regional travelling and poor rooms usually afford a good breakfast. Not so in this case. The pot of coffee deserves some description given that as I poured it into the cup it looked some reaction was occurring (as if curdled milk had been used but with much smaller clotted milk). It wasnt curdled though but certainly had that appearance. It was weird. This scientific reaction attracted my attention so I plucked up the courage and had a few sips. I was right it wasnt curdled but then it didnt taste like coffee either. More along the lines of possibly a bushels or international roast watered down blend. I decided to stay away from it and made myself a cup of tea leaving the still gurgling so called coffee (that I paid extra for) for the cleaner.

Mattress was comfortable to sleep on but every time I satdown on it for the first time I thought I was going to break a spring (which being of cheap sort will likely occur).

All in all a clear step below the usual Best Western Quality. Everything and I mean everything has been done at the lowest possible price.

However if you want a cheaply appointed room and dont want to sleep then I would definitely stay there.

Cheers

Room Tip: If you have to stay there before you hand over the plastic check out the appliances in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed in an executive spa room for 1 night during a stopover on the way from Brisbane to Sydney.
We found the room to be spacious and clean. Only problem that we found is that our hot water was not working. Staff attended to this matter as soon as they were notified and it got fixed straight away.
We had room service for dinner & breakfast and found both meals to be quite nice.
Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaz_2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Usually stay in Taree while I am up that way but decided to try Forster this time. I stayed in one of thier 4 star rooms and it was clean comfortable and well presented although I was in a hurry this time and didnt use anything but the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wnnlsn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great value for money.
Breakfast great, especially the fresh fruit salad.
The type of motel that suits us - small where you can park in front of room so not far to carry gear.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Good, clean rooms with ok furnishings and friendly manager who gave some great local dining advice.
Only catch was the distance to the beach which necessitated car travel.
Will return!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptMagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Good breakfast, hot coffee, Austar movies good. However needs improving with cleaning. Black hairs in the shower and in the bed. Room was a little dusty. Benches had sticky marks. Owners asked if things were ok, but I would advise them to check the rooms for cleanliness before customer enters. Nice and quiet

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastalgal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Nice lady at reception. Very friendly, showed us our room and was very helpful in giving tips for restaurants.

Room was very clean and decent size. TV small and old, but to our surprise free wireless Internet! Beds were good too.

The motel is located on a nice roadside setting, but there wasn't a lot of noise coming from the road. It is a bit of a walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickandMieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
1.2 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
168 reviews
2 mi away
Tuncurry Beach Motel
Tuncurry Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Tuncurry
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Forster
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
133 reviews
1 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forster

Address: 26 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia (Formerly Lakesway Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forster 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Forster. Our location is very central to all the attractions of Forster. We are only 500 metres from the lake, Stocklands Shopping Centre and The Lakeside Tavern. Hotel Forster offers four-star accommodation in Forster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Forster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forster Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing