We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins great, grey water, leeches & mozzies... yuk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Family gathering of 4 bookings. One of the cleanest places we have been to & so close to large shopping centre. Great for kids which is the reason I chose this place. Camp kitchen used for nearly all meals for 14 of us and there was plenty of room for many, many more guests. Wet weather turned 2 camping bookings into cabin/villa stays. 1 budget cabin older but quite adequate & comfy; 2 family villas (quite new), views over water great, beds comfy & only missing cutting boards & extra toilet paper ... please!!!; Ensuite van site wished I did not have to be in. Pool of water under & around ensuite & up to edge of our van= mossies & mud (just great for 2 bishon frise). Proximity of Bay plus most van sites seem to have only an open trench for grey water to run into means the property does not seem to drain too freely. Have camped other places that drain better with same amount of rain. Mozzies & leeches (only 2, but that is enough for me) were a real pain in our van site. So thankful that we had other family with villas & cabin there with a dry retreat for morning coffee & afternoon drinks for us & the bishons. Drainage problems will keep us from returning, even with dry weather.

Room Tip: Stay in cabins or villas only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here in our caravan and had a fantastic time. The pool was beautiful and relaxing in the Gazebo was my favourite afternoon spot. We spent a lot of time relaxing by the lake too. There are gorgeous views over the lake.
The only downside was that we were given a code number to access the amenities buildings. These were spotless and I understand that to keep them this way they need to be locked but I kept forgetting the number. I would have preferred a key to access the amenities.
Very friendly staff and a great location, only a few minutes to the shopping centre and beaches.

Room Tip: There are lots of villas and cabins for travellers, we will stay on a waterfront site next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed waterfront. We had to start cleaning before entering, ants everywhere. Cabin was lovely when clean. Very comfy sofa. No oven! No chopping board! i would prefere an oven than a dishwasher. BBQ didn't cook a snag so in the fry pan they went. Pool , cold! Would be great if warmed a little. How would I turn this place into a gold mine?

1)Check cabins before guest move in, and equip them with really handy stuff. Oven, sandwich press, chopping board.
2) heat the pool at least during school hols.
3) have rental kayaks so people can make the most of the lake.
4) coffee, coffee, coffee! Equip the office!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kabpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I selected this place from the road trip I was on, figuring it would be less expensive then the high-rise places in town. The lakeside cabin was a permanent trailer. It was clean. Two bedrooms, one with a queen bed the other with a bunk bed (bottom bed was queen). It was winter and 'off season' so the place was quiet and the lake tranquil. Because the trailers closest to the lake are situated perpendicular to the lake, the view is out the front from the lounge area - no views from the bedrooms. The front deck that faced the lake was a great place to sit and relax. Wifi is only free for the first hour (with a coupon from the reception). The trailer is old, but clean. The reception staff member was friendly and accommodating. About a 5-10 minute drive from town.

Room Tip: Some cabins are partial lake view so be sure to ask for full lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waejae_jae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is TDF. right by a huge lake full of birds. Everything so well maintained and colourful. Cable TV even. Nice big sites if a little uneven. Our site beside the lake was $40 a night which seemed worth every cent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PhilipH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here twice - once a couple of years ago, and again on a recent unexpected trip when I suddenly needed accommodation. I picked this place because of the earlier stay - it had been lovely then, and it still is. Wallis Lake is right there in front of you, the spaces are wide open and, if the weather is good, it's idyllic there. The fellow who runs the place is really friendly and super helpful. The cabins are really clean and feel new, and very comfortable indeed. I'll stay again if I need a place again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mintster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I take school groups away kayaking and have visited this resort on many occasions. I have seen it grow from basically a paddock to a top quality resort.

The facilities are first class with one of the best camp kitchens going around. The new pool is fantastic, there is a games room and the amenities are clean and functional. The grounds are extremely well kept with beautiful grassy campsites, plenty of trees and it is nice to sit back and listen to the birds in the morning and evening.

I generally use the unpowered campsites so can't comment on the cabins. They look good from the outside though!

Pipers Bay (straight out the front) is beautiful. On numerous occasions, we have floated past dolphins swimming around, and have also seen a few turtles feeding on the seagrasses. The lakes are an amazingly diverse place, with bird and marine life.....and it is all straight out the front of the resort. Head down to the waterfront to watch some amazing sunsets.

The staff are happy and can't do enough for you. I don't understand some other comments saying they are rude....this is simply not the case.

I highly recommend this place.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HakkaChrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
3.4 mi away
BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
3.0 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lani's Holiday Island
Lani's Holiday Island
#7 of 13 in Forster
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Discovery Parks – Forster
3.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Holiday Village
3.1 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#2 of 13 in Forster
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster

Address: 13 Tea Tree Rd, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia (Formerly Gateway Lifestyle Lakeside Forster)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Forster
Price Range: $85 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster is a 4 star park located in the mid north coast of New South Wales, just 3.5 hours north of Sydney, this is a popular tourist destination. With easy access to spectacular waterways, local patrolled pristine beaches, rivers, and hinterlands. The Great Lakes region offers secluded national parks. Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster is only minutes to Forster town centre, shopping, restaurants, cafes and golf courses. The park is set on 12 pristine acres, with established gardens, offering the largest sites in the region and wide lake frontage. Some facilities at this well appointed holiday park include - resort style pool - playground - BBQ facilities - camp kitchen - basketball court - TV room - games room - conference room - universal access bathroom - dump point. Secura Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing