We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch or dinner lake cruise”

Free Spirit Cruises
Ranked #2 of 10 Tours in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Free Spirit Cruises the aquamarine waters of Wallis Lake at Forster, NSW. Lunch is freshly prepared on board and served to your table. Wildlife is abundant, including frequent sighting of pelicans, black swans, oyster catchers and sea eagles to name but a few. Dolphins are frequently sighted in Wallis Lake and the occasional sea turtle. There have been rarer sightings of dugong and even a fur seal in the lake. Take in lunch and be part of the conversation, perhaps partaking in a beverage from the fully licensed bar. Learn a little of the areas history, both aboriginal and european, the commercial fishing and aquaculture industries and about our unique environment. The Free Spirit makes the perfect venue for a get together with family and friends. Book today...you'll love it!
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch or dinner lake cruise”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been on the Free Spirit several times....lunch or dinner cruise, family celebration and Xmas party evening. Every time has been well worth the trip. Peter gives a wonderful informative talk about Wallis Lake, the oyster industry and general points of interest. The dolphins quite often race the boat....a sight to remember!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Longies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Free Spirit Cruises, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks so much Longies for taking the time to give feedback! It is the support of customers like yourselves that keep our small business running in Forster. We look forward to catching up with you again in the future.
Peter and Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nyora Vic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lunch cruise”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we went on the 2.5 hour lunch cruise around the lake it was beautiful, the skipper gave an informed toour of all the points of interest, lunch was a damper roll, salad , turkey and ham, tea and coffee, then to top it off warm apple pie and cream and more tea and coffee, all for $50 per adult great value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionPeterNyoraVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at Free Spirit Cruises, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Marion and Peter. I know that you were out with us some time ago, but I've just worked out where to make my response. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Free Spirit cruise and thought that it was good value for $. Recently we cruised Tasmania and the Whitsundays on small charter vessels. Whole families can travel with us for the price of indivual adults at other Aussie destinations. It would be nice to catch up again. Regards, Peter and Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Spirit Forster”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great luncheon cruise on the Free Spirit - even though it was raining and only 6 of us booked it was much appreciated that the cruise went ahead - had our elderly parents with us and they really enjoyed it as well - excellent commentary - lovely fresh lunch - thankyou to Peter & Jacqui - will definitely go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable and relaxing day.”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This cruise departs Forster and goes past Pacific Palms and all the way to Coomba Park around Wallis Islands and comes back in at Tuncurry past the bridge before ending.
During the cruise the "skipper" lets you know what has happened in the past and is happening in the lake today. This is done without raving on just short stories as you cruise past different locations. Great lunch 2 course, with tea and coffee. Licenced. This is really relaxing, I live in Forster and have done this cruise several times Highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank julesmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Spirit Cruises also viewed

 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Free Spirit Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing