We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location promises a lot, food lets it down”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Bums Cafe

Beach Bums Cafe
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location promises a lot, food lets it down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Looked like a great location for breakfast overlooking the water. Friendly staff, food turned up quickly but we didn't stay long. Eggs tasted like vinegar, bacon hardly cooked, thick toast only cooked on one side..and a wobbly table to boot. We moved on to Tartt for coffee and some cooked toast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenx47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    245
    65
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location is the winner for this Cafe. It was full at lunch time when we got there and waiting for a while, wasn't a problem. we sat down, had coffee and some lunch. it was ok. from the reviews I expected better. if you take a walk along the beach down to the man made sea pool and then up to the lookout towards pebble beach, that was the nicest part. great look out

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TK20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Toongabbie
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Breakfast was really busy but we were served quickly and the food was really good and well priced. Really recommend. The view was great too

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank valroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and very reasonably priced. Unfortunately that doesn't help if the food is not up to standard. We were recently visiting friends in Forster and on a couple if occasions we ended up here. The first time I had fish & chips but the fish I was served was incredibly thinly filleted (maybe 5mm thick at best) and tasteless. On our last day there I just had a burger and couldn't eat it - the lettuce and tomato must have just been taken from the fridge as they were very very cold and wet which then made the bun soggy and the meat cold. The meat pattie itself was a frozen version not home made which didn't help. But as I stated at the outset, nice staff and cheap food ..... just be careful what you choose to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Saintsly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
549 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Great Location - Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This joint is informal and friendly and provides a cafe style menu with a great range of simple inexpensive options. Open for breakfast and lunch (and I suspect easy-eats dinners through summer) the location is unbeatable right on the main beach at Forster with amazing views across the beach and along the north coast.

We didn't detect a liquor licence but every once in a while an Alcohol Free Lunch is worth the inconvenience!

Don't leave lunch too late through the winter months since umbrellas are down and the front doors closed at 14:30.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bums Cafe also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Beach Bums Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing