We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blown away by the food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotos Cafe - CLOSED

Sotos Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Blown away by the food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

As I am coeliac I am always concerned about eating out and getting sick.
I found this restaurant on the coeliac society of Australia website and thought I would give them a try.
We were there for breakfast and even though they were very busy for a Sunday morning the staff were very quick in acknowledging us and advising they would be with us as quickly as possible. Once seated I advised I was coeliac and I was blown away by the service of the staff, they were so helpful and advised me what I could or could not have and even modified a menu item so I could have it.
Throughout my breakfast they checked to make sure everything was all right and making sure that we didn't need any more beverages or food. The food was amazing and the coffee is great. I have now decided that every time I head to Forster this is where I will be eating, the staff were amazing, friendly and helpful and the food just great.

At the end of our breakfast I asked about what type of gluten free bread they used, the wrote down the bakery details for me so I could go and buy a loaf for myself.

This was one of the best experiences I have had at any restaurant or cafe to date and I will be back many times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cykadelick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    3
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cafe in Forster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My fiancè and I go to Sotos every time we come to Forster from Canberra, which is quite often. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive and the coffee and breakfasts are fantastic. Definitely worth a visit or two.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSean90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the review by misslucy80 on the 14th has got her wires crossed she is thinking of another cafe in Forster called shots of happy. I can honestly say I have never had a bad experience and sotos the coffee is some of the beat I have ever tasted and I have had coffee all over the world. The food is great some many great dishes with some great twists the wagyu beef burger is awesome and the corn friters are just YUM! The staff are always happy and Joey and Harley are masters when it comes coffee art and they don't mind letting you watch when the create you coffee masterpiece. Seriously worth your time and calling in for a chat and a coffee 5out of 5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T0dd-b4k3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Easy going cafe that reminds you that there is more to cafe's than just great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Sotos quickly became my coffee shop of choice when holidaying in Forster regularly.
I am sure to visit, for at the very least a coffee everyday.
The outlook of the lake is exceptional, the food is great, the coffee is best I've ever had, and the friendly staff create a real easygoing environment that brings you back time and time again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeTelfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not quite there....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

It's quiet, there is some comfy lounge style seating and they make ok tea and coffee, which is why I'll often call in for a cuppa. Have tried on a few occasions to eat there, but I don't bother anymore. The menu is small. They have tried to put some creative healthy-ish options on the menu but the flavour combos just are not right, and the ingredients are not prepared/combined in nice ways. They often aren't cooked using healthy methods either, yucky oil etc. nice effort, but not great, just doesn't work. I find the service a bit to casual for my liking also, very lax, so much so that it comes across as rude and unprofessional. They hold special themed dinner nights, haven't tried these menus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLucy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotos Cafe also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing