We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average to good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maharani - CLOSED

Maharani
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average to good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

If there had been a category titled "good" we would have chosen it as this restaurant in not quite very good. We chose Onion Bharj and Samosa which were average but OK. For mains we had Rogan Josh and Tikka Masala which were both tasty. The garlic Naan was good. In peak season we found the service to be adequate while being quite young but eager to please.

Helpful?
Thank balmain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The new location of the restaurant is fabulous I like it here better than upstairs actually all looks new. Food never fails to impress I absolutely come here if in the need for a curry.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank disneydreamer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I ate here on a quiet Monday night. The service was excellent and the food tasty although the tomtao in the chicken tikka sauce was a bit too strong for my tastes. My only complaint would be that wine by the glass is very limited although I do note that you can BYO for an AUD 6.50 cover charge..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank longs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blueys Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food is really authentic and tasty. But suggest you go outside holiday season and on weekdays as staff are light on and expect a wait if theres more than 3 tables.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A few dinners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not bad, eaten there a few times as I travel for work. Food ghood and service is ok

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Finni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharani also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing