We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night out”
Review of Reef Bar Grill

Reef Bar Grill
Reserve with
Reef Bar Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 80 Restaurants in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: European, Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reef recently underwent a refurbishment to the bar and restaurant and now boasts an eclectic fresh decor, where guests can relax in the ambient and modern surrounds from the best vantage point in Forster. Guests can enjoy a cocktail or beer with friends at the new outdoor/indoor bar overlooking the sparkling Wallis Lake, or they can stay for a delicious meal delicately prepared by head chef Peter Tjornelund. The menu is a fusion of Asian and European cuisine and features mouth-watering meals such as a garlic and lemon marinated pork cutlet with honey figs, roast kumara, goats cheese and pistachio. The menu also includes an all-day dining option with gourmet pizzas along with a carefully selected wine and beer menu to accompany the meals.
Greeners
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I had dinner hear with my family for my birthday, i had the duck spring rolls as an entre which are a must try!!!!! So good and the salmon with the lemon and thyme risotto and the olive relish which was cooked really well the risotto was a bit bland but the relish was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Thirstyforsomecwarfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    144
    37
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Delicious honest food at a great price. Specials board had very appealing choices. Right in the heart of Forster.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where is the menu?!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Over the easter I dinned here, the menu is so limited, barely any food to choose from, very expensive for Forster and poor service. My daughter has a seafood allergy and the staff were difficult to deal with just to order something from their limited menu for her. won't be going back, there is nothing to order. The restaurant with no food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Dee2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“at last great cuisine close to home”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I recently went for dinner with some girl friends to the Reef Bar Grill and the whole experience was positive. The food was excellent real fine dining. The service quick and efficient and the staff very friendly. It wasn't cheap, but I don't mind when you go out for something special. Our table was near the window and so had a lovely view. It was a bit noisy with a lot of people who have children and have had a few wines which happened the night we were there. I know it is difficult to stop noise maybe some pot plants placed around might help but anyway it was still a great night so well done please keep it up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The views over the lake were wonderful as we dined while watching the sunset with dolphins and pelicans at play. The food was first class with friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulR74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Bar Grill also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Reef Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing