We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Mayfield NSW 2304
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Nice place, service great.
However advertised as restaurant on premises and does not operate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsta61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
We do not have a restaurant, we do have a dining/function room for private functions and group bookings. All advertising for the restaurant was stopped about 4 years ago, we would greatly appreciate it if you could advise us as to where you seen the advertisement so we can have it removed.

Thank You for your review.
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    109
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
97
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Our local Probus stayed at the Motel for a week on their organised tour. Everybodyb had a good time, the food was good and the motel for a 3 star was comfortable and nice. The hosts and staff were very obliging and helpful. The coach tour was excellent with a driver that was a natural taking us to places that were there but never visited - all in all a lovely week. Would certainly recommend this tour to other groups as it is great value.
RF Tour Organiser Braodwater Probus.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thanks for the review your feedback is greatly appreciated. We pride ourselves on the tours we organised and hospitality we offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Myself and my family stayed last December for Christmas. We had driven past the motel a few time and thought we'd give it a go. We booked thru Wotif and pre paid which we very much regret now as the Motel did not justify the price.

We went to check in with the man at reception (around his 30's) who was far from friendly. Took our credit card details, gave us the room key and that was it. The rooms were ok, dated decor but clean, a nice pool and a dining area which wasn't open. After a great Christmas visiting our family who live in Foster we checked out with the same man at the reception and heading back home to Sydney.

4 Days later I checked my credit card statement and $80 had been deducted from my credit card. I called the Motel and spoke to the same man who checked us in and he advised we had been charged for a "4cm burn in the blanket". I then told him none of us smoke nor did we use anything that could burn the blanket in the room. He went on to say that it wasn’t there before we checked in therefore it was our problem and there was nothing we could do to get our money back. I asked for Photos to be sent to my email to prove it - which I never got. After not hearing anything from the Motel for 2 weeks a family member went to collect the blanket - after all, if I was going to pay $80 for a blanket that had a burn on it that couldn’t be reused then i may as well take it. Then was told he had thrown it away.

I have worked in Management in the Hotel industry for nearly 10 years and have never seen such disgusting customer service! Look Else Where!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adviser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
The guest booked two rooms online a few weeks before arrival and visited the premises a week prior to the date booked to inspect the two rooms. After inspecting these two rooms they seemed pleased and decided to extend their stay a few extra nights, to arrive earlier. The guest arrived and checked in without any incidents. After their first night, the housekeepers had informed us that one of the rooms the guest was staying in had a strong odour of cigarettes. I contacted the guest and asked if they did smoke could they please not smoke inside the room as it was a non-smoking room. The guest was apologetic and informed me she did not realise it was a non-smoking room and that she herself was currently working as a housekeeper in a hotel and knew how hard it is to remove the odour of cigarettes from a room. The guest ceased smoking, their stay continued without any incidents. On the morning of departure the guest checked out and our housekeeping staff went into the rooms to find that the guest had burnt a hole through a single bed spread. The guest’s credit card was charged for the damages to the bed spread, a written notice was sent to the guest of the additional charge, informing the guest would be place on the Guest Behaving Badly guest offender register and who to make written correspondence with to dispute the additional charge. A few weeks after the guest had stayed, a family member of the guest came to reception demanded to have the bed spread. He was given the same information as in the written correspondence, after which he became belligerent and started making threats. The Police where eventually called to remove the man.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I really appreciated the service they provided, location of the motel, the cleanliness of the room and offcourse the very affordable price!
Thanks guys. I will definitely visit you again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perksofbeingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
A sincere thank you for taking the time to give us you feedback, your review is greatly appreciated. Positive feedback such as this always makes us happy to know we are reaching, if not exceeding our guest’s expectations. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Booked through wotif. I would not be prepared to pay full price for what we got.
There was a hair on the vanity basin on check in, leaving me wondering if the bathroom had even been cleaned because the bathroom mirror had not been cleaned. There was also hair on the bathroom floor and the exhaust fan was choked with fluff and did not work. The bar fridge had been defrosted leaving a puddle of water on the tray which spilled all over the carpet whilst trying to empty it. The fridge wobbled terribly whenever it was opened. The old style tv had very poor reception. The gardens were poorly maintained with papers lifting. The patio area at the back was dirty and windows looked liked they hadn't been cleaned for some time. Would not recommend. Was not value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
I am sorry to hear about your stay and apologies for the poor cleanliness of your room. Your room must have been an exception as our rooms are always kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Our house keeping staff pride themselves in there working and are disappointed when they heard about your review, I have spoken with them and we are currently looking into how you where check-in to a room that was not yet cleaned.

Please accept my sincere apologies,

Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Travelling in a group of three sisters, aged 75, 80, 82 all physically capable we were treated courteously.by all staff at all times.The food was varied and we noticed that others with special dietary needs were carefully accommodated. The facilities were clean, comfortable and everything worked. We thought the price was exceptionally low. How did they provide three meals plus morning tea, plus five bus trips and tours all paid for in the initial cost? It did not surprise us that many of the group had been there before. As much as we were happy it is unlikely we will be back.....we like to see different places. In all my years of travelI I have not been to the same place twice...there is so mucjh to see in this world. We knew we were not staying in an international five star hotel but for the type of hotel it is it is first class.. Audrey Woodland

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millicent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for the great review Audrey, I'm happy to hear you had a pleasant stay.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Booked at last minute so was prepered for worst but was pleasently surprised, The room was a bit dated but clean and everything worked, it was also surprisingly quiet even though it was fully booked. Yes its a drive to the beach, but walking distance to Stockland Mall. Pool was heated air con was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjwknuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
The reply is a little late but thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forster hotels
1.6 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lakesway Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palms Motor Inn

Property: Island Palms Motor Inn
Address: 115 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Palms Motor inn is a perfect place to start your discovery of the crystal clear waters and pristine beaches of the Great Lakes area. Set in a quiet, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, We are located adjacent Wallis Lake, Forster Stockland Shopping Centre & The Lake Side Tavern. Close to beach, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Island Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing