We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Cessnock, Australia
1 review
“We will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay here, when we came for a water skiers reunion. We had stayed in another establishment in previous years and but decided to give something else a try. We were very please with the room and will now stay with here every year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryrigged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for your review, your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again at next year’s water skiers reunion.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    108
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
94
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I recently stay over Easter and found this place to be very reasonably priced, yes the room was a little dated with old pink curtains & a floral bed spread, but the room was clean, the bed was comfy and staff was friendly. All in all we had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are currently going through the process of refurbishing our rooms, of which the first stage should be completed by the end of July. If you happen to stay with us again after July our rooms will begin to look far more modern.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

It was a great place to rest our weary heads after travelling and was a great stopover. We would have like to have spent more than one day there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherish3941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, hopefully for a longer stay so you can enjoy what the Great Lakes area has to offer.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I also have had a bad non-forgiving experience with the following motel, i would rather not get into the terrible events that took place at the time of my stay, but i regret to inform the readers of this forum to seek your holiday experience else where (motel wise)
I think i would have better service and a more luxurious stay at a caravan park.
Regretfully yours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank compaq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
I am sorry to here about your stay. As I am not sure what made your stay with us so terrible, I am unable to rectify the problem. All I can do is sincerely apologies for your stay and hope if you are passing through again you will take the time to share your feedback with us in more detail. Again I am very sorry to hear about your stay.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield NSW 2304
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Nice place, service great.
However advertised as restaurant on premises and does not operate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsta61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
We do not have a restaurant, we do have a dining/function room for private functions and group bookings. All advertising for the restaurant was stopped about 4 years ago, we would greatly appreciate it if you could advise us as to where you seen the advertisement so we can have it removed.

Thank You for your review.
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Our local Probus stayed at the Motel for a week on their organised tour. Everybodyb had a good time, the food was good and the motel for a 3 star was comfortable and nice. The hosts and staff were very obliging and helpful. The coach tour was excellent with a driver that was a natural taking us to places that were there but never visited - all in all a lovely week. Would certainly recommend this tour to other groups as it is great value.
RF Tour Organiser Braodwater Probus.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thanks for the review your feedback is greatly appreciated. We pride ourselves on the tours we organised and hospitality we offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Myself and my family stayed last December for Christmas. We had driven past the motel a few time and thought we'd give it a go. We booked thru Wotif and pre paid which we very much regret now as the Motel did not justify the price.

We went to check in with the man at reception (around his 30's) who was far from friendly. Took our credit card details, gave us the room key and that was it. The rooms were ok, dated decor but clean, a nice pool and a dining area which wasn't open. After a great Christmas visiting our family who live in Foster we checked out with the same man at the reception and heading back home to Sydney.

4 Days later I checked my credit card statement and $80 had been deducted from my credit card. I called the Motel and spoke to the same man who checked us in and he advised we had been charged for a "4cm burn in the blanket". I then told him none of us smoke nor did we use anything that could burn the blanket in the room. He went on to say that it wasn’t there before we checked in therefore it was our problem and there was nothing we could do to get our money back. I asked for Photos to be sent to my email to prove it - which I never got. After not hearing anything from the Motel for 2 weeks a family member went to collect the blanket - after all, if I was going to pay $80 for a blanket that had a burn on it that couldn’t be reused then i may as well take it. Then was told he had thrown it away.

I have worked in Management in the Hotel industry for nearly 10 years and have never seen such disgusting customer service! Look Else Where!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adviser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
The guest booked two rooms online a few weeks before arrival and visited the premises a week prior to the date booked to inspect the two rooms. After inspecting these two rooms they seemed pleased and decided to extend their stay a few extra nights, to arrive earlier. The guest arrived and checked in without any incidents. After their first night, the housekeepers had informed us that one of the rooms the guest was staying in had a strong odour of cigarettes. I contacted the guest and asked if they did smoke could they please not smoke inside the room as it was a non-smoking room. The guest was apologetic and informed me she did not realise it was a non-smoking room and that she herself was currently working as a housekeeper in a hotel and knew how hard it is to remove the odour of cigarettes from a room. The guest ceased smoking, their stay continued without any incidents. On the morning of departure the guest checked out and our housekeeping staff went into the rooms to find that the guest had burnt a hole through a single bed spread. The guest’s credit card was charged for the damages to the bed spread, a written notice was sent to the guest of the additional charge, informing the guest would be place on the Guest Behaving Badly guest offender register and who to make written correspondence with to dispute the additional charge. A few weeks after the guest had stayed, a family member of the guest came to reception demanded to have the bed spread. He was given the same information as in the written correspondence, after which he became belligerent and started making threats. The Police where eventually called to remove the man.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forster hotels
1.6 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakesway Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palms Motor Inn

Property: Island Palms Motor Inn
Address: 115 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Palms Motor inn is a perfect place to start your discovery of the crystal clear waters and pristine beaches of the Great Lakes area. Set in a quiet, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, We are located adjacent Wallis Lake, Forster Stockland Shopping Centre & The Lake Side Tavern. Close to beach, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing