We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired traveller”
Review of Sevan Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sevan Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

close to shops and all the awesome bush walking tracks and the beach pool. bit of a mix up on checkin with us coming in on late check in and given wrong room keys and when we got to our room even though we booked a 1 bedroom apartment I like to inspect the whole apartment and ensure the other rooms that would make it 2 3 br(when guest book them) that the doors are locked and or the rooms we don't plan using are still clean... in this case they were unmade form the last guest and we didn't get milk like we were supposed to in the fridge.understand that we could of just asked for the milk and for the room to be locked but I wanted them to realize their mistake and lack of service.the staff were when we were in communication with them at check out were friendly and very nice.overall we recommend the apartment. it is a great place we just had those little issues but occasionally they happen.

Room Tip: room 504 is lovely.... just make sure if you book a one bedroom they lock the other room s cause it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thankyou for taking time out of your busy day to write us a helpfully review, we appreciate the feed back, we will be adressing these issues and will be up to date, For your next stay.


Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have stayed in Forster before but this was our first time at Sevan. This turned out to be a great choice as far as we were concerned. We asked for an apartment on a higher floor and wow, the panoramic views from the 9th floor were extraordinary - jaw droppingly magnificient. When we walked in it was clear that the apartment was sparkling clean, well appointed and well cared for. It had that lovely fresh atmosphere. When we cooked there were plenty of pots, pans, electrical appliances, utensils and the like - all modern and clean. And with views like this if we were'nt cooking, we often just brought back takeaway food to eat out on the balcony or in our own dining room - the best views while dining in Forster. There are plenty of lovely little cafes, restaurants and takeaway places within a short stroll. This is also the first time we've chosen an apartment that supplied linen and towels and I can say it made for a much easier holiday. The on-site managers were pleasant and helped us with good advice. The pool was sparkling and the BBQ area was spotless. There was air-conditioning in the living room as well as both bedrooms (a big bonus) so that was welcomed on a few of the hot nights. The natural sea breezes are also lovely at such a high level. Because it's such a well run place, people in residence seemed to be having a nice time and so it made for a friendly and relaxed holiday. Forster is a great place for a holiday. Full marks from us thank you Sevan.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment high up plus air-conditioning in the bedrooms as well was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thankyou for taking time out to write us a review, We are all very gald you enjoy your stay, we appreciate the great feedback. Can't wait til you can join us again for another great holiday.

Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a great place for a getaway. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were very pleased with the location and amenities nearby - as well as the apartment - fantastic for the price. Just as good if not better than Sails across the road (without the view).

Anne was a lovely lady at reception who is great to work with. Couple of pros and cons of this place.

Pros:

Close to beach
Close to food and shops
Clean apartments - nice beds


Cons

Not allowed on balcony after 10pm! Come on guys...
Pool wasn't heated as advertised
Spa in pool is just a cold water bath no jets
one elevator for whole complex - long waits especially when going down to basement car park
Thin walls - extremely thin walls. Any bedroom antics can be heard by all LOL
no air con in rooms only in master room (i was staying in a cheaper room though - i think deluxe rooms have aircon)

My honest opinion - if you want to party, dont come to forster. Its quiet. After 10pm its like a nursing home. Good for relaxation and families.

Get a room on floors 5 and up so you can see the ocean. We stayed on level 3 and blocked by sails apartments.

Next time i will get the penthouse as it has a jacuzzi on the balcony....however the no party policy is pretty extreme so dont think you can make any noise LOL pretty crap but thats forster, not surfers paradise i suppose.


We did not get our room serviced for 3 nights...not sure why but thats ok. Also, asked for more toilet paper and im not sure if you are supposed to buy it from them but we got a bad vibe for asking LOL

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanctus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time out to write us a review, we appreciate the feedback;

The 10pm balancoy rule is for PARTYS, not just sitting out there enjoying the view, We have this because most of our guests come here to relax.
Pool, yes we have had trouble keeping it warm, but we now have a solar power cover on it , which has made it very nice and warm.
Air/con, Yes there is only one in the main bedroom, Only apmartments that have one in each room is the luxury rooms. It does say on our website, what each room includes.
The reason why your apartment was not serviced, because its a self service apartment which means you look after your room and with not getting the extra toilet paper is becuase we just set up the room with a starter pack and any other extras you would like you will need to bring yourself.
Thankyou again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Sevan Apartments for 3 nights. A great spot for a family, with 2 single beds in one room and a bathroom and then an ensuite and large walk in wardrobe off the main.
A little noisy, but were on the main road. A very short walk to the beach and main street. A great pool area to use as well and the help yourself library is a great idea, especially as it contains numerous kids books.
We were upgraded from level 5 to 7 upon check in which gave a great view across the buildings in front. Obviously the higher up, the better the view.
Alot of signs / rules everywhere which is a little unfriendly, but I guess they are just trying to keep the apartments as clean as possible and enjoyable for all guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time out of your day to write us a helpfully review.
We are really glad to hear that you loved your stay.
Yes, we do have a few signs, but we are just trying to make it easy for all quests to follow, but will be taking any down that are not usefull.

Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been holidaying at Sevan for the last three years and loved staying there because the units are so spacious and well appointed and the location is central.
The on site managers who were there up until a few months ago were really great however the new manages are very poor in our view. It’s a husband and wife team and the husband has very poor people skills and is a heavy smoker. There are no smoking signs all over the place but that doesn’t stop him from lighting up while in the fire escape and within the basement car park area. He also is often smoking right outside at the main front entry with the sea breeze blowing the smoke inside. When he uses the lift the stink of his smoke is residue and if you are a non-smoker will be very off putting. The other thing is that their cleaners don’t watch when they grab the soiled towels to change them. So if you are in the habit of traveling with your own hair rap like me wife is it will get taken and you will never get it back… …believe me we tried… They don’t do anything about it.
It’s a real shame in our view that the new management is so poor, it spoils this fantastic destination. That said they do have a lovely support admin lady who is very helpful. They should leave the management to her and disappear…

Room Tip: Rooms from the 4th floor up start to get a fabulous view. Units 3 & 4 on each floor are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time out of your busy day to write us a review.
We appreciate the feedback
Thankyou for letting us know about the smoking we were un aware of how bad it was. Will be now smoking only in the smokering areas.
Were are very sorry about the hair net but we did follow it up,
We rung the launady mat, then email them, unfortunately the launady mat could not find it for you. But did our best on finding it.
I hope you will try us again and everything will be up to your standers.

Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just spent a few nights at Sevan Apartments Forster. The Apartment was 2 bed self contained and had a very well equipped kitchen for those like us that wish to still cook some meals while on holiday. Would recommend booking an apartment on a higher floor up as the buildings between the apartment and sea would most likely block the view if you were any lower. We stayed on the 5th floor and enjoyed the ocean view we had. Location is very convenient to the local shops walkways and restaurants. Didn't have much interaction with the staff but room was clean and reception were pleasant on arrival. Pool and BBQ area looked like great places to spend an afternoon in warmer weather but traffic noise in peak periods could pose an issue, location is on the main rd, however didn't notice too much noise inside the apartment itself just on the balcony it is hard to ignore, stayed in a north eastern facing corner suite. Overall a nice clean hotel, though bed wasa very hard in main room and mattress could use a changeover.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment on a higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderers9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thankyou very much on taking time out of your day to write us a review,
Great to hear you enjoy your stay here with us.
Yes we have been updating our beds at the monent so a new one will be taking its place thanks for letting us know

Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been to Forster several times. My first time @ Sevan Apartments.
Beautiful veiws from the 8th floor. Had the best time even if it was for a short week end .
Apartment are clean close to everything.Spoke to Sahne when I booked found him helpful and pleasant.
I can't fault anything about these apartments I had every thing I needed for the perfect week end
Will stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPOT111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#2 of 13 in Forster
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches International
Beaches International
#1 of 13 in Forster
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevan Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevan Apartments

Address: 14 - 18 Head St, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Forster
Price Range: $144 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sevan Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevan Apartments is the newest, best located & most luxurious self contained holiday apartments in Forster. The apartments are AAA 4 1/2 star rated, each furnished & decorated with modern style & elegance. Apartments range in size from one bedroom, one bathroom accommodation through to the four bedroom, three bathroom Penthouse with spectacular views of the Great Lakes Region. Boasting the cleanest waterways and whitest sands in NSW which create the best oysters and seafood in the world. Conveniently located 100m to Forster's Main Beach, Wallis Lake and the beautiful town centre buzzing with award winning cafes, restaurants & boutique stores. Loads of options for hiring equipment to explore the stunning waterways and surrounds from SUPS to BBQ boats to Bicycles. The town of Forster is located a lazy 90 minute drive from Newcastle, 3 hours' from Sydney or 6 hours from Brisbane. All apartments are self contained, have a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, large living & dining area, large balcony, free underground parking, at least 1 space per apartment. The complex is wheelchair friendly and offers a community room, outdoor BBQ and terrace so the parents can entertain whilst watching the kids swim. Our friends at Reef, Bar, Grill and Beach Bums Cafe offer all Sevan Apartments guests a 10% discount off their food with a view both located just a short stroll away, perfect for those moonlight walks along the beach on the way home or some morning laps in the ocean pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sevan Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing