We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sovereign Inn Cowra
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked through check-inn.com.au, and found out that there was a glitch in the website. We were told that actually there were no room left but the website shown as available.

Thanks to the hard work of the ladies in Sovereign Inn Cowra, they emptied out their own private unit within the complex for us.
It was impressive and I can see the amount of trouble to empty the place to accommodate us.
The ladies went extra miles to make us feel welcomed and comfortable.
The place is clean, comfy and amazingly quiet, considering it is a motel which rooms are next to each other surrounding this little court yard where the swimming pool is.
Unfortunately it was not heated and September is too cold to swim.

But it was nice to sit at the sunny outdoor table and bench next to the pool having breakfast reading paper.

Coles is only 5-10 min walk in a shopping complex. Restaurants are a few steps away.
Shop in the petrol station accross the road open until 9pm.

The only pity about this hotel is that it has no hot cook breakfast at 8am as the kitchen was closed right after the booking visitor groups finished their breakfast.
so you might want to book ahead if you want hot breakfast.

I would highly recommend this place as a great value motel in a convenient location with a TOP service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do try to look after our guests as much as possible and with a room out of the system we certainly did go the extra mile!! Glad you enjoyed the sunshine of Cowra and as you say we are central to everything in the town. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We usually stay at the Aalana or Breakout Motel when we come to Cowra to eat at Neila's but they had been getting a bit pricey ($135 and $125 respectively) so decided to go for the motel next door to Neila's.

It turned out to be absolutely fine and was $100. It looked as though it had been recently upgraded. Certainly on the outside it still looks like an old style motel plus there are a few old style bits remaining, like the bathroom windows, but bed comfortable and shower good.

Some rooms look out over a central courtyard which contains a pool and if you were spending any amount of time in your room would be a pleasant outlook. Our room 27 had no outlook over the courtyard unfortunately.

We had been a bit concerned that the pub at the front of the motel might had been noisy as we were staying on a Saturday night, but we didn't hear anything at all.

So, will definitely stay here next time we eat at Neila's and will remember to ask for a courtyard view room.

Room Tip: We had Room 27 which had no view over the rather pleasant internal pool courtyard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Manager at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Trish M Thank you for your review. We purchased the motel complex a year ago and the priority was renovating all the motel rooms. The Brasserie has also been completed and just a few more things need to be done with the Tavern. As you say just a minutes stroll to Neilas so very handy. In regards to the Tavern, we have purposely been targeting the family market and have done away with the noisy pub of old!!. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Travelling through we stopped by chance, not on usual booking sites. Nicely renovated rooms with door opening onto grassed pool area. Much better than outside impression gives and quiet even though near main road. . Large flat screen tv. Good bistro attached. Comfortable bed, so if looking for a centrally located good value place to stay when travelling ($90), recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggyTfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We purchased the motel mid-2012 and have completely refurbished the rooms. With the rooms leading on the internal courtyard pool it creates a very tranquil atmosphere, well away from the main road and the associated noise. The Brasserie has also been refurbished and with the Tavern attached an ideal place for dinner and a drink.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

As the previous reviewer stated I too experienced children running through the corridors which was annoying. I booked an "exec" room as it was described as being more spacious with an extra desk. This room was one of the smallest I have ever seen. There was an extra small desk but only one chair in the room. There was hanging space but no shelving or drawers. If you were a single traveller this room size would be more suitable but for two people it wasn't enough. The room appeared to be updated (great bedside lights and bed) but stopped at the floors which were not very clean. There was a dead spider and some hair and dust on the floor of the ensuite. The old tiles which have not been refurbished let this room down. In the pool area there was a garbage piled high and overflowing with cans and bottles only a couple of metres' away from several units. It was there when I arrived and still there when I left. Apart from the garbage the pool area was very well kept and inviting. Very quiet at rear of motel.

The managers were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cooyal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovCowra, Manager at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

I was not here when you stayed at Sovereign Inn Cowra, but I know that our housemaids today take a great pride in their work. The garbage would not be left there now, I can assure you, and the only dead spider would still be warm! The renovations did not include the tiles in the bathroom, but everything else is new and comfortable. I am pleased that you found the bed and bedside lamps to your liking. I hope the managers are still friendly and helpful; and we do endevour to keep our gusts considerate of each other, even the children. We would be delighted to see you back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found that that this type of accommodation to be outdated for todays standards and would not recommend it.
The management although they did their best,were unable to adequatley supervise children running through the corridors,causing annoyance to other guests
They should have signage advising that all Parents should not leave children unattended and unsupervised at all times.
We were dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dazjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovCowra, Manager at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

I am disappointed that you did not like our beautiful newly renovated rooms. I am sorry that you were so disturbed by the other guests and although I was not here at the time of your visit, I do know how difficult it can be to keep children quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A very comfortable motel. Rooms recently refurbished, and done very tastefully.

The reception we received from management was excellent. Very obliging and helpful in all respects.

The motel is very central to Cowra with easy access to hotels and restaurants in the township. A short walk to the Services Club was worth the stroll with good food on offer.

Plenty of motels on offer in Cowra but this will do me any time.

PJS Brisbane

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovCowra, Manager at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

With new owners commencing July 2012 and a big renovation programme since, this motel has clean and comfortable rooms with new furniture & bathroom fittings. The continental breakfast is basic and no cooked breakfast is offered. The attached bistro area offers basic meals only and is not the venue for a relaxing piece of fine dining. If you have kids then the swimming pool in the central courtyard will be an attraction in summer.
The hotel is well located in the main street of the town, although up one end of that main street. The new owners are eager to please.
Don't book for more than a couple of nights because Cowra doesn't really have enough attractions to hold you there for longer.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the central swimming poool would not be quiet in summer as a result of noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovCowra, Manager at Sovereign Inn Cowra, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We now offer cooked breakfasts and a limited room service. I agree that the pool is popuar in warm weather, but we have not yet had any complaints about the noise caused by swimmers. Most people are considerate of others.
I do feel you have been very hard on Cowra though. As travellers ourselves, we are impressed with the town and it's vibrant active community, with many events being planned through the year. Perhaps you should visit during the Festival of International Understanding next year- there will be plenty to see and do then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowra hotels
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
1.3 mi away
Country Gardens Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Country Comfort Cowra
Country Comfort Cowra
#9 of 10 in Cowra
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cowra Crest Motel
Cowra Crest Motel
#4 of 10 in Cowra
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cowra Services Club Motel
0.1 mi away
Cowra Motor Inn
Cowra Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Cowra
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Inn Cowra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Cowra

Address: 15-19 Kendal St, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Inn Cowra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the main street of Cowra, Sovereign Inn Cowra offers not only accomodation but a restaurant and bar for your pleasure. The rooms are to the rear of the property, away from the road, and encircle a couryard with a lovely pool and BBQ area. Cowra is a vibrant town with many events during the year. It hosts the Festival of international Understanding each year, and is home of the australian Peace Bell. Cowra also has the beautiful Japanese gardens, as well as many other attractions. Play golf, go fishing, or just enjoy the peace of the local parks and gardens; Cowra is a welcoming place to stay and Sovereign Inn Cowra is waiting to offer you a comfortable bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sovereign Inn Cowra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing