We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable quality despite being a little bit pricey”
Review of Cowra Van Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowra Van Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at this park twice now and spent a night here on the last night of our two month trip before landing back home. All the wanted features stack up well. Good sites, good amenities, wonderful location and the bloke who manages the place is the best "backing coach" in the business. Having stayed at a lot of parks in hot spot tourist locations in Queensland, the $35 per night powered site price tag was a bit on the high side, but its like paying for a meal. If you get good food you soon forget the price. Same for this Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Cowra Van Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a surprise this park is, close to the main shopping precinct, pubs and information centre (a must for the Cowra Breakout display). THe park is neat and clean while Craig the manager is a a great personality and is more than helpful when it comes to reversing instructions to get onto your site. He also claims to be a marriage guidance counsellor ( ;-)

We found the facilities well kept and clean and had no problems with traffic noise (didn't notice any) and note that Craig has plans to modernise the cabins and the park in general.

We will return.

Russell of Adelaide

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I believe this park is Council owned and needs a lot of work.

Firstly the positives, looks OK for caravaners, but we stayed in a cabin, an excellent location and the manager was most helpful and friendly.

We were two couples staying in one of the "Deluxe" ensuite two bedroom cabins. It had a queen bed in one room which was fine and a double with an overhead bunk in the other room. The double bed had a thin old foam mattress with lots of the wooden slats missing underneath. Our friends had virtually no sleep and were given a separate cabin the next night after complaining.

The hot water tank was extremely small and ran out of hot water after one shower. The DVD didn't work correctly and the television was way to small for four people to watch.

I have stayed in many caravan park cabins without a problem, I will never go back to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We rented a cabin for two nights, the double bed was very hard and uncomfortable, the air conditioner all-though being very old (but worked) actually shook the wall and the bed. The triple bunk bed (we did not use) might be ok for kids but not teenagers or adults. If you wanted tea/coffee then there was and extra fee of $4 and if you wanted linen then that was an extra $10. The lino needs replacing and the walls could do with a good coat of paint to cover up the near worn out timber panel sheets. The water pressure in the sink and shower was very good however a bit more effort in cleaning around the bathroom floor would be good and the vanity doors also need replacing.

Pros: Nice clean park, easy walking distance to shops.

Cons: Very poor value for what you get, interior of cabins need updating.

Price compared to the local Hotel and Motels then spend an extra $10 and stay in them not the the Van Park.

Room Tip: Stay to the Hotel or Motels.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived with another couple for a couple of days.
The manager Craig talked to each driver and walked beside the cars and guided them into their site.The park was very clean and enjoyable.Cam kitchen is one of the best we have seen.We had 2 great days. Thank you Craig for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We never stopped in cabin as we had our own van
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mauzie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great location being a 2-minute walk away from town and 5 minutes from the bus stop, decent kitchen, lovely hot showers with a good flow, and just a 5 to 10-minute walk to the visitors centre. The guy on reception was pretty friendly and helpful with local information, and even gave me a shady spot to put my tent under which was thoughtful.
I noticed others have complained about noise, but there was plenty of room to stay away from the main road bridge if this was an issue for anyone. I'm sure reception would help.

I apologise in advance as this was my first campsite after years of travelling in hostels, but as a solo traveller with a tent and a backpack and no car it wasn't ideal to carry big heavy things. So while the kitchen had a microwave and toaster and kettle and cutlery and barbeque tools it didn't have many cups or plates if any at all, so I'd suggest visiting the local op shop or supermarket to buy some. Definitely not an inconvenience.

Also there was a fox that turned up without fail around 2am to 3am every night and liked to poke its paws at every tent. It's fine if you're inside a caravan or a cabin, but I didn't like getting woken up by a pest each night and after unsuccessfully trying to shoo it away I noticed I wasn't the only tent being hassled. I realise it can be tough to get rid of a fox and it's not the fault of the caravan park owners. Reception said they had contacted the local national parks ranger to set a fox trap, however this ranger had to cover a 100km-sized area and there was no time frame on when the ranger would be able to arrive. Hopefully for the sake of future visitors this will be sorted out soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in cabin on previous occasion, cabin was good but a bit noisy, but if you like to stay in the middle of town with all facilities noise will always be an issue. This time we're in a Motorhome and finding everything is very good. Service is excellent, facilities are clean and comprehensive, and at the back of the park fairly quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowra hotels
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
3.0 mi away
Cowra Holiday Park
Cowra Holiday Park
#2 of 7 in Cowra
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Comfort Cowra
Country Comfort Cowra
#9 of 10 in Cowra
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sovereign Inn Cowra
Sovereign Inn Cowra
#8 of 10 in Cowra
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cowra Crest Motel
Cowra Crest Motel
#4 of 10 in Cowra
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cowra Services Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowra Van Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowra Van Park

Address: 2A Lachlan Street, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cowra
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowra Van Park is centrally located in Cowra by the Lachlan River, a short stroll from shops, restaurants, cafes, clubs and attractions. We offer a range of en suite cabins, powered and unpowered sites. We are proudly a pet friendly park (conditions apply). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing