We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good Motel”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a regular visitor to Cowra who has stayed in every motel in the town over a period of years, I stay at the Alabaster as a matter of choice. I always choose a deluxe queen room since they are spacious and very quiet.

Room Tip: Deluxe queen rooms are more spacious and are located at the back of the Motel away from the Mid-West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    62
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
67
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good accommodation in general, but if you're planning on sleeping in later than around 10am during your stay beware of the noisy cleaners. They made so much noise unnecessarily chit chatting (with complete disregard for the fact that some paying customers weren't checking out) that my blood started boiling. It was so noisy it sounded like they were doing burn-outs out the front of our unit with their vacuum cleaner. It must have annoyed my elderly mother as well, who promptly opened the blinds giving the cleaners the shock of their life (perhaps they automatically assume that all their guests are travellers who don't stay more than one night). I recall just making a smart comment to the effect that we'd just came to the country to pay for peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of city life and construction works that had stationed themselves out the front of our place, and likening their lack of noise suppression to a jack hammer or aircraft noise.

Also, if you expect a decent meal here, look elsewhere. We ordered a pre-packed lunch (tuna sandwich, cake, drink, etc). What arrived stunned my mother. They had done little more than emptied a can of tuna between two pieces of bread, and nothing else was delivered. Fortunately they gave us our money back (~$12).

Final warning - If you pay up-front for accommodation on arrival and decide to stay extra nights, don't assume their computer management systems will only charge you once for the extra nights. When we checked out they charged us for the extra nights (valid) and also charged us again for the first few nights (double payment). I only spotted this by double checking the receipt manually myself. So watch out if you're a too trusting member of society or a vulnerable senior (always maintain your suspicions).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chees81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanCowra, Owner at Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that our cleaners woke you during one of the mornings that you stayed with us - however cleaning is an everyday part of a country motel, and all our cleaning is done each morning between 9.30am to 12.30pm.Our cleaners do talk to each other, and I'm not sure we could place a ban on all talking in the workplace - we may come to the attention of the Fair work commission.

The cleaners do not do burn outs with the vacuum cleaner, however it does make a noise when it is pulled along the balcony.

In regards to the pre packed lunch we apologised at the time for the mis-understanding and immediately told the lady with you that is was a mistake - the refund was done immediately.

We are training a new staff member, and she mis-understood what a pre-packed lunch package was - our mistake, and it is our policy not to charge for our mistakes.Incidentally we consider that a tuna sandwich is tuna placed between 2 slices of bread - otherwise it would have to have another name eg: tuna salad sandwich.

Your comments in regards to our accounting are somewhat stretched, as I understand the situation you booked in under another ladies name and paid for two nights, and then stayed two more nights. The lady came in and said that she would like to settle the bill - we asked if any payments had been made, and she said the full account was to be paid.We then assumed that our trainee had made a mistake with the first payment and collected full payment from the lady - you then came into the office and produced a receipt for the first payment - we apologised for the mistake and refunded your money immediately.

I know your family has stayed at the Alabaster previously and we greatly appreciate your business - sharp practices do not happen at this motel - but stuff ups can occur, for which we will apologise for again.

Regards,

Ian and Agnes
ALABASTER MOTEL
COWRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed one night passing through and were delighted to find a very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated room. The bed was lovely and comfortable, great pillows, lovely linen, and a beautifully renovated bathroom. Very large TV, sofa and table and chairs in the room. Very large terrace with beautiful country views. Unfortunately was 40 degrees, but made tolerable with the comfort of the room and aircon! Wonderful country hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms located at the back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Cook, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We travelled from Melbourne to Brisbane and stopped in Cowra to visit the Japanese Gardens. The property is currently being renovated. Our room was a family room with a Queen bed and two singles. The sheets were brand new, as were the beds and the pillows were the best I have ever slept on. The bathroom was newly renovated and very large. The room was very spacious and was spotlessly clean. The large TV was a big surprise. Air conditioning was very quiet. The room opened up onto a balcony which was nice to relax on. The manager stopped by our room to ask if the room was ok and if we needed anything. The owners should be commended on their wonderful property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceridwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights (4 days) in unit 10 at the back. Very clean rooms and plenty of space :) Very quite and great little town :) Narelle the cleaning lady was very polite and helpful :) Will be returning next year for a longer stay :) Keep up the great work :)
P.S: A sail over the pool would be great :)
Thanks Natasha

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Pleasantly surprised on entering our room (No 14 at the back) to see how spacious,clean & bonus with big TV, lounge, internal table & chairs and outside balcony w/- table and chairs. Not forgetting a lovely renovated bathroom with privacy divider between shower and toilet. Spectacular rural view - we had a storm and thankful for the undercover parking with the hail. On main road but didn't hear traffic at the back nor any neighbours - even slept in after a horrendous night before in another motel in Bathurst which cost us more. Comfort, cleanliness, price excellent and not forgetting the crisp sheets. Planning a trip back in the Autumn. Thank you Ian and Agnes!

Room Tip: Up the the back (Room 14) - only 1 side neighbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed several times at the Alabaster Motel Cowra over the last few years. We like the country views,along with the peaceful atmosphere.
Another feature is the service,along with the facilities,space and cleanliness.
When we return home we always look forward to our return trip to Cowra and the Alabaster Motel. Cowra is a good base to see the central west -we have had day trips to Grenfell, Young and Boorowa.
We enjoyed the cherries from Young.

We usually stay three days.

Room Tip: The back rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowra hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Gardens Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Cowra Services Club Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakout Motel
Breakout Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowra
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cowra Crest Motel
Cowra Crest Motel
#4 of 10 in Cowra
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cowra Motor Inn
Cowra Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Cowra
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Cowra
Country Comfort Cowra
#9 of 10 in Cowra
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel

Property: Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
Address: 20-22 Lynch St, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel - a 3 1/2 star property situated on 20-22 Lynch St.,Cowra approx 1 km east of the Post Office, offering a quiet location and friendly atmosphere with the best views in town! It is a 10 minute walk to local clubs, restaurants and shops.The motel consists of 13 rooms, 6 standard, 5 deluxe and 2, 2 bedroom units. All rooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning, electric blankets, tea/coffee making facilities, Austar, refrigerator,complimentary wireless broadband internet, direct dial phones and ironing equipment. All rooms are also non-smoking, but ashtrays have been provided in convenient locations outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing