We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nothing fancy, but very comfortable and clean. We were welcomed by the owner, very friendly and happy to help and answer any questions. We stayed In a family room, so had a second bedroom for the kids which was great.
Tea and coffee facilities, the only thing I would have liked was a toaster to make some toast in the morning. ( but you can order food although we didn't try any)
Great location on the way into town.
Lovely staff, great nights sleep, great place to stay.
Highly recommend..would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricochet742009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    62
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
67
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa Heads
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arrived after a long hot drive to be welcomed at reception by friendly owner, checkin quick, room was perfect, comfortable and clean, had a good nights sleep. Motel does offer evening meals and breakfast but we didn't try these but they seemed to be good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had a good stay. Motel isn't fancy and rooms are a bit dated but it is clean and delivered exactly what we expected. We had one of the front rooms, and while there was some road noise, it wasn't a problem. Staff were friendly and the hotel website booking system worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Using Tripadvisor reviews - as usual - we booked too nights here in November 2012. I agree with previous reviews that it is peaceful and quiet, somewhat dated - apart from the bathroom - but nice and clean and spacious. We received a lovely warm weekend from Ian who checked with us to see if the room was okay. Watch this space as I noted in the local paper that there was a building application from the motel to build some more units on this site.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which is an end room so only had neighbours on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very spacious room with a 90's feel decor wise. The bathroom has modern fittings and decor, looking freshly renovated. We only stayed the one night with our tween and 10 month old and it meet our needs perfectly as it was a comfy place to rest our heads as we were out as much as possible enjoying the town. The hotel is situated on the outer edge of the main strip so it is not within walking distance to the cafes and restaurants but only a quick drive. Room service was an option. High undercover parking is an unusual bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My Fiance and I stayed at Alabaster for 4 nights at the end of September for the long weekend as we love the country and the quiet nature of this lovely town! We stayed AGAIN in room 11, ordered our usual daily breakfasts, and spent the long weekend just taking it easy, far away from Sydney! We love Cowra, and we love how this motel is so cosy! Also, our bathroom is renovated and looks very modern!

A few minor criticisms:
- Something is wrong with the plumbing, we noticed a rather loud rattling/banging sound from above us (probably the ceiling, or within the walls, not sure) every time our adjacent guests used their shower or turned on the tap. This was super annoying as we had guests arrive late at around 10pm (which isn’t the annoying part), it’s the fact that the plumbing made a constant noise up until they finished showering and we had guests on both sides of our room and we were trying to sleep after a 4hr drive. We didn’t notice this noise last time we were here a few months ago, so something has definitely changed!
- We didn’t get refills for toilet paper during housekeeping and had to request it.
- AC didn’t work properly, we would turn it on and it didn’t seem to work. We were told we had to wait for the sensor on our last visit, but we just gave up after a few hours and turned it off. Luckily the weather was comfortable.
We spent the trip:
- cooking a few meals on our terrace with a portable gas stove we brought with us from Sydney
- wine tasting at Kalari Wines - such a lovely woman serving us, and bought their dessert wine... so addicted to it
- lunch at The Quarry Restaurant - again, love this place!
- dinner at Neila - deserving of their 1 Hat
- lunch at Burp - a cute little pink themed cafe restaurant near Woolies and Cellarbrations

Regardless of the little criticisms mentioned, we would gladly return and return to this lovely place! The undercover parking, location, friendliness of the owner, cleanliness of the rooms, TV channels, quiet little town, value for money; this all makes for a base of a perfect rural getaway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jum253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Although the property is quite old and dated, it is very clean and comfortable. The in room meal options are excellent and good value for money. The host is very friendly and helpful and the property is well located on the edge of the town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowra hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Gardens Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Cowra Services Club Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakout Motel
Breakout Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowra
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cowra Crest Motel
Cowra Crest Motel
#4 of 10 in Cowra
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Cowra
Country Comfort Cowra
#9 of 10 in Cowra
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sovereign Inn Cowra
Sovereign Inn Cowra
#8 of 10 in Cowra
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel

Property: Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
Address: 20-22 Lynch St, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel - a 3 1/2 star property situated on 20-22 Lynch St.,Cowra approx 1 km east of the Post Office, offering a quiet location and friendly atmosphere with the best views in town! It is a 10 minute walk to local clubs, restaurants and shops.The motel consists of 13 rooms, 6 standard, 5 deluxe and 2, 2 bedroom units. All rooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning, electric blankets, tea/coffee making facilities, Austar, refrigerator,complimentary wireless broadband internet, direct dial phones and ironing equipment. All rooms are also non-smoking, but ashtrays have been provided in convenient locations outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing