We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet in the Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Using Tripadvisor reviews - as usual - we booked too nights here in November 2012. I agree with previous reviews that it is peaceful and quiet, somewhat dated - apart from the bathroom - but nice and clean and spacious. We received a lovely warm weekend from Ian who checked with us to see if the room was okay. Watch this space as I noted in the local paper that there was a building application from the motel to build some more units on this site.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which is an end room so only had neighbours on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 192 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very spacious room with a 90's feel decor wise. The bathroom has modern fittings and decor, looking freshly renovated. We only stayed the one night with our tween and 10 month old and it meet our needs perfectly as it was a comfy place to rest our heads as we were out as much as possible enjoying the town. The hotel is situated on the outer edge of the main strip so it is not within walking distance to the cafes and restaurants but only a quick drive. Room service was an option. High undercover parking is an unusual bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamWark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My Fiance and I stayed at Alabaster for 4 nights at the end of September for the long weekend as we love the country and the quiet nature of this lovely town! We stayed AGAIN in room 11, ordered our usual daily breakfasts, and spent the long weekend just taking it easy, far away from Sydney! We love Cowra, and we love how this motel is so cosy! Also, our bathroom is renovated and looks very modern!

A few minor criticisms:
- Something is wrong with the plumbing, we noticed a rather loud rattling/banging sound from above us (probably the ceiling, or within the walls, not sure) every time our adjacent guests used their shower or turned on the tap. This was super annoying as we had guests arrive late at around 10pm (which isn’t the annoying part), it’s the fact that the plumbing made a constant noise up until they finished showering and we had guests on both sides of our room and we were trying to sleep after a 4hr drive. We didn’t notice this noise last time we were here a few months ago, so something has definitely changed!
- We didn’t get refills for toilet paper during housekeeping and had to request it.
- AC didn’t work properly, we would turn it on and it didn’t seem to work. We were told we had to wait for the sensor on our last visit, but we just gave up after a few hours and turned it off. Luckily the weather was comfortable.
We spent the trip:
- cooking a few meals on our terrace with a portable gas stove we brought with us from Sydney
- wine tasting at Kalari Wines - such a lovely woman serving us, and bought their dessert wine... so addicted to it
- lunch at The Quarry Restaurant - again, love this place!
- dinner at Neila - deserving of their 1 Hat
- lunch at Burp - a cute little pink themed cafe restaurant near Woolies and Cellarbrations

Regardless of the little criticisms mentioned, we would gladly return and return to this lovely place! The undercover parking, location, friendliness of the owner, cleanliness of the rooms, TV channels, quiet little town, value for money; this all makes for a base of a perfect rural getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jum253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Although the property is quite old and dated, it is very clean and comfortable. The in room meal options are excellent and good value for money. The host is very friendly and helpful and the property is well located on the edge of the town.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank SydneyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked in for a night with the wife recenly and was pleasantly surprised. Stayed in a nice deluxe queen room at the back of the motel and had a lovely rural outlook. The room itself was quiet , clean and roomy with a huge tele, queen bed, microwave, mid sized fridge and a fully pressurized shower. Had a lovely home cooked meal brought to the room for dinner and it was a huge serving and very tasty. No problem encountered whatsoever. The gentleman at the front desk was helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room at the rear of the motel as they have a lovely view and have minimal highway tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I have just returned home after spending a night in this motel.
On check in, which was about 2pm and way early, we were warmly greeted by the owner who showed us to our room. Surprisingly, an upgraded room too. The room (#9) was LARGE and very comfortable. It had one queen sized bed and 2 singles. It was quite cold outside but the quiet air-conditioner warmed us up quickly. The large flat screen TV entertained us with a vast array of channels. The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean.
Later we ordered our evening meal and it was delivered smack on the agreed time. It was absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Outside the back of the room there is a large undercover car parking area with plenty of room to manouver, which was handy because we were towing a trailer. Out the front of the room there is a balcony area, shared with other rooms.
We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay....would we stay again? Definitely.
Well Done Alabaster Motel, Cowra. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room from #8 to #14. They're bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMoruya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We chose this motel on our way to and from the snowy mountains. It is very clean and tidy and the owners are very helpful. We found this motel very comfortable and in a convenient location enroute to/from the snow.

Room Tip: The rooms around the back are large 2 bedroom family rooms with surprisingly lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisyWisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowra hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Gardens Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Cowra Services Club Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakout Motel
Breakout Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowra
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cowra Crest Motel
Cowra Crest Motel
#4 of 10 in Cowra
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Cowra
Country Comfort Cowra
#9 of 10 in Cowra
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cowra Motor Inn
Cowra Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Cowra
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel

Address: 20-22 Lynch St, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cowra
Price Range: $74 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel - a 3 1/2 star property situated on 20-22 Lynch St.,Cowra approx 1 km east of the Post Office, offering a quiet location and friendly atmosphere with the best views in town! It is a 10 minute walk to local clubs, restaurants and shops.The motel consists of 13 rooms, 6 standard, 5 deluxe and 2, 2 bedroom units. All rooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning, electric blankets, tea/coffee making facilities, Austar, refrigerator,complimentary wireless broadband internet, direct dial phones and ironing equipment. All rooms are also non-smoking, but ashtrays have been provided in convenient locations outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing