We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have fun with friends and family! We will be back again!”

Eucumbene Trout Farm
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Cooma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eucumbene Trout Farm has a Cafe, Farm Tours and Fishing Experiences. The farm is a working trout farm also with Highland cattle and Alpacas. They have a privately stocked Stony lake for fishing with fly rod or rod to fish for your trout. Should you not be successful then you are welcome to advance your luck in the sure catch pond. You then have the choice of staff preparing the trout for cooking on the barbecues and having lunch in their picnic area or taking the trout home. A great day out for the family. Four hour sessions are available by arrangement. Beginner's introductory lessons can be included if required. All rods, reels, landing nets and bait/flies are supplied.Guided tours of the farm are available at 10am and 2pm, or other times by arrangement. The farm focuses on sustainability and water management and is accredited by Ecotourism Australia
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Highly recommend going when weather is sunny as the trout are more keen to take the bait. Had the opportunity to cook and eat fresh trout on site... this experience was amazing! In addition, the owners were very helpful in returning my spectacles which I accidentally left on site. Thank you once again for this enjoyable day trip!

Thank celery28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thank you, we think fresh is best and with pond to plate it is that, while hooking can be an exciting challenge cooking is a joy.

Love to see you again.

Peter and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trout"
in 55 reviews
"salad"
in 15 reviews
"take home"
in 6 reviews
"caught fish"
in 5 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 4 reviews
"fishing experience"
in 3 reviews
"on site"
in 6 reviews
"hot chips"
in 4 reviews
"within minutes"
in 3 reviews
"alpaca burger"
in 3 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"pate"
in 2 reviews
"large lake"
in 2 reviews
"lovely hosts"
in 2 reviews
"great family activity"
in 2 reviews
"helpful tips"
in 2 reviews
"fresh fish"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

What a great place! One teenager oh-hummed about getting of the car but was hooked!! The dare hasn’t been fulfilled yet tho- no one ate the fish eye! We’ll come again and stay longer - the fish like to get on a line in the morning!! Thanks Karen and Peter

Thank kazza651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Thanks Kazaa, the kids love to learn and eat those eyes! Hope to see you again soon.

Peter and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

Had a good time with my family. My 8 year old girl enjoyed running around and she was so excited to see baby trout. It was such a lovely day. We arrived in the morning and had lunch there. Peter was showing us around and cooked hot chip for us. We didn't fish this time just had lunch and a little picnic. We plan to go back again. I would love to catch a big trout for the BBQ. It would be so nice and fresh.. On the way back we stopped the car and took photos of cows... The whole experience was amazing, simple but fun

Thank May W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

May, we loved having you and hope to see you again. A tour, hook and cook a trout is what we are about. While Trout can be whilley to hook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

We found the visit to the farm to be good fun. Not only did we catch a rainbow trout but it was prepared for us to cook on the bbq and to eat for lunch along with salad and chips. Altogether a good day out.

Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Hi Stephen, I think the trout you hook and cook always tastes the best. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Peter and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

I can’t rate the Trout Farm on the Trout Farm experience as we didn’t do a tour or fish. We ate lunch at the cafe and found the food to be fabulous. I’m coeliac and the owner accommodated me with every aspect for a gluten free meal. All our food was enjoyable.

Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thankyou Gina, the cafe is offering a nice alternate for those who do not necessarily wish to fish, so we loved that you enjoyed your visit.

Peter and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eucumbene Trout Farm also viewed

 

Been to Eucumbene Trout Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing