We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trout fishing”

Eucumbene Trout Farm
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Cooma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eucumbene Trout Farm has a Cafe, Farm Tours and Fishing Experiences. The farm is a working trout farm also with Highland cattle and Alpacas. They have a privately stocked Stony lake for fishing with fly rod or rod to fish for your trout. Should you not be successful then you are welcome to advance your luck in the sure catch pond. You then have the choice of staff preparing the trout for cooking on the barbecues and having lunch in their picnic area or taking the trout home. A great day out for the family. Four hour sessions are available by arrangement. Beginner's introductory lessons can be included if required. All rods, reels, landing nets and bait/flies are supplied.Guided tours of the farm are available at 10am and 2pm, or other times by arrangement. The farm focuses on sustainability and water management and is accredited by Ecotourism Australia
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed February 8, 2018

A fun and informative introduction to trout fishing.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Karen and Peter. You can take a tour which provides a great understanding of the challenges of trout farming and its history as well as helpful tips on catching your own.
When you catch trout they can prepare it for you to BBQ and the cafe provides the perfect accompaniments to enjoy your catch.
The smoked trout Pate is delicious!

Thank RichnHour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Thankyou, of course our award winning smoked trout is pretty good too! For next time, and we would love to welcome you again.

The January heat wave was a huge challenge to trout fishing while persistence was rewarded, as you achieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trout"
in 55 reviews
"salad"
in 15 reviews
"take home"
in 6 reviews
"caught fish"
in 5 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 4 reviews
"fishing experience"
in 3 reviews
"on site"
in 6 reviews
"hot chips"
in 4 reviews
"within minutes"
in 3 reviews
"alpaca burger"
in 3 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"pate"
in 2 reviews
"large lake"
in 2 reviews
"lovely hosts"
in 2 reviews
"great family activity"
in 2 reviews
"helpful tips"
in 2 reviews
"fresh fish"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2018

Great way to catch trout and the staff are friendly and helpful. While a catch is not guaranteed despite "Sure Catch Pond" everything you need is provided including ongoing tips and hints for better trout fishing and they clean your catch ready for the bbq. we caught 4 trout in about 3 1/2 hours and i don't think I have ever tasted any fish as good as trout caught only half hour before eating. lots of room for kids to run around and explore. my only suggestion would be more covered areas for sun protection

Thank jillhourigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Hi Jill,

Thankyou for your review. The heat wave conditions have made catching the cold water trout more challenging and catching 4 is a great outcome.

We would love to see you again and maybe have a go at the lake, in milder weather. We note our shaded areas are to benefit the trout!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

These guys are awesome nothing was too much trouble awesome service great food and A1 facilities the best trout experience around great tuition and they come and check on you all the time to make sure everything is going good prepared the fish for the BBQ and nothing was too much trouble like going to visit family very good
Experience for my sons first trout

Thank DBJbJb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

We enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Thankyou for taking the time to do this review.

Peter and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

Thank you very much for making a once in a lifetime memory - the first ever catch!

A great location and beautiful venue in the mountains, we all had a wonderful day. Especially the kids.

Thank Fliss9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

We love that you enjoyed your visit and would love to see you again. Thankyou for taking the time to do this.

Peter and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

It was great to provide our young son with an opportunity to fish. The hot weather makes catching a fish a little challenging: even in the sure catch tank. You should not that the owners can’t do anything about this. For me the demeanour of the hosts is a little unfriendly. If you want your kids to catch a fish head here in winter

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucumbenetroutfarm, General Manager at Eucumbene Trout Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

These heat wave conditions has made trout fishing very challenging generally and the farm is not exempt, while every effort is being made to manage this positively. This may have rubbed off on us, clearly not intended.

We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eucumbene Trout Farm also viewed

 

Been to Eucumbene Trout Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing