We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy & clean!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Motel Tours
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Very cosy & clean!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night when I was on my way to Thredbo. It was a lovely property, nice and warm/cosy. The heater was on in the room when I arrived which was great seeings it was -5deg. outside.
The owners where lovely. I didnt arrive until about 9pm on a Friday night and they were still up in the bar so my partner and I could have a drink.
The common room was great as well, there was a fireplace, pool table and a ping pong table.
For a budget property I thought it was fantastic!! You get what you pay for but at this place you get a little bit more.
I work as a travel agent so seeing a nice 2.5star property being at such great standards - it was very pleasing.

Room Tip: Room 3 had beautiful views in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 441Emma1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
24
25
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at the high country motel on a number if occasions, over the years. We have used the motel as a place to crash on our way to the snow and also as a home while in Cooma. The family and staff are always very accommodating, whether your arriving late (midnight) or earlier during the day, they always make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean, comfortable, with good bathroom facilities, large TV and comfortable bedding. The location of the motel is great if you are traveling to the snow, as it is on the southern side of cooma, so you can avoid the town during the early morning dash, but still very close to the town centre.
We have always been very happy with the motel, will continue to stay and recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay here. The views are excellent and the proprietor is very friendly and helpful. Though the rooms and bar area need updating, this is reflected in the price and the whole place is very clean, with fresh towels and bags of hot water to go around.
Cooma itself is a lovely little town and the motel is situated close enough to the nearby ski resorts to make it an economical and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The views were great from room 7 (and any numbers in that block 1-9).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The High Country Motel is ALWAYS our first choice of staying for a couple of nights before driving down to the snow, its close to town and convient has everything we need to enjoy the night before moving on. The times i have stayed here i must have been lucky or just really hard of hearing cause the neighbours seem more like bliss then the noise i hear every morning in my city apartment.
The manager Joo- Siew is one of the most friendliest hosts which is probably a big part of why we do love coming back here. If your looking for a reasonably priced motel which gives you the basics of a warm room with all the amenities and aren't to precious, I definitely recommend on staying here.

Shanagh Nahona

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanagh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here on the way to the snow and would definitely not stay here again. The room was outdated and did not feel clean, the walls were paper thin and all we could hear through the night was the guy in the room next door coughing his lungs up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cooma hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife, 11 & 14yo daughters, and myself stayed here overnight as part of a 10-day road-trip. This was easily the worst place we stayed at the entire time.

Room was very, very old. Carpet was worn through to the floor in places. Curtains were torn. Windows had mould growing in the corners. Bed extremely saggy. Not sure when they were built , maybe the 1960's, but clearly they haven't been touched since then. To make it worse, this was the most expensive room we paid for in the entire trip!!

They noted they have a 40-inch TV in the room when we booked. Which would be great if you could get reception - but not a single channel worked! And you could use either the electric blankets or the bedside lamps - but not both, as there were not enough power plugs...

Its a huge shame, as they have an outstanding location with amazing views. But I would never stay there again - it needs to be knocked down and started again with decent rooms, especially for what they charge. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CGradeCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the room and service was decent, but you could hear everything people were saying in the next room.

Good location easy to get into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sez0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooma hotels
1.4 mi away
Cooma Motor Lodge Motel
0.6 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cooma
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Manor Motel
White Manor Motel
#2 of 10 in Cooma
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alkira Motel
Alkira Motel
#4 of 10 in Cooma
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nebula Motel
Nebula Motel
#1 of 10 in Cooma
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bunkhouse Motel
Bunkhouse Motel
#9 of 10 in Cooma
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Motel Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Motel Tours

Property: High Country Motel Tours
Address: 12 Chapman St, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Motel Tours 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your High Country Motel Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing