We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and quiet”
Review of Nebula Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nebula Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and quiet”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Just an overnight stay and knowing highway traffic noise chose Nebula as it is more than a block away. I asked for roadside association discount which was immediately offered.

This is a typical drive to the door - all rooms on ground floor - type motel. Our room had a QS and single bed with a small table with 2 chairs plus a desk + chair, cupboard, luggage space and fridge. Sounds big but all this fits into a tight but functional space. The bathroom had a large shower (great big shower head with good pressure). The room seems to have been recently refurbished doing a good job with what you have to work with. A good sized flat screen TV is provided.

The host is a jovial fellow with lots of stories if you take the time to engage.

Worst points - harder bed than I like and a rattley old air-con.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
45
54
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here one night. Not cheap, in fact $125 direct with motel, a little overpriced. Check in good, pleasant owner. The motel was probably built in the 70's, like most in Cooma. Advertised as a boutique hotel, not really. Some nice touches with furnishing, but really small room and bathroom. It was all very clean which was good. We had a Queen bed, hard, not real comfortable. Water pressure in shower poor, due to very large shower head. The owners have tried hard to create something out of nothing. Breakfast to room around $13 for a hot dish, reasonable. Walking distance to clubs and town. Probably the pick of Cooma Hotels though. I would rate it average to good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This motel was very clean and comfortable. We were looking for a reasonable motel where we could walk into town with our child and we found it at the Nebula. Reception was very friendly and we will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyrastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Was looking for a comfortable motel in town, away from traffic noise without blowing the budget. Was very pleased with the outcome. Greeting at reception was very friendly and helpful. Plenty of advice on town dining and services, offered to book ahead for restaurant. Fresh milk provided for coffee. Rang afterwards to advise of paperwork left behind to collect on return through town. Room was very neat although a bit compact for a 3 adult family. Bathroom recently made over and to a very good standard for a non-luxury motel. Free wifi - watch your children don't consume the 25M download limit! Heating was effective. This will now be my preferred motel if stopping over ... And they charged below the advertised tariff even before the NRMA discount! Maybe not a bonus to be expected always :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five recently stayed at the Nebula motel in Cooma and I have to say it was the best accommodation we have stayed at for a very long time. The managers went out of their way to provide excellent service, information and local knowledge of the town's amenities including great family friendly restaurants, parks and even the best fishing locations for my husband. The rooms were spacious (even with the port-a-cot provided), clean, comfortable and quiet. Our breakfast was hot, on time and great value for money (the option of perculated coffee was a nice extra).Being so close to the centre of town we were able to walk everywhere with the children.
As we are regular visitors to the nearby snow fields we will definitely be staying at the Nebula again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of five recently stayed at the Nebula motel in Cooma and I have to say it was the best accommodation we have stayed at for a very long time. The managers went out of their way to provide excellent service, information and local knowledge of the town's amenities including great family friendly restaurants, parks and even the best fishing locations for my husband. The rooms were spacious (even with the port-a-cot provided), clean, comfortable and quiet. Our breakfast was hot, on time and great value for money (the option of perculated coffee was a nice extra).Being so close to the centre of town we were able to walk everywhere with the children.
As we are regular visitors to the nearby snow fields we will definitely be staying at the Nebula again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Nebula for three nights. We were very impressed. The décor was lovely and the bed was super comfortable.All areas of the motel were spotlessly clean. The staff is the biggest seller of the motel. They can not do enough for you. I have found staff in bigger name hotels to be seriously lacking but can not say enough good things about every single staff member here. It is unlikely we will ever stay in another motel when passing through or visiting Cooma. Position only a minutes walk from main street with lots of restaurants, bars and shops. We even received fresh plunger coffee and a pot of tea (real tea leaves) on arrival!
Would not find better motel any where with a 3 1/2 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooma hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#4 of 10 in Cooma
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cooma Motor Lodge Motel
0.8 mi away
White Manor Motel
White Manor Motel
#1 of 10 in Cooma
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alkira Motel
Alkira Motel
#3 of 10 in Cooma
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kinross Inn
Kinross Inn
#2 of 8 in Cooma
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Inn Cooma
Sovereign Inn Cooma
#1 of 8 in Cooma
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nebula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nebula Motel

Property: Nebula Motel
Address: 42 Bombala St, Cooma, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nebula Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nebula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing