We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dinner, Great Atmosphere”
Review of Coogee Legion Club

Coogee Legion Club
Ranked #23 of 117 Restaurants in Coogee
Neighborhood: Coogee
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Coogee
Reviewed January 25, 2019

We stayed in Coogee for one night for a medical appointment. We wandered into the Legion Club and decided to stay for dinner. We sat in a covered verandah with views of the street outside and the evening ocean beyond. The food was wonderful, oysters were amazing for these inland country bumpkins and the service was fast and friendly. The atmosphere was really nice all over the club, it felt like we were in our own little club back home. We can't wait to come back for those oysters!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank RainyDayGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2019

You won't get much better value for money in Coogee - or Sydney for that matter - and it comes with a balcony view that's just as good. The welcome is warm, the ambience cool and comfy, and the food is as tasty and reasonably priced as you will find in Coogee. What's more, if you sign up as a member there's money off your bill. What more could you ask for?

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

We have visited the Legion Club plenty of times as my family live in the area. Each time we have been we've found the place to have lots of friendly locals and some who don't mind having a chat after a few beers! We haven't eaten there, although a family member has and said the meals were nice. The drinks are reasonably priced, nothing too exorbitant just the usual fare.

Like any club there are rules that should be adhered to but nothing too stringent, just make sure you have photo ID to gain entry. At 6pm each evening the lights dim and a minutes' silence is observed in regard to servicemen and women. All patrons must face west and pay respect.

Overall it's a fairly relaxed place with a great view of Coogee Beach. If you are in Coogee and want to do as the locals do then this club deserves a visit. It makes a nice change and is a little different to the other venues around this area.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019

We were staying with friends in Coogee and wanted to take them out for dinner so tried this place out. Got a balcony table as requested .Service was prompt meal choices good. It is very noisy and food standard across our table varied from great to tasteless.Dont think we will be back.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

A club with rules but with a friendly atmosphere of locals and visitors. A club to have a cool drink and a restaurant with tasty food. Sit on the balcony with a million dollar view overlooking hoards of beach goers and tourist flocking the many eateries surrounding the club.Just a half hour to the Airport and the city , this place called Coogee is heaven.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coogee Legion Club also viewed

 
Coogee, Randwick
 
Coogee, Randwick
Coogee, Randwick
 

Been to Coogee Legion Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing