We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specials not so special”

Brasserie at Coogee Bay Hotel
Ranked #50 of 96 Restaurants in Coogee
Cuisines: African, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Coogee
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Specials not so special”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was after the $15 rump steak which ended up costing me $23 because I wanted gravy and vegetables. Gravy was $2 and vegetables which consited of brocoli was $7! It turns out they added vegetables onto the chips and what they called a salad which was baby spinach leaves with a dressing. Well at least I got my greens that night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    56
    34
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for beer garden casual dining”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The CBH is an iconic destination in Sydney. Sat out with friends in the beer garden for a long lunch with a couple of beers. The crowd was mixed with a few tourists and mostly locals.
It was a perfect sunny winters day so the colour of the beach was absolutely amazing. The food options were quite varied and are really an upmarket bistro style.
The only negative was the length of time that it took to line up and order lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

During our 3 week stay in Coogee in April we must have eaten here at least 6 times, both on our own and with extended family, including a 2 year old. We were staying a few doors away so having such a great place on our doorstep was a bonus. There was great beer battered fish & chips, my personal favourite of baramundi fish, the pulled pork was to die for, huge burgers or great salads and healthy meals - such a great selection with an added 'Specials' board every day. All this and the added bonus of being able to eat in the restaurant or out in the sunshine ! Also at night the outside space is under heated shades for those chilly nights. All this with a brilliant bar added a great atmosphere whatever time of day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaytee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“great service great food”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I just went to the coogee bay for the first time this weekend. Coming from Queensland I found the amenities amazing, right close to the beach. But my greater surprise was the food. I was expecting the usual pub grub but instead what I had was pleasantly surprising. We order the coogee platter which showcases a bit of everything and enjoyed every piece of it. Will definitely come back :) Staff on the floor were also very nice and pleasant not the usual pub staff always in a hurry and not caring about customers. Thumbs up

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bit fawlty towers”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Decent food, quite chilly inside. Service is friendly but disorganised, forgetting coffees, misunderstandings around meals. Not bad though overall.

Helpful?
Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie at Coogee Bay Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie at Coogee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing