We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but I choose the wrong meal!”
Review of Renato's - CLOSED

Renato's
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Coogee
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice but I choose the wrong meal!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Service was good we had a table of 4. As soon as we sat down we realised it was BYO so we went next door to purchase a bottle of wine. Entrée and mains were nice but I have had better italian food. Check your bill before you pay as we were charged two extra adults for corkage plus an entrée which we did not have. In saying this as soon as we identified the discrepancy it was not a problem to fix.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family and I had two great meals here recently. Very friendly staff, good food and on both occasions we were even treated to an extra dessert, with the chef bringing out a fruit salad on the first occasion, and on the second an amazing chocolate-covered pizza! Our kids loved it and I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteinlondon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place for breakfast”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

we had a regular group here for over 4 years. breakfast is great and the staff always made it fun. if you are in the area check it out

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunnyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fast and friendly”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is my first choice when I stay in Coogie. Authentic Italian dishes adapted to the Australian palate. The helpful service will adapt the menu and will always find you a seat. My favourites are spaghetti with Vongole and steak with peppercorn sauce. The Sangiovese wine is cheap and very tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good food and BYOB”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

this is a small cafe, but the service and food are above average. There are two other Italian spots across the street that are more expensive and have a better ambiance, but I liked the local flavor.
(it has been there for 15 years). I really liked the BYOB option. There is a wonderful wine and beer shop next door, called the Bottle Shop. go next door, grab a refreshment and take it to Renatos. $3.00 corkage is a bargain. Sit on the sidewalk table and watch the world walk by in front of you.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinogringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renato's also viewed

 
Coogee, Randwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing