We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, little relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dive Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, little relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

a great little relaxing hotel, with great friendly down to earth staff and pets. Centrally located in coogee, close to the beach and CBH. Will always stay there whilst in coogee

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParadiseCityJetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    96
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
39
125
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

During my trip to Oz to visit my son and daughter who live in Sydney, we decided to stay in Coogee for a couple of nights to do the Coogee to Bondi walk (which was fab) and visit friends. I decided that as I hadn't seen them for a long time I would spoil them so chose the Dive hotel as it was described as a small boutique hotel and in my book "boutique" means fairly luxurious and very comfortable, something a bit special. I specifically chose the Ocean View Room as it was described as having a spare bed and that the room could sleep 3, giving my son the option to stay with us if he so wished. At $290 per night I had high expectations.
We arrived at the hotel, buzzed in, had to walk down a long corridor to the reception area/kitchen, lugging our cases with no offer of help, and told to "mind the dogs". We asked about parking and were very surprised to be told parking in the hotel carpark is $20 per night. (making the room now $310 per night.) We were then shown to our room which was a large, light room with indeed a sea view (albeit across a busy main road) and a king size bed, And that's where the accuracy of the description on the website finished. The extra bed was an uncomfortable sofa bed - use of which was charged at extra $45 per night!
The decor was plain and slightly grubby looking - needing a coat of paint, and the tiny balcony was littered with a dirty pizza box. The towels were small, not very white and hard. The toileteries were basic and cheap. My son chose not to stay and the disappointment on all our faces was apparent. My daughter enquired at reception about cancelling our second night and was told there was a five day cancellation policy. We were very "down" but decided we may as well make the most of it and go out for the evening (can recommend Tango Cafe)
Then in the morning we had the breakfast treat! When paying $300 one expects a reasonable breakfast, laid tables and someone to bring you tea or coffee? Wrong. The dining room was no more than a backpackers help-yourself, canteen style kitchen where you had to find things for yourself with no more than bread, cereal and tinned fruit and yoghurt. When you opened the fridge an alarm set off until you closed it! We didn't bother - had to buy our breakfast back in the Tango Cafe. Whilst getting ready for the day I glanced through an information book where I found a notice stating "If you need to leave a day or so earlier than expected please inform us before 9am or you may be charged for another night". Not the same information we'd been given the previous evening! After some discussion the owner to his credit finally agreed to a refund.
We were very pleased to check out and will most definitely not be back.
The "Dive" is quite an accurate name!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabeGeorges, Owner at Dive Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
We have been expecting this review.

Though we would willingly have given the refund, our staff were given extra incentive.
It went something like this: “ if you don’t give us a refund, we will write a bad review”

For a more balanced view of the Dive, see the previous review:

“Perfect place to stay after a long flight...”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Well designed, comfortable boutique hotel right by the beach in coogee. Great breakfast followed by a walk along the beautiful coastal path - perfect after a 22 hour flight.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally_N-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I've stayed in the Dive Hotel last week and had a wonderful stay. The owners of this place definitely understand what travellers need. Unlike in some big chain hotels, the staff here is genuinely nice and don’t try to lick your butt. What you see is what you get. Nice atmosphere in the common room with such a great variety of tea and coffee at all time. I appreciated the extras in the room like kitchenette and hairdryer. The only negative things I could find about this hotel is the size of the bathroom which didn’t really bother me, and maybe the view to a wall but when there is only 50m to walk to the beach… The location is definitely a plus! Thanks to Mercy’s advice, I got to discover more of the Coogee area which is such a wonderful place to wonder.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed here one Saturday night and our first impressions were very positive. The building and its fit out is comfortable and simple, with a friendly and relaxed vibe. Our room was a king bed upstairs on the south side, Room No 26. It has a small bathroom which works quite well and the King bed was just right. However, our good start spiraled downward during the night as a loud drunken karioke party in the block of flats next door got into full swing and continued until 4am. Unfortunately there seemed to be no-one on duty at the hotel to contact the police - as the party was breaking noise restriction laws. This completely spoiled our visit as we had paid $AUS 200 for the experience. Upon informing the hotel staff in the morning, they seemed relatively helpless - although they did seem to have had previous experience with that sort of event. Noise is definitely the problem at this place.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattDali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

we stayed at the dive for 2 nights in november. the hotel was very nice and the staff lovely. there were a couple of downsides for us. we had an oceanview room and i think it was very overpriced for what you got. it had a tiny ensuite and balcony and was very noisy the 2 nights we stayed. there is a pub next door so I suppose this was to be expected. The breakfast in the morning was free but just toast and cereal etc, it was a bit strange sitting with others with no one talking! The location was fantastic for a beach holiday. also my husband is still talking about the brazilian restaurant we found in the main strip!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caramel1959
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

It's an old building, but it's been done up very well. My friend and I had a room with a king bed and a king single. Bathroom is really small, but very clean. There was coffee/tea making, microwave and small fridge in room. Brekky was laid on in a communal kitchen from 7am - 12 midday, toast, cereal, juice, and any type of coffee/tea you could imagine. Coupled with super helpful staff and a few resident pets (lovely George!!), it was just like a family home but bigger! Location - close to buses, pubs, club (good lobster at the Coogee Diggers for $30/half!). A great deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caramel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Hotel

Property: Dive Hotel
Address: 234 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coogee
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it's a Sydney beach hotel you're after, there's none better located than Dive Hotel. It's 20 minutes drive from Sydney Airport and the City. It's a door-to-door bus ride away to the City, Opera House,NSW Uni, Randwick Racecourse, Aussie Stadium, and Cricket Ground.And it's a frisbee throw away to parks and pools, clifftop walks and Coogee's thriving restaurant, pub, club and cafe culture. It featured in Travel & Leisure USA, Conde Nast Traveler, NY Times,Time Out, Lonely Planet, London Observer and Guardian.Surf the net to your heart's content, thanks to free Wi-Fi. It's just one of the practical things that a Dive room provides. No expensive mini-bar, but a well-equipped kitchenette, with a fridge, microwave, tea, coffee and milk etc. There's free-to-air cable television, and a portable CD player. All rooms have aircon and a state-of-the-art stainless steel and blue tiled bathroom with a decent-sized hairdryer and a grown-up iron and board.Please note that there are 2 dogs on hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dive Hotel Coogee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing