We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coogee Beach House

Coogee Beach House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coogee Beach House
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Budget Alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Coogee Beach House is all you need in a budget hostel. Having never really done the hostel thing and being in my late 20's, I was a bit dubious about booking a hostel with images of 18 years olds partying until dawn, commandeering the kitchen and basically being a rendition of my University days, but I was pleasantly surprised with what Coogee Beach had to offer. Okay so as a general rule of thumb, it is more for the younger traveler and did to some extent remind me of student halls, but for the older traveler, if you are looking for a cheaper alternative for accommodation, this is definitely probably one of the better hostels for peace and quiet. Parties aren't actually allowed here - if you are young and looking for the 'proper' hostel experience, you may want to check out one of the other hostels in the area if partying is your thing.

This hostel is very clean - I was extremely impressed! The communal bathrooms are immaculate - this was probably one of my biggest fears - and so is the kitchen. Breakfast is included with bread for toast and cereal that you make yourself and complimentary tea and coffee. The kitchen is also well stocked.

I had a private, twin room which to my surprise had a TV so if the common room (which is very homely and a good space) is too much for you, you can seek the haven of your room no problem. The room was small, but very clean with the standard 1960's carpet and bunk beds with one or two springs digging their way into the night (it's no dreams mattress!), but for a budget hostel it is exactly what it says on the tin and was more than adequate for my first 2 weeks in Sydney.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Pam who was happy to answer my questions about bus routes etc. She even let me store my luggage there when waiting to move into my new place.

The only thing I would say is that it was very cold in the rooms. I arrived at the end of winter (August) and found myself digging through my suitcase for extra clothing at night. There aren't heaters in the room but extra blankets are available on request and if you go in the winter I would suggest an extra blanket! There is no free WiFi which can be annoying but you can purchase vouchers from the front desk which you do not have to use in one go.

You can't beat the location. It is a stones throw away from the beach, which is gorgeous and around a 5 minute walk to Coogee Bay Road which hosts lots of coffee shops. Walk straight up Coogee Bay Road and you come to Randwick which has more shops. Take a left at the top of Coogee Bay Road onto Perouse Road then onto St Paul's street and you'll find bars and restaurants and an old fashioned cinema that I love! It is also excellent for buses. Take the 373, 372 from the crossroads of Arden street and Coogee Bay Road (2 minutes from the hostel) into CBD (City centre) and Circular Quay (for Sydney opera House) or 313, 314 for Bondi Junction.

If you are looking for a cheaper alternative to a hotel and aren't overly fussy then Coggee Beach House can give you all you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pip28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
9
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Place was clean and tidy, including the shared bathrooms. Friendly and helpful management. No drinking policy which I appreciated. Great location right next to the beach. On the down side, my room was right next to a bathroom with a fibro wall which was disturbing to sleep. Also, being an older style building the noise of talking and music from other bedrooms really travels and kept me awake well after midnight. Not airconditioned and only one thin blanket on the bed so I got a bit cold. I was also curious that the room was 'approved' (according to the official notice on the back of the door) for one person but was clearly set up for two people with bunk beds. Being in my 50's I think I'm not up to this style of accomodation any more but the younger back packers seemed to be enjoying the place. Not for an older dood like me.

Room Tip: ask for a room that isn't right next to a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July. Had a private room with my girlfriend. It was slightly small and the blankets seemed slightly dirty. Bathrooms were clean though but beware if you shower at night, it gets really cold during winter. Shared kitchen was well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for a week when travelling and it has to be one of the best hostels in Sydney to stay. It is like a little community and you can make great friends here as a lot of people stay here for a long time and is great if you are working as well. Free breakfast every morning with tea toast and cereal and there are female and male dorm rooms. Only a minute away from stunning Coogee beach and there is a bus stop just opposite McDonalds to take you into central Sydney. I would defiantly recommend this place for a more chilled out atmosphere with partying at the weekend and it beats those chain hostels any day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here last week when coming to meet friends already booked into the place, and was really glad i did. I arrived late on my own, and found an envalope with my name on it and key at reception. My room was spacious and clean, & full of 5 long stay girls who immediately made me feel welcome and gave me a quick tour even tho they had all been reading in bed! The bathrooms are great- very clean, and big, and actually resemble bathrooms you get in your house (not seperate toilet/shower which annoys me). The beach and strip of cafes/restaurants/bars/shops is a 2 second walk away, and the ones we visited it friendly cheerful staff and good food. The bus service is regular, lasts till the small hours, and was efficient which made returning from a night out a breeze. Rooms have tv's, mirrors, and theres a nice veranda at the back which gets the sun as well as a large modern and well equipped lounge. Didn't use the kitchen but it was again very clean looking, and full of everything you'd need. Couldn't recommend the place enough for anyone wanting a smaller, quieter base for their visit or looking for long-stay. The only downside was the internet/wifi. You have to pay for bursts which for anyone travelling for a year isn't so great. Over all great experience and hope to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garlic_prawn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend ended up staying here for 10 nights, we shared a twin room which was small but ok, room was kept very clean and so was the rest of the hostel. There is a free breakfast between 08:30-10:00 of cereal and toast which is very handy when you are in a travellers budget!
There is a nice common room which is cleaned daily and is a great place to meet other travellers, hostel staff on the whole are very friendly and especially Daniel who was friendly and always happy to go out his way to be helpful.
Great location right by coogee beach and near to shops bars and restaurants, if I could make one suggestion it was be nice if there was some soap in the toilets and maybe some hand towels, otherwise very pleased with our stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everynamebeentaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A modest hostel just meters from the beach in Coogee, the Beach House has small quiet rooms that are clean and convenient. The location is excellent for the many cafes and facilities of Coogee. Parking can be tricky as the surrounding area is 2 hour parking only. You'll find all day a few minutes walk away. Facilities in the hostel are modest, but most importantly clean and functional. TV did not work. Wifi is extra. A frugal free breakfast from 8:30am is offered. I suggest you get out and enjoy the area and only return to fall into bed.

Room Tip: Road can be noisy so ask to be up the back. Would not trust the lock on the door. You can ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coogee hotels
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Beach House

Property: Coogee Beach House
Address: 171 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Coogee Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing