We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pizza was superb”
Review of Farinha

Farinha
Ranked #13 of 96 Restaurants in Coogee
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Coogee
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Pizza was superb”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't eat cheese or gluten products by choice, but I really felt like pizza. We liked the vibe and entered. We were approached by a friendly staff member, she recommended the patate & pancetta (Italian) white based pizza as it was delicious. The crust was perfect, I loved the saltiness of the pancetta, it was complemented beautifully by the rosemary. It was a nice change to have a light pizza void of oiliness and overpowering tomato sauce based flavours. We were given a tour of the restaurant to view the paintings on the walls. Overall the service was awesome and so was the pizza. We will definitely be back to explore the menu further.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Delicious food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm Italian and I can say is the best food in Sydney. I've been three times, I got very impresive!!!Especially when the tattoo chef is cooking...extraordinary pasta!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Landucii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Plenty of food but quality varied”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Service was great, Pizza is good but the pasta was not cooked properly and sauces that went with them did not impress me. Some pasta dishes lacked flavour and pasta was doughy. Pizzas however were great and very thin and crispy bases. Need to look at Bar prices as $7.50 for a beer is a bit excessive for this type of restaurant. Would recommend if you were really hungry but there are better Italian restaurants around if you want quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichandLou720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Its not until you are seated that you find out its a set menu, and whilst $35 a head doesn't sound too expensive it is for the quantity and frequency of servings. Its meant to be all you can eat, but if the waiter doesn't come near you how can you eat? We were ignored all night. Drinks are a little overpriced as well. Will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stumbled into this little place on a layover enroute from Alice Springs to Fiji. And we stumbled into the best meal of our entire month-long holiday!

The food is superb, particularly the pizzas and salads, and the staff are extremely friendly. Paradoxically, there was lots of choice despite the lack of menu with dishes constantly circulating and we felt no pressure to accept things we did not want. Both our children (age 6 and 3) ate for free and had a pizza with less adventurous toppings made for them.

The restaurant is somewhat noisy, due to the brick walls, but it's more of a lively background din than a feeling of listening to other people's conversations. The seating is also unusual with long tables running the entire length of the downstairs area. We had a pair of empty seats between us and our neighbours on one side and a small gap on the other side. I've been in restaurants with supposedly separate tables and been closer to other diners but admittedly if the restaurant were full it might be a little cozy for less social types.

Overall, this was a unique dining experience for this Canuck family and a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farinha also viewed

 
Coogee, Randwick
 

Been to Farinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing