We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Supper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of X74 Cafe Restaurant

X74 Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Coogee
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Popped in for supper, really great food prepared and served by fantastic staff. An unassuming restaurant tucked away in the backstreets of Coogee Beach, a real gem.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    44
    10
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
1 review
“From Anne et Pierre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a great time with our Friends at X74- food was delicious - duck terrine perfect- my seared tuna was so well cooked and the avocado purée That comes with me was a real good match- overall well done and very friendly welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawley Point, Australia
2 reviews
“A cafe haven in Coogee away from the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We where advised by relatives living close by to visit this cafe during our recent Syd visit from the South Coast.We did breakfast & dinner plus husband did early morning "coffee runs" , the vibe of the cafe is welcoming & the service friendly without being patronising &what a treasure is Tim co owner who waited on us on our visits , great food & coffee .....we will be back .....thank you Cafe X74.....

Helpful?
Thank Anthonydeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The eastern suburbs restaurant scene can be a little like dating - there is a strong chance it will turn out to be boring, overrated & expensive. X74 is none of those things. We went for lunch & returned for brkfast the next day. The owner is a great guy, very attentive & welcoming. My jew fish was the kind of meal u reflect on all day, coffee is brilliant, service is efficient, beer selection is on par with the best in Sydney - the place has a great energy. This place is hard to beat. Definitely check it out. Btw the place was kid friendly but didn't feel like a kid zoo which is a hard balance to achieve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justjoshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hazel P. Sydney: Coogee gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have just had a delicious meal at X74, and whilst I don't want to publicise it too much for fear of not being able to get a table next time, it would be selfish not to tell anyone else who is looking for great value, beautiful food. We were two couples, all serious foodies, and from the starters of house-cured salmon gravlax, and charcuterie platter, to the seared tuna with sesame avocado, and roasted spatchcock with peach salad, through to desserts of rhubarb crumble with pannacotta, and ricotta dumplings with Belgian chocolate sauce, we enjoyed every last morsel. Even the coffee was excellent. The chef used to work at Catalina, and the standard of food and presentation is well above what one would expect from a suburban restaurant in a quiet, Coogee street. The small wine list is moderately priced, and well-chosen, the service relaxed and friendly. If I were to make one other comment, we thought this was a café, we didn't realise it morphed into a restaurant at night offering seriously good food. What a lovely surprise! (Hazel P. Sydney)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed X74 Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to X74 Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing