We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Coogee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coogee Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Sunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here over the NYE weekend so the price was higher than usual.

Location was perfect, right in town, close to beach and bars. the hotel was nice, clean and very spacious.

Staff were accommodating and helpful.

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Front Office Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Hi Traveller2787,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Bay Hotel
Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    95
    47
    23
    41
See reviews for
37
78
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is really one of the worst hotels I've stayed in so far. It is not worth the high price! When we came into the nice looking reception a colleague and me were quite optimistic that this is a nice hotel. However, a series of failiures startet with the inactivity of the lady at the reception. All employees in this hotel seem to be very desinteressted and demotivated without any sense of customer care. We were told that our room is in the heritage wing of the hotel. The rooms there are really heavily rundown. The carpet is very dirty and the bath full of mold. Furthermore, it is very noisy due to the bar and beer garden below the rooms. WiFi is only available in the beer garden. I really cannot recommend this hotel in any way...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex183253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will certainly address your concerns with the staff members involved as we normally receive wonderful comments on our customer service. We understand that you chose to stay in our budget pub style rooms which offer cheap accommodation for those who prefer to not to stay in our Boutique deluxe style rooms. The pub style rooms are indeed 3 star with own bathroom and we do advertise that they are situated above our licensed premises so therefore will receive hotel noise. If you are ever in coogee again we really would love for you to stay in our Boutique rooms.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coogee hotels

Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here last Saturday when in Sydney for a concert. The area was awesome with some great cares and restaurants across the street as well as a chemist and other shops which came in handy for my hangover. I stayed in a pub room which was old with a few cracks in the walls and some mould in the bathroom but for $145 in Sydney it wasn't too bad. I didn't spend much time in the room and the beach is right across the road so if you're not too worried about the room it's worth giving it a go.

Room Tip: The higher floors are less noisy as there is a pub below the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 415GerardC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Hi 415GerardC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Coogee is definately a fantastic location with everything you need for a short or long stay!
We agree our Pub style rooms are fantastic value for budget accommodation in the eastern suburbs of Sydney, and yes some of our bathrooms are currently undergoing a much needed "refresh".
Next time your in Sydney you should check out our gorgeous Boutique Accommodation!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We only stayed one night to attend an event in Randwick/Coogee in a 'Boutique District Kitchen' room with our 3 kids. Perfect location and good to be back in Coogee for the weekend. Room was very clean, decent size bathroom with shower and a bath. Great to have a kitchen, but didn't get to use it much with all the take-away meal options a few minutes' walk along Vicar Street. Entrance to property a little hard to find - it is off Coogee Bay Road between Arden & Brook Streets. Everything was setup for us as requested through Booking.com; sofa bed made up for our two older kids and a cot with bedding set for the 2 year old. Lots of towels, soap and shampoo/conditioner provided but not enough tea-bags. Very friendly and helpful staff - the kids enjoyed the early breakfast in the Brasserie at 6.50am. Good for a family stay with the beach across the road. Surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Western side with district views are quieter than those overlooking the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanhuddlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Good Morning,

Thank you for your lovely comments! We appreciate all feedback and we especially love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay so much. Our Boutique rooms are very well equipped, particularly if you choose one our kitchenette rooms which also guarantees you a balcony to sit out on and relax. Great for a family getaway!
Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Coogee and The Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Great fun place to stop over - we were lucky enough to have 2 nights there. We were given a spacious and beautiful Ocean View suite on the pub side, with the very best ocean view & a large shared veranda. Shared with a bunch of partying teenagers, who were really quite sweet & considerate (one of them politely offered to take a photo of us with our camera) and they were out for most of the time we were in.
The veranda was also regularly & non-intrusively patrolled by security guards.
The pub area downstairs is fairly busy and noisy, but i would have been disappointed if it wasn't - we certainly didn't hear much from two floors above.
As a previous reviewer said the pub is a great place for people watching & chilling out with friends.
Our only complaint is that having checked in Saturday lunch time in the boutique area reception, all the access gates but one on the opposite side of the block were locked shut, so we had to drag our bags around the block.
Nothing serious: we made a quick recovery watching the colours of the ocean / sky change with a bottle of champagne on the veranda.
We would definitely stay there again.
We also paid a very reasonable price for our room through 'needitnow.com'

Room Tip: book a room in the pub area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your Ocean view suite and agree that the balcony is perfect for enjoying a glass of champagne while watching the waves on coogee beach. I'm sorry to hear of your trouble accessing your room and will investigate as to why all of the gates were closed, this is not usual practice in the middle of the day.
Thanks again for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed four nights at the "Boutique" part of the hotel. Lovely big room, spotlessly clean and acessable to numerous restaurants, transport, beach etc. It has no restaurant on the premises, which is a bit of a pain at breakfast time, but that is really a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor facing the sea, the sea side is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Hi Robin

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Coogee is wonderful spot which has some fantastic restaurants in the area and our own Brasserie (located on the main premises of the hotel not in the Boutique Hotel) is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Gret place to stay for the location. We stayed in the boutique section of the hotel. Our room looked out to the ocean but it also overlooked the bins at the back of the bottle shop -wafts from the bins were quite strong (even two floors up) so we couldn't us the balcony or open the windows for the sea air. Also noisy when staff putting things in the bins forklifting stock. Apart from that all was good with the accommodation. Interconnecting rooms good. Kitchenette in one of the rooms. Rooms nicely appointed.
Continental breakfast was included. This is a good idea however, the service was pleasant enough where brekky is served but everything else is pretty woeful...on both mornings....had to keep getting up to ask staff for more cereal, clean plates, cutlery, juice, milk, etc etc. Coffee that we paid for was pretty poorly made. Sunday morning bucks/rugby whatever groups very loud in the breakfast area, still drunk and swearing loudly. Very educational for us and for our children! Get it delivered to your room if possible or go out elsewhere!

Room Tip: ocean view nice - bins can be smelly and make for a noisy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutherglengigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Hi Rutherglen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed our accommodation rooms and agree that our interconnecting rooms are perfectly appointed for families. Coogee certainly is a fantastic location!
We certainly take your comments on board regarding the bins and noise from the stock deliveries and are undertaking efforts to try to improve this area. In regards to your breakfast experience we thank you for your comments, guest feedback is very important to us and always provides us with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Bay Hotel

Property: Coogee Bay Hotel
Address: 253 Coogee Bay Road, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coogee Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms offer a refreshing beachside option, incorporating natural timbers, soft blues and crisp white tones. Located behind the main hotel is the Boutique Wing offering stylish, modern accommodation for corporate travellers and those seeking a relaxing retreat. The Boutique Hotel offers 4 star luxury on the shores of one of Sydney's most famous beaches with competitive rates and a range of weekend packages to entice. If you're seeking 3 star affordable accommodation, our Pub style rooms, located within the main hotel building, is perfect for those wanting to be close to the action. Please note our Pub style rooms may be subject to hotel noise from the bars below and are accessed via stairs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Coogee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing