We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
avalon beach nsw Australia
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I had a school reunion in Coogee and stayed at this hotel with girlfriends. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location just across from the beach, restaurants and night life was great. The room was comfortable, clean and good value for money. I'd stay here again without a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayswanttotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    211
    70
    13
    19
See reviews for
158
203
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.S.W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were cosy, we had a ocean view and loved sitting on the balcony. The roof terrace is fantastic we had breakfast and dinner up there and saw whales both times. The staff were helpful and friendly. Everything you need is walking distance, beach, food, coffee, pubs etc. Coogee is almost like a country town can't believe its only a 20 minute taxi ride to the city. Would love to return for a family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coburg
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Spotless rooms, fantastic service and bloody good views. The free secure parking was a bonus as the other hotels i called all wanted to charge us.
The staff went above and beyond to help us, printing out maps and such, giving us a cot for the kidlet, and booked our sydney tours for us too.
I'd highly recommend booking there.
--
Scott H

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_H12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I looked at this hotel on the internet before travelling to Sydney and was not sure of the bed configeration as we needed a bed for our young son,The room pictures were also not the best making the room look a bit tired. We moved to this hotel after visiting Coogee and were very impressed by the customer service particularly from Michelle, the receptionist. Nothing was too much trouble and she allowed us to look at the room before booking to check the balcony as we had concerns with a small child.
The room was clean, airy and we had a view of the beach. The photographs on the internet do not do the room's justice and there is no mention of the amazing terrace on the top of the hotel where you can sit and enjoy the view. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Coogee Sands Hotel as a stopover on a recent trip through Sydney on our way to the Hunger Valley. Coogee Beach is reasonably close to the airport and certainly beats staying in any of the airport hotels where there is nothing to do.

The hotel has a great location right next to the beach and close to lots of restaurants. Our room had a very nice view of the beach and town, but unfortunately also overlooked the "backpacker" bars next door where the music blares into the small hours and the drunk bar patrons yell at the tops of their lungs. This hotel would be fine for young people planning on a big night out and not intending to sleep much. Double glazing or hush glass would be useful if the place is to get a face lift!

The room itself was spacious and well appointed but very tired. The bathroom really needed a re-do as it was worn and dated with a bit of mold around. There was a small kitchen, a sofa, desk and TV, so all the mod cons. But also a bit of a smoke smell in the room.

The staff were friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. We arrived very early in the day due to our flight times but the hotel was very good about storing our luggage and allowing us to use the bathrooms to change our clothes so we could stroll the beach while we waited.

I found all hotels in Coogee Beach to be quite expensive relative to their level of luxury and this one was no exception. I guess the location is just an expensive one to stay in overall.

Checking in online created a few hiccups as I made what I thought was a booking, but it was initially rejected by return e-mail with no explanation. I was then contacted separately to advise me that the type of room I picked was not available and did I want to book another type. The communication was all very friendly and helpful, but it would be useful to have some kind of availability system in place to avoid these kinds of back and forth communication.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Coogee Sands Hotel. It was a great experience. The rooms are not new but everything was clean and comfortable including great beds. The breakfast we had was continental but was substantial. The location being so close to the beach was fabulous and although we didn't have a beach view, we did check the beach view rooms out and they were exceptional. The views are just wonderful. The accommodation is so close to everything and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineWonthaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Had a room with a balcony overlooking Coogee beach. Beach is awesome for body surfing and deserted in September-too cold for locals-fine for me.
! Room was ok-nothing special and a bit over priced but was a really nice view of the beach with no road to look at. I'd stay here again if the pound ever gets stronger.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtripper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing