We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coogee Sands nice but not overly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
It
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Coogee Sands nice but not overly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2008

I stayed in this place which has a lovely location right at the end of Coogee Beach, and also has a roof terrace from which you can admire the view over the beach and Coogee, or even have a takeaway meal up there and admire the sunset. Everything was great except for the fact that the studios are tiny, one on top of the other down a long corridor, and some have interconnecting doors so that you can hear every word from next door. I was awoken early the first morning by the alarm of the person next door and had to listen to all his morning routine. It was more like sharing a room. They're a little overpriced for what you're getting - the courtyard studios do have little private courtyards, but they're really tiny and mostly with taller buildings overlooking them so not even private. I would presume the ocean view studios were nicer but I didn't see these as they were full.
I'd say the best things going for this place are its location and the roof terrace, and that if you book, make sure to get an ocean view studio or apartment and not any of the others.

  • Liked — The location was superb as its right on beach but not noisy
  • Disliked — Too cramped and rooms too close together, plus some have inter-connecting doors
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GBtravelIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    204
    70
    11
    19
See reviews for
152
199
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
country NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

This property says it's right on the beach at Coogee, and it is. There is a footpath and grassy park between your balcony and the sand. Ask for a balcony room with the beach view - sit out with a drink and watch the passing parade and the pacific. Our room was very nice, and had a handy little kitchenette with sink and microwave, crockery etc. Very clean and tasteful, your average sort of hotel room. My husband found the bed too soft, and there was quite a bit of noise from the pub next door, even late on a Sunday night. Quieter though on the Monday night.
Parking is undercover and secure, and easy to find right at the end of Dolphin Street. Bus into the city takes about half an hour, and the stop is a 2 minute walk. No shopping to speak of in Coogee itself, but lots of great eating choices, and a good fish and chip shop right in the middle of the park on the beach. You can walk to Bondi Beach along the beaches and cliffs in about 2 hours, on a very good path. Coogee has 3 separate sea-pools/baths, and one is for ladies only.
I loved this property, and would like to stay for a week with my teenagers, as Coogee has a real beachy-casual thongs and bathers feel, while the city is only a bus away.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, and balcony view
  • Disliked — Noisy pub next door - double glazing would fix this
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reggiekelpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

This property has a great atmosphere, warm staff and friendly service, not only is the location perfect for walking by the coast, relaxing on the beach, dinning in one of the numerous cafes coogee has to offer, the area has a village feel and the staff are so welcoming i didnt want to go home! I travel for business regularly and when you get the chance to unwind, a location and property like this one is perfect, highly reccomend!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing! It was a truly great experience!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClaireTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

Me and my partner stayed for 2 weeks and had a brilliant stay. Our room was really well equiped with the kitchenette and utensils, and the bed was so comfy! Haven't had a better sleep! The location is amazing, just 20 metres away from the beach and everything like bus stops and shops are in 5minutes walking distance! The staff were impeccable, reception is open 24 hours and the staff were so helpful and a delight to talk to. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and have done to many friends which have also enjoyed their stay!

  • Liked — The staff and rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite-Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

I wouldn't stay here. True, the location is amazing, right on Coogee Beach and the place did include a full but tiny kitchen.
However, the shower was tiny and there were tiny little bugs crawling out of the drain. Granted, I didn't call them to complain until checking out, but you'd think that the cleaning staff would see the bugs when cleaning up the place. The elevator didn't always work (the front staff had to unlock it remotely and didn't always clue in....) and the door to the parking garage was open, loading the front lobby with lovely fumes.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — The bugs.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

We had never visited Coogee before and we were so lucky that we chose Coogee Sands to stay for the first time. The view from our room had partial ocean views but that was ok because the roof top was amazing for sitting in the sun reading a book, having a bbq or just watching the waves. The position of Coogee Sands is awesome. There are plenty of shops and restaurants close by. Our room was well equiped and clean and the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful. We had to extend our stay by a night and they obliged and even gave us the same discount rate that we had been paying. The Saturday night we were there, there was a group of guys staying on our floor and a couple of times they (in a drunken state) mistook our room for their mates and woke us up. The staff at the front desk were most apologetic and were dealing with the situation. A great place to stay. We will be back!

  • Liked — the views and the location
  • Disliked — too many people
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

I stayed here for two 5 day blocks during my stay in Oz and it was ideal for me. Good location at the end of the beach, you get nice big room with small kitchen area that has a microwave and fridge, no oven, Front desk are friendly and there 24/7. No other facilities like pool or bar but you don't need them - you're in Sydney! Unless you're really going to spend a lot of time in your room, I wouldn't bother paying for a sea view. The Palis nightclub is next door - be aware that if your in a room backing onto that, you may here some tunes during backpacker season. For meals head up Coogee Bay Road and try one of the many nice resturants up there. Make sure you do the Coogee to Bondi walk (1.5 hours) and Coogee to Maroubra Beack walk (50 mins). regular buses to cicular key via Randwick and Central station, and also Bondi Junction. Free parking too.

  • Liked — Location, reasonable price, everying you need for week long stay or more in Sydney
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briggs2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing