We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We were thoroughly impressed with our stay here. Quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Very quiet rooms. Comfortable furnishings. Very helpful staff. Great location right on the beach. Close to all restaurants. Will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neiceNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear NeiceNsw,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Kind regards

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    207
    70
    12
    19
See reviews for
155
202
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. I was delighted with location and accessibility to the local amenities. The room itself was ok, but the fabric was showing its age with stains on the sofa, chipped woodwork, just little things that detracted from what could be really good accommodation. Only one mirror which was in the bathroom along with hair dryer which meant tying up the bathroom for however long ladies take to do their hair. Maybe locate another mirror in the living area near the numerous power sockets.
Bathroom let the show down with a faulty shower screen that stuck and could do with a really good clean and a door that had seen better days with a one inch gap at the bottom that ensured everyone(which included visitors) was aware of your washroom activity! By addressing the aforementioned points would really bring this decent hotel up to another level.
Front of house staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Murdo428,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our guest comments seriously and do our best to resolve any problems that may arise

I noted your poor rating of the furniture and décor – You will be pleased to know that the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment with half the rooms already complete, so we hope your next stay with us will be much more comfortable.

Please be sure to ask for one of our newly refurbished rooms when you make your next booking with us. We look forward to your feedback.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well what can we say about this hotel!
We were to stay at a different location but the accommodation was lets say far less than we were told.
We rang this hotel and they could not have been more helpful in each and every way.
Very pleasent staff and the accommodation was excellent. Couldn't have been happier with the place. We think it's well worth the star rating it has.
Carol, Shirl, Paula, Kelly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sharol1,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction and you had an excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments very soon.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stunning location right on the Northern end of Coogee Beach. Spacious and very well maintained room. If you want a room with a beach view then you'll need to specifically ask for one as most of the rooms actually look out onto next door buildings. However, there is a huge roof top viewing area with quite a few tables and chairs, with great ocean views.

Room Tip: Need to ask if you want a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear aussie127 ,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We're glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the beautiful views and our supurb location. The clean and spacious studios are indeed a travellers dream with the high quality accommodation offered.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night at the Coogee Sands as a family in late September.

The area around the hotel was busy on a Saturday afternoon, and must absolutely heave with people during summer.

We had two adjoining rooms on the 6th floor. The elevators go as far as the 5th, and there's a longish corridor to traverse and flight of stairs to the next floor, but we had young legs and light bags, so it was not a problem and in fact was well worth it for the views of the Pacific Ocean.

The rooms were clean and well maintained without being spectacularly large or modern. Good basic family style accommodation, significantly better than a motor inn, but not the Park Hyatt. Perfect for being close the beach.

I arrived there just before half time in the AFL grand final, and just wanted to have a beer and watch it. Happily, the minibar beers were cheap as chips, so did not feel the need to try and get to a bottle-o. After the satisfactory conclusion to the match, it was a short walk to the beach for a swim, followed by a really good meal at a cafe less than a 1km walk from the hotel, on Coogee Bay Road.

To note: booking a room does not guarantee you a parking space in the hotel. It is first in best dressed, and the carpark was full when we arrived. Nor was there a lot of space out front to unload bags. And the surrounding public car parks were pretty full as well. I eventually got a 4 hour paid spot across the road in beside the Coogee Oval. Helpfully, one of the staff tipped us off when a space became available, and I was able to move my car inside a few hours later. Finally on the topic of car parks - the the top floor carpark is very low. You do not want to be trying to get a Landcruiser in there. We just managed to squeeze our modestly sized SUV in.

Overall, it was a good stay, and if I had a gripe it would be that we didn't have enough time there. Fully endorse the comment about contacting the hotel directly to get the deal that best suits. The Coogee Sands is in a fantastic location and has great - really friendly and helpful - staff. We would go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Andy M,

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We're glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms.

As you suggest, our central location is very convenient for our guests, giving them access to many transport options to explore Sydney and also to a variety of fabulous restaurants, including the one you have mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Always great to stay here; friendly staff, nice clean, comfortable rooms, and only a few steps to the beach. As an ex Coogee resident, this hotel is great because it is in the best location to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are lovely & quiet,good position in the hotel & nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Louise G,

Thank you very much for writing this review for Coogee sands Hotel & Apartments. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay and It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to serve you as a return guest.

We are delighted to know that you were impressed with our location, service and amenities and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visiting with family members this time, they were very impressed with the room, location, and ease of getting around the area, and yet again the team at Coogee Sands were wonderful. Beautiful room overlooking Coogee Beach on top floor. They loved the Sun deck area, and cant wait to visit again.
Word of advice in regards to booking, after speaking with some of the other guests at the Hotel, book direct with the hotel, no complications, and you know what you're getting, re room position etc. much easier.

Room Tip: Ask the Reception team for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper, they are more than happy to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Rosalee_12,

Thank you for your recent feedback and loyal patronage of Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

The location and view at Coogee is quite spectacular and worthy of a return visit. I was thrilled to see that we again provided great service and that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction. I was delighted to read that your family also enjoyed their time with us.

I look forward to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments once more.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing