We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coogee sands hotel and apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well what can we say about this hotel!
We were to stay at a different location but the accommodation was lets say far less than we were told.
We rang this hotel and they could not have been more helpful in each and every way.
Very pleasent staff and the accommodation was excellent. Couldn't have been happier with the place. We think it's well worth the star rating it has.
Carol, Shirl, Paula, Kelly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Sharol1,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction and you had an excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments very soon.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 595 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stunning location right on the Northern end of Coogee Beach. Spacious and very well maintained room. If you want a room with a beach view then you'll need to specifically ask for one as most of the rooms actually look out onto next door buildings. However, there is a huge roof top viewing area with quite a few tables and chairs, with great ocean views.

Room Tip: Need to ask if you want a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear aussie127 ,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We're glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the beautiful views and our supurb location. The clean and spacious studios are indeed a travellers dream with the high quality accommodation offered.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for a night at the Coogee Sands as a family in late September.

The area around the hotel was busy on a Saturday afternoon, and must absolutely heave with people during summer.

We had two adjoining rooms on the 6th floor. The elevators go as far as the 5th, and there's a longish corridor to traverse and flight of stairs to the next floor, but we had young legs and light bags, so it was not a problem and in fact was well worth it for the views of the Pacific Ocean.

The rooms were clean and well maintained without being spectacularly large or modern. Good basic family style accommodation, significantly better than a motor inn, but not the Park Hyatt. Perfect for being close the beach.

I arrived there just before half time in the AFL grand final, and just wanted to have a beer and watch it. Happily, the minibar beers were cheap as chips, so did not feel the need to try and get to a bottle-o. After the satisfactory conclusion to the match, it was a short walk to the beach for a swim, followed by a really good meal at a cafe less than a 1km walk from the hotel, on Coogee Bay Road.

To note: booking a room does not guarantee you a parking space in the hotel. It is first in best dressed, and the carpark was full when we arrived. Nor was there a lot of space out front to unload bags. And the surrounding public car parks were pretty full as well. I eventually got a 4 hour paid spot across the road in beside the Coogee Oval. Helpfully, one of the staff tipped us off when a space became available, and I was able to move my car inside a few hours later. Finally on the topic of car parks - the the top floor carpark is very low. You do not want to be trying to get a Landcruiser in there. We just managed to squeeze our modestly sized SUV in.

Overall, it was a good stay, and if I had a gripe it would be that we didn't have enough time there. Fully endorse the comment about contacting the hotel directly to get the deal that best suits. The Coogee Sands is in a fantastic location and has great - really friendly and helpful - staff. We would go back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Andy M,

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We're glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms.

As you suggest, our central location is very convenient for our guests, giving them access to many transport options to explore Sydney and also to a variety of fabulous restaurants, including the one you have mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Always great to stay here; friendly staff, nice clean, comfortable rooms, and only a few steps to the beach. As an ex Coogee resident, this hotel is great because it is in the best location to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are lovely & quiet,good position in the hotel & nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Louise G,

Thank you very much for writing this review for Coogee sands Hotel & Apartments. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay and It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to serve you as a return guest.

We are delighted to know that you were impressed with our location, service and amenities and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visiting with family members this time, they were very impressed with the room, location, and ease of getting around the area, and yet again the team at Coogee Sands were wonderful. Beautiful room overlooking Coogee Beach on top floor. They loved the Sun deck area, and cant wait to visit again.
Word of advice in regards to booking, after speaking with some of the other guests at the Hotel, book direct with the hotel, no complications, and you know what you're getting, re room position etc. much easier.

Room Tip: Ask the Reception team for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper, they are more than happy to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Rosalee_12,

Thank you for your recent feedback and loyal patronage of Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

The location and view at Coogee is quite spectacular and worthy of a return visit. I was thrilled to see that we again provided great service and that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction. I was delighted to read that your family also enjoyed their time with us.

I look forward to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments once more.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Coogee is a couple of bays along from Bondi and this hotel is right at the end of the beach. Our rooms had small self catering facilities, were lovely and clean, big beds good, tv and the wifi is fast. Rooms on 5 floors with a big lift & roof top sun deck with great views. This was a working base for my husband and a holiday for me but there were families on holiday and business people all staying. There is also a brilliant laundry for guests to. The staff are really helpful always with a smile. Location wise it is a the centre, tonnes of restaurants, bars, cafes. No restaurant at the hotel. Dead close to the main bus stops. You can walk around the coast walk to Bondi beach, but Bondi is busy and built up compared to Coogee. Buses into Central Quay Sydney Harbour every few minutes for about £4 takes 20 minutes or less. The firm my husband was visiting booked us this hotel as one of the best in the area and it sure has been a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a Room with sea view balconies at the beach front elevation but it was in the shade from mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Judy W,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

Looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments soon.

Warm Regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just spent the weekend at the sands. Coogee is a great place to hang out during the day and comes to life at night. Easy to travel to the city from Coogee and then you have Bronte and Clovely also close by. Walk to Bondi along the coast and grab fish and chips by the beach. The sands is right next to the beach and is well managed by a friendly team. The sands was clean and provided comfort with a useful Kitchen area in the room. I would stay again. Well priced for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Johnaallen,

Thank you for your lovely comments! We appreciate all feedback and we especially love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay so much. Our Studio rooms are very well equipped, particularly if you choose one of our Ocean View rooms which also guarantees you a balcony to sit out on to relax and enjoy the view of the beach.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
255 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Price Range: $125 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing