We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant base to discover Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant base to discover Sydney”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Coogee is a couple of bays along from Bondi and this hotel is right at the end of the beach. Our rooms had small self catering facilities, were lovely and clean, big beds good, tv and the wifi is fast. Rooms on 5 floors with a big lift & roof top sun deck with great views. This was a working base for my husband and a holiday for me but there were families on holiday and business people all staying. There is also a brilliant laundry for guests to. The staff are really helpful always with a smile. Location wise it is a the centre, tonnes of restaurants, bars, cafes. No restaurant at the hotel. Dead close to the main bus stops. You can walk around the coast walk to Bondi beach, but Bondi is busy and built up compared to Coogee. Buses into Central Quay Sydney Harbour every few minutes for about £4 takes 20 minutes or less. The firm my husband was visiting booked us this hotel as one of the best in the area and it sure has been a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a Room with sea view balconies at the beach front elevation but it was in the shade from mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Judy W,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

Looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments soon.

Warm Regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    210
    70
    13
    19
See reviews for
156
203
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just spent the weekend at the sands. Coogee is a great place to hang out during the day and comes to life at night. Easy to travel to the city from Coogee and then you have Bronte and Clovely also close by. Walk to Bondi along the coast and grab fish and chips by the beach. The sands is right next to the beach and is well managed by a friendly team. The sands was clean and provided comfort with a useful Kitchen area in the room. I would stay again. Well priced for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Johnaallen,

Thank you for your lovely comments! We appreciate all feedback and we especially love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay so much. Our Studio rooms are very well equipped, particularly if you choose one of our Ocean View rooms which also guarantees you a balcony to sit out on to relax and enjoy the view of the beach.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for five days in Coogee Sands in an apartment with a sea view - great location - easy access to the city (30 min bus ride) and walks along the coast. The apartment had a small kitchenette - basically a sink, microwave and kitchen bench - so you can't cook but ok for breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. The airport is 20 minutes away. There is wifi in the rooms but you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: pay extra for a room with a view on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GON_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Gon_11,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We agree with you that our Ocean view rooms are beautiful!
Coogee is indeed a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre.
Our staff love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stay in Sydney on business every week or so. My usual habit had been to find a city hotel, close to work - not any more! Coogee Sands Hotel is a delightful oasis on the beach and only a 20 min taxi from the city centre.

The rooms are generally excellent - spacious and modern, well finished, well furnished, good shower. They also have mini bar facilities in the room (if you forgot to top up your hip flask or can't be bothered walking the 5mins to the bottle shop on the corner.) One negative - I slept one night (out of 4 stays in total) in a 'king' that was actually 2 singles pushed together - did not like it! Ask for a queen room to be sure.

Service is great. Friendly, professional staff. Special shout out to the always cheerful Justine!

As I mentioned above, the location is great. The Coogee Beach foreshore is stunning and a top place to go for a walk or run. Is there a better way to start the day?

Room Tip: If you want a King ask for a real one - not one comprising 2 singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Andrewbish,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location.
We will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights after a tour of NZ. The hotel is situated on the beach and from this respect is a great location. There are walks Bondi, and along the beach front, which are beautiful. There are several bus stops within a short distance of the hotel. We ventured into Sydney a couple of times, and although it was an easy journey, the bus tickets were quite expensive. ( the tickets were purchased from the newsagents a few doors along from the hotel) The room was small, but clean and was not very well equipped. Having come from NZ, we were used to kitchenettes - with a hob/stove. Our room looked out onto a brick wall, and there was no free WiFi. McDonalds, which is very close by, came in handy! The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the hotel was reasonable, but expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Hammerboot,

Thank you for your recent feedback,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed Coogee and it's relaxing atmosphere.

You mention that your room was not well equipped. Although our studio rooms contain kitchenettes (Microwave, Tea and Coffee making facilities, crockery, cutlery, bar fridge and sink), our One Bedroom Apartments are very well equipped, including a full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer and a balcony to sit out on and relax. Great for your next visit!

I hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peasmoldtown
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For my week-long stay, I was housed in a studio appartment, which was spacious and comfortable enough for a solo traveller, with adequate heating and a nice view out to the ocean. Cooking facilities were rather minimal, but sufficient for making tea/coffee and preparing a basic breakfast. Since Coogee is full of eateries (both eat-in and take-away), this is not a major issue. There is also a convenience store adjacent to the hotel, which is open both early and late. At least in winter, the environment is not particularly noisy - the sound of waves breaking on the shore drowns out everything else, including the rather lively pub/restaurant complex next door. The staff were very efficient and helpful, and it was easy to get downtown by direct bus, or to the university (UNSW), also just about reachable on foot (30-40 minutes). The airport shuttle also provides cheap and convenient access for both arriving and departing guests. The hotel is located immediately by the beach, and also to exhilarating shore-walks. Overall, this is a great place to be based for visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear PeasmoldWW,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

The location and view at Coogee is quite spectacular and I was thrilled to see that you enjoyed our great service and wonderful location.

We hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments once more.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The rooms was good. Cleanliness was average. There are a couple of coffee shops around the back for breakfast in the morning. There are also plenty of restaurants within walking distance for dinner or lunch. The room information was poor. I could not find the number for reception so I googled the hotels number and called them to ask what the numbers for reception from my room. When I was staying there the lift was out of service so I had to carry my heavy bags up to the third floor! They should have advised this when I made the booking. Also, they lost Qantas frequent flyer points on their web page but because my booking was a 'corporate' booking I wasn't able to claim points. Very disappointing. I've stayed at many hotels with a corporate booking for business travel and they have all been able to credit me the points when I presented my Qantas card.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for you honest feedback,

We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

For future reference, all of the room information can be found in our compendiums.

I note your disappointment regarding the lift. We had our lift replaced in May which took several weeks, however, we made sure that all guests who booked during this period were informed. As your booking was made through your company, I can only surmise that your travel booker did not pass on this information. You will be please to know that our new lift is now up and running.

I hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments,

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing