We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights after a tour of NZ. The hotel is situated on the beach and from this respect is a great location. There are walks Bondi, and along the beach front, which are beautiful. There are several bus stops within a short distance of the hotel. We ventured into Sydney a couple of times, and although it was an easy journey, the bus tickets were quite expensive. ( the tickets were purchased from the newsagents a few doors along from the hotel) The room was small, but clean and was not very well equipped. Having come from NZ, we were used to kitchenettes - with a hob/stove. Our room looked out onto a brick wall, and there was no free WiFi. McDonalds, which is very close by, came in handy! The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the hotel was reasonable, but expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Hammerboot,

Thank you for your recent feedback,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed Coogee and it's relaxing atmosphere.

You mention that your room was not well equipped. Although our studio rooms contain kitchenettes (Microwave, Tea and Coffee making facilities, crockery, cutlery, bar fridge and sink), our One Bedroom Apartments are very well equipped, including a full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer and a balcony to sit out on and relax. Great for your next visit!

I hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    211
    70
    13
    19
See reviews for
158
203
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peasmoldtown
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For my week-long stay, I was housed in a studio appartment, which was spacious and comfortable enough for a solo traveller, with adequate heating and a nice view out to the ocean. Cooking facilities were rather minimal, but sufficient for making tea/coffee and preparing a basic breakfast. Since Coogee is full of eateries (both eat-in and take-away), this is not a major issue. There is also a convenience store adjacent to the hotel, which is open both early and late. At least in winter, the environment is not particularly noisy - the sound of waves breaking on the shore drowns out everything else, including the rather lively pub/restaurant complex next door. The staff were very efficient and helpful, and it was easy to get downtown by direct bus, or to the university (UNSW), also just about reachable on foot (30-40 minutes). The airport shuttle also provides cheap and convenient access for both arriving and departing guests. The hotel is located immediately by the beach, and also to exhilarating shore-walks. Overall, this is a great place to be based for visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear PeasmoldWW,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

The location and view at Coogee is quite spectacular and I was thrilled to see that you enjoyed our great service and wonderful location.

We hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments once more.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The rooms was good. Cleanliness was average. There are a couple of coffee shops around the back for breakfast in the morning. There are also plenty of restaurants within walking distance for dinner or lunch. The room information was poor. I could not find the number for reception so I googled the hotels number and called them to ask what the numbers for reception from my room. When I was staying there the lift was out of service so I had to carry my heavy bags up to the third floor! They should have advised this when I made the booking. Also, they lost Qantas frequent flyer points on their web page but because my booking was a 'corporate' booking I wasn't able to claim points. Very disappointing. I've stayed at many hotels with a corporate booking for business travel and they have all been able to credit me the points when I presented my Qantas card.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for you honest feedback,

We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

For future reference, all of the room information can be found in our compendiums.

I note your disappointment regarding the lift. We had our lift replaced in May which took several weeks, however, we made sure that all guests who booked during this period were informed. As your booking was made through your company, I can only surmise that your travel booker did not pass on this information. You will be please to know that our new lift is now up and running.

I hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments,

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have have stayed at more expensive hotels in coogee in the past but this place was great, friendly check in, up grade and the viewing deck looking over coogee beach a hidden secret and not sure if I should be revealing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jill557,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade.
We agree with you that the location is perfect, beachfront, surrounded by cafes & shops, and plenty of transport. The reception team are consistently praised for their high standard of service, I’ll pass on this positive feedback.

Thank you again for your review, and I hope to welcome you back to the Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed one night but we loved it and wish we had spent longer!

We stayed in room 317, an ocean view room and it was perfect, ample room, a super comfy bed, generous size lounge, large shower and a balcony providing a view that is simply stunning looking out over Coogee beach, across the park and up the hillside that is bursting with apartments.

We arrived at 12pm but check in is not until 2pm, we had just collected a brand new car that didn't have plates so we didn't want to drive around or leave it on the street, so we checked with reception and they advised our room was ready and there were carparks available and let us in early, this was so appreciated.

The staff are all so bubbly and friendly and you get the sense that nothing is too much trouble, they are happy to help and happy to welcome you.

Coogee is a beautiful place and this would have to be the best location, a stones throw from the beach and an easy stroll to the main shopping strip - but the pub next door serves a wonderful pork ragu!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an ocean view room, it really is worth it, the view is priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneKimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear MelbourneKimberley,

Thank you for your recent feedback. The views from our Ocean View Rooms are quite spectacular at any time of the year. . I was pleased to note that you were impressed with our check-in service, hotel position and the general ambience of the hotel on your recent stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

I hope to welcome you and back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely property close to the beach and shops. Restaurants of choice, absolutely loved our stay.
Staff well presented and polite. Enjoyed the apartment facilities. Undercover car-park a bonus.
Brilliant base to explore Coogee and walk to Bondi an iconic and healthy option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybilla96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sybilla96,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First lets start with Justine who was really helpful and welcoming- she is lovely! The hotel room had a great view and the location was literally on the water- throw in parking and this is a great place. Only downside is single beds rather than king single- I was with my mum so needed singles! But you cant beat clean and quiet and as the owner of Canberra's 4.5 star self rated Studio Q Apartments that is what matters most to me, Narelle

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StudioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear StudioQ,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff, including Justine, as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing