We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have stayed here on a number of occaisions because of work. It is a great location with good accomodation and excellent service. Views of the beach are not availble from all rooms, but I love the quiet the rooms afford & the beach is literally steps away. There are lots of dinner options that are so close, and very affordable. If a band is playing close by, you can't hear it. I'm hoping to return for a weekend with my husband!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear SueHNSW,

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I am so pleased that you choose to continue staying with us - not just for work but for pleasure! I have passed your positive feedback on to our teams and congratulated them on their high standard of service, which has made your stays with us so memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Kind Regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    210
    70
    13
    19
See reviews for
156
203
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I pre paid two rooms for 2 nights and asked that they be side by side on the online booking. When I checked in they were 3 rooms apart, despite the hotel being virtually empty and the room next to mine being empty for at least the first night. I checked in just before 5pm and as we walked along the corridor to our rooms, it was so dark I could not see the key slots. The curtains in one room were filthy and my daughter who has mild asthma, speny two days on her ventolin whilst we were there. The kettle was faulty and not replaced when I asked. The overpriced breakfast was delivered with juice missing and no salt and pepper. The cleaners did not come until 5pm. The deluxe room was not 4 star deluxe. The location was good. Staff were pleasant but not helpfull. THe beds in both rooms were too soft and the pillows were rock hard. With a good vacuum, new mattress and decent pillows, it could call itself 4 star again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear baloo49,

Thanks for your review of our Hotel. We are sorry that your stay did not meet expectations and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Whilst we always try to meet guest room requests, we clearly advise that requests cannot always be guaranteed. Each room in our hotel has a different bedding configuration, which is allocated based on the number of adults/children in the room and other considerations such as wheelchair access. Allocation of rooms is like a large jigsaw puzzle, therefore it is quite possible that the bedding in the room beside yours did not match your requests.

It is evident from the other reviews on Trip Advisor that we pride ourselves on a high standard of cleanliness and housekeeping. We are sorry that you feel we didn’t meet these standards in your guest room. You have mentioned that the room was not cleaned until 5pm. Our Housekeeping Team work permanent shifts from 8am – 4pm and no housekeeping staff remain on premises after this time.

We advise guests on check-in that our Reception team is available 24 hours a day to assist in any way. It is a shame that we were not advised of these issues at the time so that we could have attempted to make your stay more enjoyable. For example, your concerns about the pillows could have been alleviated immediately as we have a range of soft, hard and thin pillows available on request from Reception.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please feel free to contact a member of Management.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business on July 27th and whilst impressed by the fantastic location was shocked by the lack of room cleanliness and stench emanating from the corridor outside my room. The mould and mildew type smell was enough to make you gag and by the apparent lack of attention afforded the issue, the hotel is obviously not concerned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomberfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear bomberfan01,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Firstly, I am pleased that you enjoyed our location right by the beach. However, I am shocked and disappointed to read that the cleanliness of our rooms did not meet your expectations. This is an area that we place a lot of time, effort, resources and training into and would like the opportunity to discuss your specific concerns.

I can be contacted directly at jean-clauden@coogeesands.com.au. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is not a high-end top-class accomodation and the bed was way too soft for my taste, but the location right next to Coogee Bay is great (there are no views though, so don't expect to see the sunrise over Coogee Beach from your room), the staff was very friendly and attentive, the room was spacious and clean, it was quiet, and everything I needed was provided (if you're not happy with the thickness of the pillows, just give reception a call and they'll bring different types over). I can imagine this appealing to two types of people: those who are in Coogee (or UNSW) on a short business trip and those who are looking for somewhere to stay in Coogee that isn't too pricey but also affords some privacy and comfort.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leuschf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear leuschf,

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

It is such a shame you weren’t aware that we offer Hotel rooms with wonderful views of Coogee Beach! We have a selection of 1 Bedroom Apartments and Studios with balconies and large terraces that offer fantastic views. We also have an expansive rooftop sun deck and BBQ area on the top floor with 180 degree views of Coogee Beach and village. This area is available for guests to enjoy every day.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to one of our ‘view’ rooms next time you stay.

Kind Regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Always brilliant, perfect location to be based from, huge balcony with the most awesome view over beach and complementary parking. Cant get much better than than that.

Room Tip: Ocean View Terrace Studio great value plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Richard255325,

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Thanks also for posting the photo of your room's view of Coogee by night. Our Ocean View balcony and Ocean View Terrace Studios certainly are some of the best rooms in the hotel for their views.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

For a beach weekend in Sydney, you can't beat the location of this hotel.

The room was just basic and there was no view (and we didn't expect/pay for one ), but was certainly clean.

We appreciated the free use of a cot for our baby, which was made up beautifully by housekeeping for our arrival.

The only negative was the pillows. When I read other people complain in their reviews about the new pillows being too fat, I thought they were being precious. But these things are monsters and made for a pretty uncomfortable sleep for both me and my husband.

Can highly recommend a morning walk from Coogee through to Bondi along the cliff tops, topped off with breakfast in Bronte along the way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meriboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear meriboots,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our beautiful location and the famous Eastern Beaches Coastal walk.

In response to feedback received from yourself and others, we are now beginning to place additional, thinner pillows in each guest room. Until every room has been supplied with these extra pillows, we ask that guests request their preferred pillow type, available on request from our 24 hour Reception team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Kind Regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pillows were way too fat and when we asked for replacements that was no problem but they were too hard. Otherwise the room and facilities were very comfortable and sevice was helpful. There are signs in the rooms telling you not to use a toaster, but someone did, which set off the smoke alarms and we all had to start evacuating at 10pm. Fortunately it was sorted in a few minutes but it woke a lot of people up. The hotel is nice and close to lots of places to eat, a great walking track to Bondi and buses into CBD. It's also right next to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Family81,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, location and service. The recently replaced pillows in all rooms are quite high, therefore we have a selection of soft, firm, flat and fluffy pillows available on request from our 24 hour Reception team. Please ask us for your preferred pillow type on your next stay and we will arrange to deliver them to your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Kind Regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing