We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good hotel option in Coogee.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Brigadoon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Another good hotel option in Coogee.”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Booked a Coogee ‘village view’ room from the hotel website; on check-in were given a poolside view room - an upgrade, judging by their price list. Room was located on the first floor, along with the function rooms, gym and outdoor pool. Our room was large and the bathroom also, with two sinks and a large tub. Room also had a decent-sized sitting area and a balcony overlooking the pool terrace area. Not really much view of the pool or beach. In winter no noise apparent from this outdoor area, wonder if it would be the same in summer. The windows are double-glazed and do quite a good job of muffling the outdoor noise. The beach is just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is undergoing an upgrade process; our room seemed very clean and fresh, so must have been one of the upgraded rooms. It had the usual amenities, including robes and slippers, and pleasant-smelling toiletries. Staff at check-in and check-out were friendly and efficient. There is a cab rank outside, it cost about $AUD 27 to the airport, at a time when traffic was not heavy. Did not use the hotel restaurants as we know Coogee well (though this is the first time to stay at Crowne Plaza) and have our favourites there. We just needed somewhere for an overnight stay on a quick visit and our usual place was booked. Based on our experience this trip, would certainly also consider future stays at Crowne Plaza . For overseas visitors, Coogee is an excellent location if you do not want to stay in the City centre, as you can experience one of Sydney’s iconic beachside suburbs, which are a noteworthy feature of the city. Transport from Coogee to the CBD is easy and relatively quick; there are regular buses. It is also an easy trip from the airport. Coogee Village has numerous restaurants, the beach, and some historic swimming pools built into the rock cliffs. As well, there is the wonderful Coogee to Bondi cliff walk, which is a “must-do” experience in Sydney, even if you don’t stay in Coogee.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    394
    147
    39
    15
See reviews for
172
314
51
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

the hotel is a 2-min walk from the beach. while the sand area is quite small, i didn't have a problem finding a space.

mostly clean...the room is not as new as the pictures show. furniture not wiped down. they have free internet in the business center...sometimes crowded, but i used it pretty much as i needed it.

you have to take the bus/take to the city center. the bus was easy to use, but took about 30 min so you have to plan ahead a bit. there is 1 shuttle to the airport and none from the airport.

the staff is very helpful and willing. i needed a shuttle to the airport. when the airport shuttle mis-communicated to them about the time and i had to take a taxi, the hotel covered the taxi fee.

i wouldn't stay again, but not a bad place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Bit far out of city but Hotel is a good standard with all facilities.
Good restaurants nearby in the city suburbs.
Nice beach.
Could not fault the rooms and service

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Coogee while waiting to move into a new house. The staff were uniformly outstanding. Whilst I wasn't there for a holiday I would say it is the best place in Coogee to stay - great views - lovely outdoor pool and perfectly located. Business or leisure - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The rooms are very small. People smoke on their balconies and the smell of smoke wafts in. You have to keep your doors closed and can't go on the balcony. To top it off the air conditioning is REALLY noisy. I didn't sleep well at all. The whole place needs a makeover!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neenAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My Husband and I stayed in the Crown Plaza in November and we had a fantastic time. The staff were fantastic very helpful with directions and taxie's. Food was excellent. We had a great view from our room. Looking forward to returning soon

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

One of the finest five star hotels of Sydney located just across the Coogee beach. Offers incredible views of the ocean from the restaurant and the rooms. Gentle sound of the ocean waves wake you up in the morning and you can just stroll ascross to th Coogee beach for a morning walk.

Rooms and service is excellent. The staff was very courteous and prompt.

Buffet Breakfast was also sumptuous with a lot of variety.

Loved every minute of my stay here in December.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nqureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
270 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing