We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My daughter, granddaughter and myself recently spent a night at the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. The room was clean, spacious with comfortable bedding and pillows. I had requested an ocean view room, and the views from our room and balcony were magnificent. I have no complaints, and would stay here again without hesitation. My only annoyance is on checking in we immediately paid the bill on our credit card. The female staff member then insisted we also pay a bond on our credit card, which really annoys me, as most banks can take up to 10 days to release your money. If your so worried about your mini bar, offer to take it out. I don't understand why this is necessary when the hotel has 2 different credit cards on file (one from guarantee when booking) and another from paying bill. We were made to pay a $100 cash bond and the female behind the desk told us it wouldn't be released until housekeeping had checked the room. It certainly makes you feel welcome and trusted, NOT! On checking out however the gentleman staff member asked had we used anything, and took our word. Thank you to this member of staff for your good customer service , you meet us with a huge smile and after the cranky lass the day before was certainly appreciated.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Kezzalin,
Thank you for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us as well as the beautiful views over the Ocean and Coogee Beach.
I completely understand your point of view in regards to a hold on a credit card and security of payment. I kindly ask for your understanding that we have to apply the same rules to all customers and in no way is this a reflection in terms of how we view you as a loyal guest. I hope we will be able to welcome you back one day at Crowne Plaza Coogee.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    394
    147
    39
    15
See reviews for
172
314
51
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Plenty of food options around and they are all in walking distance. We enjoyed taking the kids for a walk around the water on the paths provided. The views are beautiful and everyone seems relaxed. I would definitely recommend staying here for a nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Megan,
Thank you for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. Great to hear you and your family had a relaxing and enjoyable time with us here in Coogee. It is the ideal place to take your family with young children with so many options for entertainment and spending quality time together. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My parents stayed here for 3 nights and they absolutely loved it.. (i also stayed for 1 night). We stayed in a presidential suite and it was so huge! Huge presidential type dinning table, big open plan living room a small walk in kitchenette the bedroom was gigantic beautiful bed and the biggest bathroom i have ever seen...it had a very big balcony with views of the whole beach and surroundings
The couch was also very comfortable :P
I had a lot of fun! Close to everything as well..there is a convenient store about 3 minute walk (not even) and that is very convenient it has so much stuff ...
Thanks to the staff for making it a lovely stay..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 880rebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear 880rebby,
Thank you for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I am delighted to hear you had such a great time with your family. The views from our Ocean rooms are indeed spectacular and the team will be happy to hear you enjoyed their service to make your stay comfortable.
Whether you enjoy the beach or shopping, we are close to everything and it looks like you had lots of fun.
Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee. The location is really good being close to Coogee Beach. The hotel is situated at the south end of the beach where there is an excellent children's playground. There are also plenty of cafe's/ dining options close by. The rooms are modern & of decent size, comfy king size bed, okay bathroom (nothing special), nice pool area & spa. Views from the balcony are lovely.
During my first stay I recall the in-room dining being really good but during my second stay it was really average. The car park is really pokey & small & they charge $20 per day which is a bit rude if you are a guest at the hotel- especially considering that there is free parking around the hotel varying from 1/2 hr timed parking to 4hr timed parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Tlussa,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I am please to read you have enjoyed your stay and time in Coogee. Thanks for letting me know in regards to your room service meal, I will follow up with the team as we would like to deliver a consistent experience.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family of four booked two rooms each with a verandah and view of the sea; we had the most amazing room level 6 room 622 with double verandah. It was spectacular... stunning views of the water, and Coogee. We have previously stayed twice at Bondi but would stay here every time - the hotel was so good. Really impressed by quality of the staff, Jasmin on arrival was so helpful and friendly. Gave hotel a parcel to mail and it was handled efficiently. Bed was v comfortable. Handy to bus and always lots of taxis available. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Verandah views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear KiwigirlNZ,
Thank you for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and sharing your experience. Jasmine will be excited to hear about your comments. I am glad the team looked after you and made your stay seamless and you enjoyed the spectacular views and things to do in the area. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Recently stayed here for one night over the Easter Break. My boyfriend and I booked the day we were staying, and had no troubles whatsoever with the late notice. Checked in very easily, parked our car and went up to our room within 10 minutes of arriving. Hotel is very easy to find and easy to park a car.
Our room was modern, clean and everything you'd want in a beachside hotel room. Our balcony was very large and looked directly out onto the water, it was stunning. We both got up early to watch the sunrise from our bed!
We ate dinner in the hotel which was lovely and very affordable! Walking down to the many cafe's for breakfast was great and the hotel is literally a stone's throw from the beach itself.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in an ocean view room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Naomilou,
Thank you for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach over the Easter Weekend. Great to hear you enjoyed our hotel, facilities and location. The views from our Ocean View rooms are very beautiful and relaxing and Coogee Village is only a very short stroll away. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel has a great lobby, rooms and underground garage.
Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. However food is another matter...
At the downstairs terrace self service bar and restaurant, I needed to move 3 plates before I found a clean one.... Dinner at the restaurant was ok but breakfast a disorderly matter. There wasn't even yogurt on the buffet.
One could order fresh eggs but the chefs in the open kitchen were very loud.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Karel,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback in regards to breakfast with our team. Our breakfast buffet normally offers a choice of yoghurts, my apologies if they were temporarily unavailable. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee when you return to Sydney next time.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
269 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing