We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The Crown plaza is beyond 5stars. I had my wedding here and the venue is stunning. The Ballroom is large and newly renovated and looked amazing. The food was well presented and everyone loved the food. My wedding was problem free and the venue was very happy to fulfil all my needs. The staff were fantastic. My family and friends stayed in the hotels and have all agreed that that had a very enjoyable stay. Me and my husband stayed in an ocean view room and the view is stunning ocean views. The whole event was truly amazing! Thank you!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marialdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Marialdgs,
Thank you for letting us host your wedding at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and I was delighted to hear that this special day was a success. That's a great sunset shot you were able to capture from your room and it sounds like you had a memorable time. All the best for your future!
Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    390
    145
    39
    15
See reviews for
172
312
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We rolled into Coogee after travelling down the east coast from Brisbane. Hubby made the booking for the Friday night online, but accidentally forgot to include Saturday. Unfortunately all the ocean view rooms were fully booked for Sat night, so we needed to move on Sat morning to another room. As the only major hotel in Coogee, I would have expected a lack of service or care factor in regards to the move, but we were treated exceptionally well and the move was undertaken straight away, no need to wait until 2pm to 'check in' to the next room. I can't speak highly enough of the service in this regard. Unfortunately Sat night in Coogee is a bit rowdy and we had some ferals in the next room, but the hotel was also very receptive to our complaint, and the noise summarily receded.

Room Tip: Whilst the ocean view rooms are gorgeous, the other side of the hotel is also very nice, and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and taking the time to share your experience. We try our best to enable guests to stay in the same room, if they choose to extend their stay. Thank you for your understanding that this was not possible due to the limited availability of rooms. We hope you had a great start to the New Year!
Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We were recommend to get beach view the rooms and so asked for them on booking. We were fortunate that we all got them.
Rooms were good and perfectly adequate. I notice that another review mentioned cockroaches - my daughter said she saw one in her room.
Staff there were really nice and very helpful. We arrived early in the morning from the UK and they helped us with suitcases until our rooms were ready.
The pool was cold and was in the shade during the afternoon as the sun goes behind the building.
Access to the beach couldn't be easier.
There are loads of shops and restaurants in easy reach.
We didn't eat at the hotel but tried to get cocktails there one evening. The service was so slow it was painful. The drinks weren't worth waiting for.
If visiting Coogee Beach again, I would definitely use this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mi1by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear mi1by
Thank you taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. The view from the room is hard to beat and likewise the location. Coogee is a great alternative to the city CBD and close to major amenities.
I appreciate the feedback with regards to the cocktails which of course has been brought to the attention of the relevant department leader.
We wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is well situated at coo gee beach on the sydney coastline. The ocean and pool are easily accessible from the property.

The hotel itself is a bit dated but the rooms are quite comfortable. The bathroom was tiny with no separate shower - the shower is in the bathtub.

The price was expensive- probably due to the time of year although I would have expected better service for the money.

It would have been tolerable except for the giant cockroaches that appeared in the bathroom. We reported this to the front desk and the person at the front counter simply shrugged his shoulders.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear wyldone
Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I’m sorry to hear that a cockroach was seen in your room, we have a regular pest control programme and even more stringent considering the coastal location, however occasionally we do see a cockroach which is common to beach side locations. I’m sorry that our staff member did not react accordingly and remove the cockroach for you as would be my expectation.
Thank you again for your feedback and I wish you all the best for 2014.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for a conference. Had a room facing the road but it was quiet at night. Room was clean. A nice selection of restaurants and cafés if you want to eat out. The pub next door does excellent meals and the beer garden is great for al fresco dining.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Linda W
Thank you for reviewing Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and room. The Oceans Bar (below the hotel) is a great place for an easy meal with daily specials in addition to the great wood fired pizzas.
Wishing you all the best for the New Year.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I use Trip Advisor a lot in planning holidays and we do travel a lot, so feel it is important to share our experience at Crowne Plaza. To be fair, I need to list the positives first...great location by the ocean and comfortable beds. Now, sadly too many negatives. Most important, beware...DO NOT pay more than $250/night for this hotel as anything above that it is not worth it! This is allowing for Sydney "pricing" too, as a hotel room in North America for $250/night is a great hotel! So when we paid much more than that, we had very high expectations and were told by the reservation line that it's a great hotel. I know when reading reviews here on Trip Advisor, they were mixed and I was concerned, but this time when we were in Sydney, we needed a hotel closer to the Airport. First impression on driving up...wow, this is dated! Got very nervous, then went to our room...fears were justified. Room in desperate need of a paint job, dirty smudges on walls, banged up door frames/walls, bathroom dated, just feeling unclean. Ended up being around when maid-service came and sat on balcony when they cleaned the room and never once did they vacuum our room...we walked thru the hotel different times when they were cleaning other rooms and you never heard a vacuum going...so who knows what we walked on from other guests. I asked about the glasses in the room how they clean them, and the guy said we just wash them in the sink in the bathroom...gross! Most hotels bring in clean glasses each time used. We did chat with a couple of the maids and they were friendly enough, but the standard on which they are asked by management to clean, is not good. Even tho we were told by the reservation line the internet was free, it is not! Yes, they said it will be free in 2014 (6 weeks from when we were there), we had to pay for it, $19/day! We were pretty upset about that, so thought we'll try and use their business area, but that was useless as the computers would not allow me to enter our email account. Talked with another guest in the business room and she too was very shocked with the worn look in the rooms. When I did immediately go to the front desk and nicely mentioned how disappointed we were in the upkeep of the room, especially when they are so over-priced...she just stared at me and didn't say anything...literally nothing as if she was used to hearing that. Strange. We did eat breakfast in their restaurant and it was good, but again over-priced for what you get. There aren't a lot of hotels in the area (not very good ones at least) so maybe Crowne Plaza feels they can do what they want, as it seems there are a fair number of conventions happening in the area and so that is where they get their clientele mainly...but travellers beware...if you are going to spend what they want to charge, look elsewhere until they decide to renovate!

Room Tip: Definitely need a room with a balcony over-looking the ocean, as that is the only redeeming quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 177Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear 177Donna
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. I’m sorry to read that the hotel was not up to your expectations. Certainly from a cleanliness point of view, to not vacuum the room is unacceptable and for this I sincerely apologize. The method that we use to clean glassware is a standard practice that is recognized and endorsed by HACCP Australia, a leading organisation specializing in food safety. The glassware is washed in the sink with a sterilizing tablet, a reliable and accepted method.
Your feedback is important to us and is used to constructively to improve on the product and service we offer.
I wish you all the best for a safe and happy 2014.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 years ago and checking in again earlier this week for a 3 night stay it was a surprise to see that the hotel really looked run down.Our room had a fabulous view right across the beach and all the way to Clovelly but that is where it ends.It has been a long time since I have stayed at a hotel and sampled such bad food - inedible,tasteless and without love.The Staff here for the most part are really friendly - with the Room Service team being a stand out.Upon check in our room was not ready so we had a bite to eat in the foyer bar and this was the best of the 8 or so meals we had over the three days - chicken caesar salad ok and the smoked salmon bagel average.I wondered over to the buffet to see what I was missing and was dumbfounded at what was being served and how badly it was being presented - glad I gave that a miss.I decided to order a Peroni on tap at the bar -" Sorry Sir we don't have that beer today" - I go back the next day and am told the same thing - when I pressed the Barman on the reason he called the cellar and attempted to get someone to change the keg !
This hotel could be great -the location right on the beach is exceptional but I just could not recommend this place in any way - it needs an overhaul from the very top !

Room Tip: avoid eating at this hotel - around the corner there are many great/affordable restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear audist
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate the feedback both positive and negative. Comments such as yours are discussed at our regular meetings. It’s clear that we didn't get it right on this occasion and I have certainly shared your feedback with the team.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and room service colleagues.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
265 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing