We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is in my opinion the best hotel in Coogee Beach. The rooms with ocean view are terrific, nicely laid out. Nice balcony. Essentially across the street from a great beach.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Nice large flat screen TV.
Complimentary towels to the beach.
The food is expensive, but it's the same all over Au. Quality of the food is very good. Breakfast Continental is $20 AUD, Hot is $32 Aud.
Tomorrow we will do the 3.6 mile hike from Coogee to Bondi beach and have lunch at the Iceberg place. A must do.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mooneyson1
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope that you enjoyed the coastal walk to Bondi, it is one of the most popular walks in the area and you would be deserving of a great lunch upon completion!
Thank you for your positive comments with regards to the team and our facilities, we appreciate hearing that you have enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    390
    145
    39
    15
See reviews for
172
312
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for a night on our way to the Gold Coast so decided to just book a standard room. When we got there we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to an Ocean View room with Balcony.

Our 14month old was feeling ill and was sick twice on the carpet (small amounts.) The housekeeping staff were very understanding and cleaned up the mess immediately.

The King size bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the cot was set up for our son upon request.

The food we ordered from room service was extremely disappointing and the movie we ordered turned out to be $18 which is exorbitant.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

I would definitely stay here again. But won't be ordering room service or renting a movie.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sarah S
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope your son is feeling much better. Thank you for your positive comments with regards to our team and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade.
I’m sorry to hear that your room service was not as expected and would appreciate any further feedback you could provide on this so that we can improve for future. I can be contacted directly at the hotel.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Coogee Beach twice, each time the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They really go out of their way to make your experience positive. Both of the rooms I stayed in had beautiful balconies from which to enjoy the magnificent views of the coastline. The second time I stayed we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Reef Suite which had three balconies. All of the balconies had great views of all that Coogee Beach has to offer. The location is great and hiking the trail to Bondi is a must if you stay here. The hotel is also convenient to public transport that will bring you to any part of Sydney you would wish to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy_Autumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Autumn J
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. The team sincerely appreciated your review and thank you for acknowledging their helpful and friendly service. Coogee is a very convenient base to be located in when visiting Sydney and I’m pleased to read that you got to enjoy the local area, especially the coastal walk to Bondi.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Crowne Plaza continue to impress with their level of service. Our room was overlooking Coogee Beach with a fantastic view. They are the only hotel who has never fail to recognise my elite status whereas other hotel chains often neglect.

Check in and check out was efficient and personal. Their restaurant staff was great and room service on the phone was good. Food was delivered within the timeframe as promised.

The only pity was there was no healthy options in their menu which mainly have bar foods. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stayed with service beyond my expectation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear sparoz
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and thank you for your continued loyalty. The team truly strive to make each guest stay a great stay and thank you for your acknowledgment.
We also appreciate the feedback on the menu and this has been passed to our Executive Chef. Menu’s are changed quarterly and feedback such as yours is very valuable.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at Crowne Plaza Coogee twice for work now and it is great. I am going to book it for a personal stay in March.
The location is amazing, right across the road from Coogee Beach! There is a great little bar ( Ocean bar I think ) downstairs that does a GREAT steak!
Staff are friendly and welcoming.
All in all, it is a great hotel and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teisha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Teisha77
Thank you for recently staying at Crowne Plaza Coogee beach. We’re glad to hear that you loved the steak in Oceans Bar. Each night we offer a different special in the bar, from wood-fired pizza to a bucket of prawns with corona and much more. Its a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.
We look forward to welcoming you back in March.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a large, well managed hotel across the road from Coogee Beach in Sydney. The hotel is focused around an outside pool area with many rooms looking out towards Coogee Beach. Inevitably, some rooms face inland but this was clearly noted on the booking site that I used. Reception was efficient and the foyer can handle large groups very comfortably. My room was quite big (although the bathroom was a little cosy) and the king bed was very comfortable. There is a bar and restaurant on-site but there are plenty of other options within 200m walk. Parking is also available under the hotel at $25 per night. Across the street is the very picturesque Coogee Bay beach with lots of walking and swimming options. Good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear BrettJR
Thank you for your recent review and thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. The location is a great alternative to the city and close by to the airport and many Sydney attractions. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Coogee is a great Australian beach location, with great choice of restaurants, wonderful shops, and gorgeous coastal walks. This hotel is a nice base to enjoy these delights. The hotel is spacious and clean, staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers a nice selection.
All in all the hotel is what you expect for this price and this chain. The big draw is Coogee itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear JulzE
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We concur, Coogee is a great base for those travelling to Sydney and we are close to some great amenities and not to forget the fabulous coastal walk to Bondi.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
264 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing