We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without the Location would be nothing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Without the Location would be nothing.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in August and cannot complain about much but I feel without the magnificent view down Coogee Beach it would be very stale. The concierge on arrival was very rude talking to me like an idiot even though the receptionist had told me to approach him. He was the only member of staff though who was anything but polite.
We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was excellent and my daughter was over the moon at the choice.
The rooms and fittings around the hotel are looking a little shabby and are in need of some work.
All in all a pleasant place to stay but at $300 a night far to expensive for what is basically a view of a beach but then there is little choice.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the ocean will not let you down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Zambialover
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m terribly sorry that you felt the Concierge was rude, this is unacceptable and very unusual. I can assure you this has been followed up in the relevant manner. Please accept my sincere apology.
I’m pleased to hear though that you enjoyed the breakfast offering, location and especially the views. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    382
    144
    38
    15
See reviews for
169
306
49
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is an excellent location just across the road from Coogee Beach, and bus stop opposite. Coogee is well served by buses and is easy to get to both Bondi Junction or City. Reception and Concierge staff are friendly and happy to help guests. Ocean View rooms offer good views of Ocean and are of a good standard. I stayed in Suite which was good value for extra space they give with usable balcony and deck. Having separate chairs rather than two seat lounge was good, but they are definitely one hour chairs. There are a number of good restaurants in the area, including Brazura, and Ceviche which are within 100 metres of Hotel. Also down the road 200 metres are Churazo, La Spaggia and these are very good as well. Which is just as well because Blue Salt (should be re-named Bland Salt) the hotel restaurant is disappointing to say the least and is only thing that lets down this hotel. Ate a couple of evening meals there on both occasion both steaks ordered were totally wrong, Chef has no understanding of what is medium, medium rare, well done etc.. And do not get why Tomato and Broccolini are a good combination, especially on both nights when the Broccolini was served cold. Menu is also limited in its options, Chef should go and dine at Brazura or Ceviche to find out what a real menu consists of and how Steak should be cooked, and what accompaniments work such as potato fondant, beans etc. They could also show him how a proper jus or sauce should be made, certainly not the gluggy packet mess they make.
Also Breakfast whilst generally of a good standard needs re-jig. Condiments behind Toasters unsafe, Pancake Machine hidden away, Eggs to Order to slow, 5-10 minutes was a common wait, why not have some fried eggs on a bain marie ready to go as they do at Crowne Plaza Gold Coast?
Overall a nicely located hospital which is a good option especially if you don't want to be in the CBD. Service generally good, Restaurant needs overall, Crowne Hunter Valley needs to send one of its Chef to them to show them a nice menu and how to run a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am very happy that you liked our location. However, we are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the restaurant. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as this matter will surely be looked into. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice and both times requested king bed and was put in double. It is not cheap and it really did annoy me. First time I paid premium for beach views this time I booked room on other side as no beach view rooms available. Arrived in room found room was double not king and called reception. Was told that room was booked through third party and they did not receive request for king. Checked booking sure enough it was through last minute and specified king bed. Was then told there were no kings available. It was $AU515 for two nights. Contacted last minute they told me no guarantees on bedding when making a booking through them - it was just a 'preference'. This has happened twice at the same place both booked through last minute. I don't know what the answer to this is, even on the Crowne Plaza site it is listed as 'preference'. This was my only problem with the hotel but when travelling as a couple and wanting some romance and paying quite a lot for the room it is a real pain. The booking was non cancellable non refundable when booked. I would probably not book again if I wanted a romantic getaway there, it's not the same when your sleeping in different beds. Apart from that the hotel is clean, modern, if not a little unimaginative. Sort of here it is a standard good hotel. Reception was friendly and efficient. Beach is lovely and has lifeguards. There are a couple of other options in Coogee though. A place called 'Dive' which looks less expensive and a place opposite the Plaza which is serviced apartments. I'll check the serviced apartments next time. All in all excellent for business, a bit of a gamble for romance. Rooms are modern and clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WATravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear WATravellerPerth
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. I sympathize with your issue and sincerely apologize that we were not able to resolve this during your stay. At the heart of the matter is reservations made via a third party websites such as lastminute are nearly always made with a preference for bedding, simply put its about the connectivity to our inventory. As for our own website crowneplaza, we sell to room type and you select either a king or twin room along with the view. On our own website we also offer ‘best price guarantee’, if you find a lower room rate for our hotel on another website we’ll give you the first night free and any subsequent nights at the lower rate. In addition there are no booking fees and you have a choice of prepaid and credit card guarantee. The flexibility of booking on the crowneplaza website is far greater than we can offer a third party.
If you would like the opportunity to discuss further I can be contacted directly at the hotel. Thank you again for providing your feedback.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to have lunch here today and the place looks great, however we sat down got a drink each and then ended up leaving as we couldnt find any good vegetarian options. Now in saying that I don't expect half the menu with vegetarian options but at least five options would be good. That doesnt include five different salads but maybe pasta, vegie burger, wrap etc. We went to have lunch here today and sat down but ended up leaving as we couldnt find any options that looked good. We only really had a choice of salad or chips as we also don't eat cheese so pizza wasnt an option. Just a suggestion anyway as we were a little disappointed after travelling from Newcastle to visit our grandfather with intention of having lunch here. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Will_Stuart
Thank you for posting a review. I understand you felt that there were not enough options and I sincerely apologize that we were not able to accommodate your needs. As we plan our next menu we’ll certainly consider your feedback.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wedid not get the oppertunity to eat in this hotel but I visited it to have a drink, and it was a very nice place just a minute walk from Coogee Beach. The staff were friendly and courteous. The customesrs who were didning seemed very happy with the food and its presantation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conballinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear conballinora
Thank you for recently staying with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had an ocean view room overlooking the beach which was stunning. Check in was quick. No porter was in sight so we took our luggage to the room. The room was spacious but basic. There were signs of wear & tear especially in the bathroom. There was no slippers nor bathrobes. The shower gel & shampoo were in tiny tubes which was difficult to get them out and not enough for the day. The food in the restaurant was found to be quite good and I gave a big plus to the chef who cooked our a la carte dinner.

Room Tip: Must pick a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroochydoreLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MaroochydoreLam
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback since its gives an opportunity to improve on the product and service we offer.
We really like your room tip, to select an ocean view room; the view is hard to beat!
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location with Fantastic sea views from the breakfast room. Great selection at breakfast. Tidy and clean room, however when we ordered food in the bar the service was SO slow that some people walked out. When the food arrived a grilled turkey burger was just a slice of turkey on a burger. The service really needs sorting out. Also the rooms are quite expensive, so to have to pay $25 a night to park your car seems a bit much!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear CHL55
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. I’m terribly sorry that you felt the service was slow in the bar and the food not as you expected. We take all feedback on board and thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing