We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Albany WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights recently. Fantastic staff who were warm friendly and accommodating at all times. This went from the concierge to reception and all bar staff. We had a problem with the air con in our first room and this was resolved in a polite courteous manner. The maintenance man was great. He tried to sort it out but soon found it was no easy fix. Staff then quickly arranged a new room. This was all done with a million apologies and a bottle of wine. Best thing about it was it was sincere. Great stuff ! Congrats to admin and staff at the Crowne for creating such a warm and friendly environment in such a beautiful location. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear gcam
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. The team really enjoyed reading your review and sincerely appreciated the acknowledgement of their great customer service.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    378
    140
    37
    15
See reviews for
167
301
49
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are a retired couple who stay in IHG properties all over the world and have stayed at Coogee multiple times. We are also Platinum PCR members. Unfortunately our recent stay at Coogee was ruined by two poor experiences we received in the Hotel restaurant on consecutive nights.

We dined in the restaurant over 3 nights - the first night we were met at the desk by a lovely young man (Tim I think) who remembered us from breakfast the previous day and he looked after us and made us feel special for the whole night. He looked after us from when we arrived until we left as we had a very nice and relaxing night. We decided then to return to the restaurant the following night however this time we were met by a very grumpy lady (Christine). We were made to feel very unwelcome - she spoke to us in a very condescending manner and as though we had a very limited intelligence. We were taken to our table and left there for about 10 minutes before the waitress (Nadine) came over and served us as she was busy serving other tables. The waitress was lovely and made us feel welcome once again and did a very good job looking after us and all other tables during the night. During the night we observed the manager quite abusive towards the waitress and bar staff and this was quite obvious to us and other guests. We were very uncomfortable by this and concerned for the staff involved. Instead of having a nice long meal we decided to only have main course and leave. The following night we returned to the restaurant hoping that the previous night was simply a one off however once again the same manager was on and once again we had the same experience. This time we were met at the desk by our waitress (Lani) who looked after us very well however once again during the night we had to witness the manager being abusive and very rude to the staff as well a being rude to several other guests in the restaurant.

Following this we decided that whenever we visit Coogee again (which is normally two or three times a year for at least a week at a time) we will never dine in the restaurant but rather go outside the hotel and dine in the local restaurants. This experience definitely put a dampener on our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NiceNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear NiceNanna
Welcome to Tripadvisor and sorry to read that your first review was one of a disappointing experience. I and the team are very sorry to hear of your experience and none more so than the staff members personally implicated by name.
I would really appreciate an opportunity to discuss this further with you so that I can understand more about the conversations you heard. I can be contacted directly at the hotel.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews and thought the favorable reviews were on the mark. We got a room facing the ocean and truly enjoyed the view. They even arranged the bed midway in the room so you can get an ocean view right from the bed. Nice touch. The beach is right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel was about I expected from a Crowne Plaza - a large hotel with a lot of activity. Several business groups were meeting at the hotel, but they did not intrude on vacationers. The pool and adjacent areas were well maintained. The only maintenance knock I would make is that the carpets in the common areas on our floor needed to be deep cleaned or replaced. Otherwise, things looked ship shape.

The rate for our room was reasonable and especially so for Sydney. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Tomtravel23
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. You made a great choice by booking an Ocean View room, the view is worth it.
You'll be pleased to hear that all corridor carpets are due to be replaced the week starting 29th April and this will make a considerable difference to each corridor.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked a garden facing room but upgraded upon arrival - it was really worth it. The views from the balconies are amazing. We actually arrived a day early and the staff were very accommodating and found us a room. There are alot of great restaurants in the vicinity. If you don't have a car, the public transportation (bus) to/from Circular Quay is really good. The bus runs very frequently and you can purchase day passes from the bus driver or from any of the convenience stores in the area. Sunday's are "family fun" days in Sydney. You can purchase a ticket for all forms of public transporation for AUS $2.50 pp which is good for the whole day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMATravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
RMATravel4
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay and pleased to hear that you chose to upgrade to the Ocean View. You cant beat waking up to a view overlooking Coogee Beach!
The Sunday 'Family Pass' is a great option for visitors and locals alike to enjoy our great city.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Alright Hotel in a great location. I personally wouldn't rate it at Crowne Plaza level and think it would be better suited as a Holiday Inn. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was very efficient at her job. She allocated us room 114. On arrival it was impossible to locate the room as there is very little clear signage. On opening the door we were hit by the strongest smell of what can only be described as cat urine I have ever smelt. We dropped our bags of and turned the aircon on to vent the room believing it might not have been used in a while. After returning a good hour later the room was still as bad smelling and decided we couldnt stay in this room. I went down to reception who was apologetic and moved us to a room on the 5th floor. I'm pleased to say this room did not smell and was pleasant. I have to point out the carpets through the hallways are horrible stained and lifting in places. There was a piece of plastic lining around 1 meter long (left in the corridor) that we almost tripped over going to our room that was still sitting there when we checked out. The pool area is lovely however its full of sand and the bizzare thing was you dont need a key to enter the pool area but you need your key to use the bathrooms up there - it all feels a little backwards. Coogee is a lovely area however I do think this hotel does not reflect the crowne plaza standard.

Room Tip: hopefully they have cleaned room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Scott P
Thank you for candid review and I must firstly apologise for the initial room you were allocated. I'm pleased we were able to move you to another room. I can also report that wholeheartedly agree with your assessment of the corridor carpets and these are due to be replaced week beginning 29th April.
I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is right on the beautiful Coogee Beach with heaps of cafe's, restaurants and pubs/bars nearby. Perfect place for holiday makers looking for a beach-side getaway. It literally is just across the road from the sand and some of the views are amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz_Traveller_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Oz_Traveller_1979
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked sea facing rooms which are worth it. The hotel is perfectly located in Coogee right opposite a very safe swimming beach. A nice restaurant and pub buzz makes up Coogee, also well located to either take the famous cliff walk to Bondi, or take a short bus or taxi ride there. There is a good bus service to Bondi junction for shopping and the centre of Sydney for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimfromzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear jimfromzim
Thank you for posting a review, of course we couldn’t agree more with your assessment! We are privileged to be located in a great part of Sydney.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing